We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we near the airport?”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We found this hotel (really a motel) from an article in the globe and mail. We thought we would try it, given the great times we have had in Scottsdale in the past. Our first room which was facing the street, was noisy at first, but the air condition / heater fortunately was able to drown out the sound, as it had the intensity of a plane taking off. The staff were kind enough to switch our room for the following nights, which was better. But the new room's clock radio could not be set without an ipod, but no matter, as the cleaning staff talking outside our door at 8 am was our wake-up call. The toilet had the irritating dripping sound, providing a nice steady sound prior to sleep onset. The good news were that the beds were comfortable.
The property was well kept. The staff were very accommodating. The gym and pool were great. The location was great. On the whole, it was a reasonable value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street. Make sure that the a/c heater does not sound like a tu...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZuZu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We were so sorry to hear about the issues of noise during your stay. This great feedback has been shared with our staff as a training tool, so that we can learn and educate our team and improve. In addition we have sent our Engineering team to your room, to correct the challenges with the Alarm Clock and the toilet.

We hope you'll give us another try on your return trip to Scottsdale.

Until then,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Saguaro Scottsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 863 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

The location redeams this hotel. It is a block away from Old Town Scottsdale. I believe that this is a renovated hotel, but to me it seemed like a renovated storage unit with Ikea furniture. The bed was very comfortable and the the linens, towels, etc were nice, but the feel of the room was dank. I echo other reviews on noise, including heater noise. The way the room was laid out did not work and felt crowded. If they charged half the price the location would make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snodog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Our location is amazing, and thanks so much for the feedback on your room experience as well. We were happy to hear how much you liked our linens and the bed, and would suggest upgrading next time to one of our beautiful 1 bedroom suites for a bit more space and room to stretch out.

We hope to see you back in Old Town again soon.

Best Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Very disappointed, given the hype by others. First, the heat in the room cycled on an off like a blast furnace. The room was small, with one uncomfortable desk chair and no others. Sound from corridors was loud. 1970s tub. A few cutsie items (photos tacked to the wall, old movie camera on desk) couldn't disguise the fact that it's a very old place. Needed to contact the desk late at night. No answer. Had to walk over in person, to learn that the "Front Desk" button on the phones were inoperative. Left an item in the room, and the next day called the hotel to ask if they could look for it. When I didn't hear from them in a few hours, I went back myself, found a supervisor who opened the room (it hadn't been cleaned) and retreived the item. Hotel never did call me. Four stars service? I'd rank it as a decent 2 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenMountains18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We strive to provide excellent service at The Saguaro and were upset to hear of your challenges with your heat and in contacting the front desk and locating your lost item. We will definately use your comments as an opportunity to better train our staff so that future guests do not have the same issues. We appreciate your feedback, and hope we will have an opportunity to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

i stayed the first month of opening so grated not all of the bugs had been ironed out, but I was expecting a four-star experience and was terribly disappointed. My room was only partially refurbished (still had holes cut in the wall, exposed wiring, old airconditioning unit from the 70's). I felt like I was staying somewhere old and dirty witha fresh coat of paint.The lack of a coffe maker in the room turned out to be a big pain. I woke up the first morning and noticed there was no coffee maker and the only option at my early wake-up time for coffee was room service. 45 minutes after I called my coffee arrived...and cost $16...a hefty price for a cup of coffee. For the next morning, I called the night before to have coffee delivered at a specific time. Only problem was, I mis-judged when I would wake up and my $16 coffee was ice cold when I woke up :( The next two mornings I sent my husband to Starbucks for morning coffee. The fire alarm went off one evening scaring my kiddos. On a plus note, the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kzw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

So, sometimes you just have to say "Ooops, that wasn't right", and in this case it seems like we might have dropped the ball during our opening first few weeks. We are so sorry that there were still "punch items" not completed in this guest room, and that we just coulnd't seem to get the coffee right. I'm certain we have worked out the "kinks" and hope you'll give us another try.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope we will see you again in the future.

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed here for business purposes immediately prior to the renovated hotel's official
Grand Opening.

I applaud the renovations, hope that they can be more supportive of business meetings moving forth, especially in their "conference" rooms (aka, add more power outlets for laptops!)

The staff has been nothing but supportive and friendly, they are obviously trying very hard to make this a positive experience for all, so I wish them nothing but success.,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsalot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thanks for the great feedback....and YES we absolutely want your business meetings. Feel free to give me a call and we can discuss your specific needs. We recently had a very large and prominent tech company in our meeting rooms and they gave us great reviews on our power needs as well as Internet speeds.

Warm Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely love the hotel. Sure, there are fancier places to stay but never had I had stayed in such an upbeat, happy, FUN spot. Living in SF I'm well aware that Joie de Vivre trains there staff to be uber-friendly
( but sincere-not creepy about it) and since almost evey place I go has a wonderful "sleep system" and great pools and two-headed shower, blahblahblah..at the end it al boils down to service for me.

Check this out: Just one example of their superior hospitality: When my BFF and I were dying for some ice-cream late at night, she went in search of a score, which we thought would be “Mission Impossible” since the restaurant had closed. One darling server rustled around and proudly presented her with two cups overflowing with scoops of chocolate and vanilla ice-cream. When she took out her wallet to pay him, he said with a big smile, “No charge.” When she asked why, he said in a very Yoda-like tone, “Why not?”

You gotta love a hotel like that! Plus sooper reasonable prices, great location, and the food is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room so you don't hear street noise
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Food-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Isn't it great when a plan comes together. We were glad to hear that you and your BFF had a great Girfriend Getaway, and a score of some of our house-made ice cream (Yum!).

We hope you'll spread the word on the fun here at The Saguaro.

Come back soon....

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. It is in a fantastic location, heart of Old Town Scottsdale. The rate was very fair and they accept AAA discounts - off season always helps. We took our bikes and were able to ride from the hotel to the bike trails - which are B level bike trails, but good if you just want to get in a leisurely ride. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful, ZERO attitude for a place that is making all efforts to be hipster. The design is a little overdone (I am in the interiors industry - so I can be more critical than most), but for the price it is excellent stay. Bed is comfortable. Room and bathroom were clean. Our room was a little dark, but we weren't there to hang in the room so it didn't matter to us. The breakfast was delicious (seriously the Omellete was perfectly cooked and great dark coffee) and reasonbly priced for a hotel. I kind of hate the $14.00 parking fee - rather they wrap that into the price, but the rate was so good, it was still a great value.

What impressed me the most was that the manager on duty took the time to notice our bicycle tires were low. He drove to his house, picked up his bicycle pump, and refilled out tires. I thought that was above and beyond - so helpful!!! We travel a lot and I am not sure I have ever had someone go out of their way like that! WOW! Give Phil a raise, please, that was extraordinary. Look, it isn't a 5 star hotel, but I would absolutely recommend it. I'll doubt I'll be in Scottsdale again, but I would book here for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

The staff and I really appreciate the great feedback on your stay with us. It is always good to hear positive comments about the team, and was thrilled to hear about your interaction with Phil....he truly is a gem! Thanks for giving us a try...and we know you will be back!

Best,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,658 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range: $140 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing