We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly delightful”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Once in a blue moon, you find a hotel that is quirky wonderful, sincerely friendly service, and perfect accommodations at the right price. Pool area is quintessential Arizona luxe. I will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 881 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

The attempts were noble, but one fact remains clear after my 4-night stay: this is NOT a 4-Star property. Once again, I foolishly took advantage of Hotwire's "4-Star" deal and once again, I feel duped. On the plus side: the staff couldn't be nicer. However, not even nice staff can sugarcoat the creepy exterior, malodorous room, uncomfortable (and squeaky) bed and paper-thin walls. The parking charge is inappropriate and overpriced for a glorified motel. My room was by the pool and fortunately outdoor temperatures were much too cool for sunbathers and/or swimmers because I could hear ever noise from the pool area (employees or other guests chatting at poolside). In summary: stay away! (unless you're a college student splitting the room bill 6-ways or are not well-traveled and consider the Motel 6 to be 4-star accommodations).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank germatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

We were dissapointed to hear about your most recent experience at the Saguaro here in Scottsdale. It was surprising to read about the comments on the uncomfortable bed and the cheap paint, as others who have reviewed us on Trip Advisor have had nice accolades about these very same things. We take great pride in our property and appreciate the great feedback, especially on our friendly staff. Thanks for checking us out!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here a couple nights while on a golf getaway... Very kitchy, retro South Beach look and feel. The service was far and above that I've experienced at five diamond resorts. Great restaurant as well!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrKrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks for the great feedback! We were glad to hear that you liked our look and feel, as well as our staff and food. We hope you had a great golf trip, and hope to see you back here and on the links again soon!

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a great stay in Scottsdale at The Saguaro. We are frequent travellers and it was very refreshing to stay at a hotel where the staff are very friendly and responsive to our needs. The There were some rough spots in the room renovations, but to compensate for that, the hotel offered a complimentary breakfast during our stay. The exercise facilities are new and the pool was also very well kept. While the lobby area of the hotel looked new, the hotel buildings and our room did not. The beds were comfortable although the room decor and renovations were average. However, the hotel is very conveniently located near shopping and restaurants and there was also free Wi fi in the room which was convenient. The price that we paid for the hotel was comparable to other hotels in the area. I would rate the hotel at 3.5 stars instead of 4 stars. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padparadscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Thanks for the great comments about our new hotel in Scottsdale. We were so glad to hear that you got to check out our fitness room and our great pool areas. We appreciate the feedback on the beds and the guestrooms, and on our friendly and responsive staff. The team and I hope you'll be back again soon!

Best,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My experience with this hotel was less than desirable. During my stay the fire alarms were set off a little after 12am, a lot of confusion from the hotel staff as to what was going on. After spending some time in the cold parking lot the hotel staff told us it was a fire drill and we could go back to our rooms. After I went back to my room I discovered that there was a party taking place at the hotel, this went on until about 4am. The rooms are not sound proof at all so you could hear people running up and down the hall, slamming doors, and shouting. At 3am someone decided to try and order pizza and they were talking like a parrot and kept shouting their debit card number out loud in the hall. Needless to say I did not get any sleep. The hotel staff did nothing about the party. I will not be back to this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels in Scottsdale to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Guest, we are very embarrassed about your recent stay and offer you our deepest apologies about the erroneous Fire Alarm that went off in the middle of the night, and the noise from some surrounding guests. We continue to train our team on how to handle issues such as these, and appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in Scottsdale, and if so, please contact me directly so that I may set up your reservation.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed with The Saguaro four nights over Thanksgiving Weekend. Had a wonderful room overlooking the pool but hidden behind a huge tree which felt amazingly cozy! Yes, we commented about some street noise but turns out our front door needed to be adjusted to eliminate the "gap".

The staff is over the top! Jordan, Caitlin, John and Francesco (at the bar), Eric, the entire Valet Staff, everyone at the Front Desk - cannot say enough about their kindness, consideration and sincere - sincere - thoughtfulness. We celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary and their recognition of not only the date but the number of years was beyond anything we'd ever experienced. (Guys - Hi from Saguaro Jamba - you'll know what that means!)

The beds are super comfortable. (One suggestion - couldn't get the sheets to stay tucked in - need wider sheets!) The amenities (toiletries, etc) were excellent. The room colors and design were perfect. The food at Old Town Whiskey was incredible! (Yeah for Pickle Plates!) It's not a new building - that is a given - but what they've done with the pool areas is gorgeous. And the location couldn't be better.

But what makes this hotel a DEFINITE RETURN stay is the young, exhuberant, truly sincere staff.

Thank you all for a MAGICAL four days! We'll definitely see you again and have told everyone we know about The Saguaro!

BARBARA

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Guest, We were so touched to be able to honor such a special occasion for both of you. Our staff was so excited to help you celebrate your special day, and obviously it was rewarding for all involved. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see the THREE of you again sometime very soon!

Warm Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stopped here for 3 night in the small double bed room. The front desk girl was not very helpful, we asked for a quet room with the view, she put us to the parking lot view, overlooking the busy street. After moving three times, we landed in the nice room by the pool, and had a great time. The food is excellent, the pools are nice, and the overall value was amazing. Would highly reccomend .

Room Tip: Ground floor, with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanadei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks for the great feedback. We will certainly continue to work on training with our Front Desk Hosts, so that we get the check-in process down a bit more smoothly. We were glad you were able to enjoy our pools and the great food at Old Town Whiskey.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,698 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range: $144 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing