We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun,perfect location for weekend getaway”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun,perfect location for weekend getaway”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Saguaro for 3 nights and it is a fun busy place. It has a whiskey bar and a restaurant that serves small plate/street style tacos. The guacamole was great. Our room was in building 3 and it was quiet. There are 2 pools, one a lap pool and lots of cushy lounges and cabanas with fireplaces. They have bikes to use. On Sundays from Jan-March there are free Sunday concerts out the back door, which leads to a park and a theater venue. The area is primarily art galleries, which are fun for browsing. Also there are many restaurants within walking distance. My only complaint was the platform bed, a bit too squeaky!! We did use the brand new workout room and had it to ourselves on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank objudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Obviously you had an amazing experience while here in Old Town Scottsdale. That is wonderful, and we are so glad to have been a part of your experience. We certainly hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to the valley of the sun. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    259
    156
    76
    43
See reviews for
113
295
56
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed there over the summer with a friend. Room was nice and they honored a discount I had so price was right. Staff was great- used their bikes a few times. Perfect location- can walk all around old town. Pool area can be a bit of a party scene and loud. Gym was great. Food was ok too. I would recommend

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor to avoid hearing anyone above me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totallytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at The Saguaro 3 nights from Jan 16-19. Nice hotel close in to Old Town Scottsdale. You can walk out the back parking lot and be right there close to all amenities. I would have to classify this as an "Art Deco" kind of place...usually in my mind that means an average hotel, spruced up with some bright colors that is a bit old and outdated but allows them to charge more for the place. However, rooms were clean, bed was soft but comfortable and rooms were quiet. Nice lobby with a nice bar and a place to get coffee and pastries in the AM. Overall, the staff is EXTREMELY friendly and accomodating from your first experience with the valet at the front door as well as all the hotel staff. They do an outstanding job here. On checkout I was a bit surprised by the daily "Activity Fee" for the resort which amounted to about $21/day. While a nice property, if you don't need to take advantage of the closeness to Old Town Scottsdale, I believe that there may be better bargains somewhere up Scottsdale road heading north.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjboczany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, our proximity to Old Town Scottsdale certainly provides for much to see and do in the area. The 12 colors used throughout the property represent the wildflowers which are indigenous to Arizona, desert "Art Deco". We are glad you found our rooms the be clean and beds comfortable. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I will certainly share your thoughts in terms of being EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. While there are other hotels in Scottsdale, we truly believe we are competitively priced in the overall market place. We greatly appreciate our thoughts, and certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to Old Town Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wanted to be okay with this joint but it was weird. My room was a bit run down. Overall flavor of the décor was desert meets rainbows - it was odd. Rooms were loud, could here pool music starting a bit to early for my taste. Oh and the 9:00AM leaf blower was no good. There were a some good things. The staff was nice and on point. The bar had a good selection of drinks and wine, especially whiskey and scotch. The gym was large and had nice equipment. Finally the location could not be better for kicking it in Old Town Scottsdale.

Room Tip: My room in building 5 could have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirkstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The 12 colors used throughout the property represent the wildflowers which are indigenous to the Arizona desert. This certainly make for a unique collaboration between landscape and architecture. I am sorry you experience the loud music from the pool area. We have designated "quiet time", I will certainly pass along your comments to the approperiate assoicate members responsible for these areas. The leaf blowers are actually part of the Scottsdale Parks district, which is adjacent to the property. We work closely the the City of Scottsdale, I will certain share your concerns. And yes, our proximity to Old Town Scottsdale certainly makes for a great location, with plenty of tourist activities. We certainly hope to have another oppportunity to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My best friend and I met for a girlfriends' getaway at The Saguaro. The place is so chic and so fun! The decor makes you want to go home and redecorate your whole house with the bright colors and materials. We ate at Distrito about a million times---for brunch, dinner, and poolside tacos twice. The food is THAT good. I also wanted to say something about the awesome service there: the entire staff is dedicated to making your stay great, and do everything from bringing you robes at the pool to arranging complimentary yoga classes. There are two pool areas: one is quiet and secluded, the other has music (even underwater!), a bar, super sweet cabanas (with fireplaces and tvs!) hot tub, and heated pool. We also had a blast riding the hotels' bikes into town.

My only (very minimal) complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and you might hear things (ahem) you don't want to. But we spent most of the time either at the pool, riding bikes, or in town at restaurants and bars, so it didn't really matter.

Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynJSBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Great news! I am so excited that you had an incredible "girls getaway". I can tell by the enthusiasm in your review, it was a fun time! Thank you for all the wonder comments; your passion is to create a unique experience for each of our guest. We look forward to your return stay at the Saguaro Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel, but what i got was 5 star service. Located right in old town Scottsdale, walking distance to tons of restaurants and shopping - actually thought it was a steal of a deal. The pool area was great, they have two separate ones. We took out the bikes the hotel provides complimentary were a ton of fun -

the rooms weren't the most high end but it was a GREAT value and the service is better than we received anywhere else in town. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: pool view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We were so glad that you had a great experience with us, and that you were able to enjoy Old Town, ours beautiful pools and our Saguaro bikes.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I kept waiting for something to go wrong so that I could blog about it, but everything was perfect. Sure, we happened to go when Scottsdale was experiencing the coldest weather they've had in 25 years, but that didn't stop the bellmen at the front of the hotel from greeting us warmly every time we came in and out.

The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant was exceptional as well. The rooms were done in a funky fun sort of way.

Great location. Two minute walk into Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Wow, thanks for the outstanding review of our hotel. We love to hear when our guests have a great stay, so thanks for the positive feedback.
As for the weather you experienced, Yes, occasionally we get a cold wave. Thank goodness it does not last long. It is 85 and sunny today, 1/23/2013.
Please share with all your friends, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#50 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing