We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saguaro Scottsdale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Scottsdale(Scottsdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Scottsdale(Scottsdale)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial(Scottsdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
330
274
173
84
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
274
173
84
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbright colorsold townbathroom doorgiants spring trainingan older hotelpool areaart galleriesbars and restaurantsguacamolepool partygreat poollocation was perfecthappy hourgolf cartfitness centerdistritovalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 909 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this property as the James, the Mondrian, and the Theodore, and this is by far the best incarnation. Here are the drawbacks: the rooms are small, the beds are creaky (but comfortable), the bathroom doors are kind of funky. However, the vibe is hip and fun, and the location is the best. We stayed for two days without our children, and then, we stayed two more with the kids, and the hotel was perfectly suited to both. There are tons of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. The Saguaro sits right in front of Civic Center park, a great place for kids to run and be loud. The pool is bright and fun. We loved the poolside cabanas with fireplaces. But most of all, The Saguaro has REALLY improved the customer service. When this place was the Mondrian, the service was comically snobbish; as the Theodore, service was non-existent. During THIS stay, everyone was helpful, laid-back, and friendly. And again, location location location. There really isn't another downtown Scottsdale hotel with such a great location.

Room Tip: The walk-out rooms have nice, semi-private patios and good access to the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thanks for the great feedback! It's really nice to hear how we did it "right" during this stay for you. We hope you'll come back soon and tell all your friends about our great service and awesome location.

Best Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay within convenient walking distance to the center of activities in Scottsdale - close to great restaurants and art and cultural events. This place had just opened anew when we stayed there so the main restaurant was not yet open - but the bar served some excellent food - and the breakfast was great. The rooms are on the small side and sparsely furnished, but comfortable - and the amentities include lush towels, both in the rooms and poolside, and fine toiletries - and the ground floor rooms have outside sitting areas, with greenery all around, - very fine. The staff were all terrific! We were traveling with our Jack Russell Terrier, who was well received and appreciated the ready patio access. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room near the small pool - for greenery and a shaded patio
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polaraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel recently. We will definitely pass on to our team your great comments about the staff!

Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

we got a nice deal because they were newly renovated. the property looks fun and funky with eye popping colors like blue/yellow/orange/white- very tropical. the pool is beautiful, the hottub nice (although jets didn't work well), and the cabanas awesome with great firepits everywhere, and TVs in the cabana and comfy sofas. rooms were large, beds comfortable, nice amenities in bathrooms and soft squishy towels. fun and funky western decor in the rooms, staff is so incredibly nice and not stuck up and really helpful. I would ask for a pool side view because the ones overlooking street could be a little noisy. the spa although a little pricey was great, both my husband and i had different masseuses and it was a good experience. you literally walk out by the lobby and are right in old Scottsdale.

Room Tip: pick poolside or a building not facing road side, for a little quieter rooms. i had no problem sleeping with the sound of the cars going by, but some light sleepers might prefer a different location.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

It was nice to hear about your great experiences here at The Saguaro. Sounds like you were able to explore all we had to offer, including our great Spa. So sorry about the hot tub...we've got it fixed now. Thanks for the great feedback on our team...they'll be happy to hear your comments as well.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

In the middle of strip malls, The Saguaro is a wonderful, hip, modern hotel. Not quite a hotel, since you can drive up to your room (that part is kind of like a motel), but once inside, the rooms are modern, in a Miami/IKEA sort of way. The huge LG flat screen TV is great as is the really nice bathroom soaps/shampoos. Everything is decorated very nicely - such a nice escape from the bland decor of chain hotels.

The real star of the place is the fitness center and pool areas. The chaise lounges and cabanas transport you from Scottsdale to Miami. There are two pools - one is a circular one with a waterfall the has a jet that makes the water flow in a circular motion. That one, which is smaller, is more for playing and lounging about. The larger, rectangular is visually spectacular. Long enough to do laps, the pool also has a very large hot tub at the end which could fit 20-30 very comfortably. The cabanas near the pool have outdoor gas fireplaces and flat screen TVS and curtains that can be drawn for privacy.

The staff here are fantastic and casual in their attire (hoodies) - love it.. can't stand the traditional, weird, stiff, polyester uniforms of hotel staff - looks so uncomfortable! The lobby is beautiful and there are outdoor fire throughout the property.

Even though it is a new hotel, its a keeper.

One negative - the $14 parking fee regardless of self-parking or valet is a bit excessive (but perhaps to prevent people from parking there who are not Saguaro guests).

Room Tip: Get one on the 2nd or 3rd floors facing the pools
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank induway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at The Saguaro over the Christmas holiday and had a great experience. You couldn't tell the place had been open only six weeks. Pros: Friendly service, clean and comfortable room, nice grounds, very comfortable beds and pillows, awesome TV, great toiletries and quality towels, amazing shower with nice fixtures and strong water pressure (we didn't want to get out of the shower), Distrito restaurant, reasonable rates, one of the best hotel gyms I've been to...etc. Cons: $14 self parking per night, sharp edges to the bed that stuck out (we kept stubbing our toes before we covered in towels), bright bathroom light with no night light, no dresser, bathroom sink had cracks. Again, way more postitives than negatives and we'd certainly stay here again if the prices remain reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gurujake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thanks for the great feedback on your recent stay. So glad you were able to enjoy the grounds, Fitness Center and Distrito. Your comments are very beneficial for us to continue to improve, so thanks for sharing it with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews