We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The joyous staff made our stay joyous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
“The joyous staff made our stay joyous”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Cute hotel. Great walking location. Exuberant staff. Especially Clint, Anthony, Michael, Ricardo and Marcin at the door. Came for our 16th wedding anniversary. Art walk was spectacular. We were surprised by the museum quality of art for sale. We are coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adellshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Adellshay!

Happy Anniversary!

Thank you for your wonderful review and your delightful comments about our team! I will be sure to pass them along. I am happy to read you enjoyed all of the art that is up. We are hoping to do some more art events here, so keep an eye out on our Facebook page!

We hope to see you sooner than later! Maybe Spring Training?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    254
    153
    75
    42
See reviews for
113
290
55
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Saguaro for a wedding in November 2013. The staff was welcoming and friendly.The rooms were clean but very dark. One had no desire to spend extra time in the room.The resort property was lovely and well maintained.it was a great location for a wedding!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Mary Ann S!

Thank you for taking some time out to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our property. Our team works very hard in keeping it well maintained and clean. Defiantly a perfect place for a wedding ceremony!

We hope you come back and visit us in Scottsdale, maybe even on just a nice getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had arrived a bit jaded from an eight-hour drive from Bryce Canyon but the sight of the Saguaro and its fantastic staff soon banished that.

Customer service here is top notch, they simply can't do enough for you from free valet parking, portering, concierge and reception services. Apparently we looked a little warm around the wonderful pool and hot tub area and soon found a jugful of ice at our elbows brought by the thoughtful Zeke. There are three pools and in case we were bored staff also brought out giant poolside games to play.

The rooms are large, modern, decorated in bright cheerful colours that follow through in the main hotel. We even had a garden area.

Eating out in Scottsdale is reasonable and breakfast at the hotel good. We weren't flying out of Phoenix until 7pm and the hotel reception readily agreed to us keeping our room on a bit later. The staff even looked up and printed out directions to get our rental car back to the airport. You can also print your boarding cards out easily in the business centre.

The staff really make this hotel and deserve the plaudits they are getting in reviews. The hotel is easy to find and right in the heart of Scottsdale's shops and museums area. We really wished we had booked more than one night here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HfamilyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello HfamilyYork!

We pride ourselves on the wonderful team we have on board. It is no surprise that you received the delightful customer service that you experienced. But, we never get tired of hearing about it! Thank you for writing about your recent stay and the wonderful compliments about our property and our team.

We hope to see you again soon and longer than one night this time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the property because it was within walking distance to the start line of a half marathon we were running the next morning. The room was a decent size overlooking the pool. Having two bathrooms which were separated was a great feature. From check in to check out all staff we encountered were wonderful, including the pool staff and spa staff. We spent time by the pool on Sunday after our race and enjoyed it very much. Zeke, our pool server, was awesome!! We enjoyed the property so much, we will definitely be back. Fun spot and a great location and walking distance to restaurants, lounges, etc.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool got a little noisy late night when guests were out there chatting, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Robyn R,

Thank you for your review!

I am glad you at least got to enjoy the pool while you were here! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Zeke, it is much appreciated.

Our location in Old Town Scottsdale is one of our best assets; Right in the middle of all sorts of restaurants, bars, nightclubs, and shopping.

We do hope to see you again, maybe another visit to the pool soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Absolutely love everything about this hotel. I travel to Phoenix several times a year on business and stay here every single time. The rooms are fun and funky and extremely comfortable. The staff is top notch and will help with any request with a smile on their face. They are very attentive and really seem to care about your comfort, needs and that you have everything you need - very friendly! And the food at the hotel is out of this world – one of my top three restaurants to eat at. I highly recommend the fish tacos. The grounds are spacious and gorgeous. I’ve enjoyed the view many mornings from the patio while drinking coffee. And the pool area is so fun and relaxing. I’ve never had a bad experience here. But overall the staff make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimb19671967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Kimb19671967!

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us, it is much appreciated! I will make sure to share them with the team.

Until next time…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The overall atmosphere is young, Southwestern and hip. The location could not be better, in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale but a few blocks off the congested main artery, Scottsdale Road.The property is large enough and there is enough landscaping so that the hotel seems secluded from the tourist hustle and bustle. The room decor is fresh looking and well maintained, with bright color accents against a lot of white. The grounds and public areas, including the pool areas, are also clean and well maintained. One negative: we are an older couple and not into the pool party scene. We had been told by resevations that there would be no disc jockey at the main pool on Saturday afternoon, which turned out to be inaccurate. We spoke to a manager about this and his response, rather than being apologetic, was totally indifferent.

Room Tip: Getting to your room can be a bit of a hike, so ask for a room close to one of the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 248MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello 248MarkR!

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our property; we get many compliments on it. We strive to keep our grounds clean and maintained every day. Especially to make it more relaxing while in the hustle and bustle of Old Town Scottsdale.

However, I do apologize for the miscommunication you encountered during your visit and hope this did not change your opinion about us.
We hope we get to see you again on your next visit to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a few days in November. The hotel is really a motel that's been updated and painted funky colors. Some of the old motel still shines through, such as outlets that don't work and curtains covering blank walls, but overall, it's lots of fun. The art in the lobby is phenomenal - best gallery in town. And, the happy hour at Distrito is excellent. The location is perfect, and the price quite reasonable (3 nights for a little over $400 including taxes and resort fees). Best of all were the mid-week spa specials - 60/90 minute massages for $60/$90. We're a little embarrassed to admit we had 90 minute massages two days in a row, but they were so good! As for the spa itself - well it could use a little more updating. The air conditioning, which went on an off during the massages, sounded like a jet engine. The silver lining to the aircon, however, is that it drowned out the awful music, which ranged from whale-like noises, to muzak, to Brazilian lite jazz, to Incan pipes. The whales were the best part. And, during one of my massages, the aircon also came to the rescue when the guy giving a facial next door insisted on chatting non-stop and very loudly as if he were in a hair salon and had to speak over blow dryers. I would have been much more irritated had I been paying full price, so my advice to the hotel is to fix those little problems, and you'll have a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Sara L!

Thank you for taking some time out to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to take your comments to our team.

Don’t be embarrassed to admit that you had a 90 minute massage two days in a row. That is what vacations are for, relaxing! It sounds like you did just that too; Enjoying art, happy hour, and the spa!

We hope you come back for some more relaxation next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,561 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
906 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing