We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveler rating
344
282
178
90
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
282
178
90
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbright colorsold towngiants spring trainingpool areafun hotelan older hotelart galleriesguacamolebars and restaurantspool partygreat poolhappy hourgolf cartfitness centervaletpoolscaleta
Filter
Updating list...
865 - 870 of 945 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just returned for a brief stay during Thanksgiving Holiday (11/25 -11/27/11) to visit AZ for the first time (Scottsdale & Sedona) with our teenage boys. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel - the location can't be beat! Old Town is literally behind the hotel, with restaurants, shops and bars, not to mention the free trolley stop. All other downtown location was just a short walk away, even the Fashion Square Mall.

Although we self-parked, the valet attendants were also very nice & extremely helpful in giving us directions & pointers on where to eat & what to visit. Also, the complimentary continental & hot breakfast was very impressive! I've stayed in many hotels, but this is the 1st time that I can truly say that "free hotel breakfast" was better than going to a restaurant. Eggs cooked to order made anyway you want it, the tastiest breakfast sausages I've ever tasted (and I don't even like sausage!), bacon, potatoes, yogurt parfait, fruits, bagels, etc. I also have to give credit to the friendly servers in their restaurant - the staff are amazing!

The rooms were standard in size but very clean & decorated very well. Although we can hear traffic on the street, it didn't bother us at all & didn't interfere with getting a good night sleep. I just wished that instead of 2 double beds, they would've offer 2 queen beds instead coz the double beds were a little tight for sleeping 2 adults. The only negative with my stay is the sliding door to the bathroom - if it's pulled to close all the way, the door comes out of the metal track leaving you "locked in". It was an easy fix to get out, you just had to push the door to align with the track, but my son and I got "locked" a few times. The gym had top notch equipments and the 2 pools (1 just for kids) with cabana style seats and tents were very stylish and great if you want to be shielded from the sun. Overall, our experience with this newly-opened hotel was great & we would stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

We were glad to hear about your short getaway and how much you enjoyed your stay over the Thanksgiving Holiday. Sorry to hear about the "glitch" with the bathroom door, we have sent our staff to make that minor adjustment. We appreciate your great comments, and hope to see you back soon, so that you can try the amazing food at Distrito, our new restaurant opening this week!

Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel has been renovated and owned a few times but this time I think they got it right! The colors may throw some off but I find the modern decor refreshing. Fountains are nice. They are building a new modern Mexican restaurant to open in December. We are staying here over Thanksgiving while visiting family. Since they are doing renovations they offer a nice, free breakfast buffet. Staff is very welcoming and nice (Jessie in the Old Town Whiskey restaurant and Jordan at front desk). The grounds are well groomed, nice pools (cabanas and bar too!) and fitness center. Overall I would pay this price for a more well-known hotel and not be as impressed. The bedding is crisp and clean. This is more than just a motel with a fresh coat of paint. Will definitely stay here again, I hope they keep up the great work! Looking forward to trying their restaurant out, but I'm sure it will be good since free breakfast buffet was nice and not just thrown together (they even served two eggs any style!). You can tell attention to detail was paid. They even wrote a letter explaining what is still in the process of being completed and such as noting how the custom lamp shades are being replaced (only one looked a little worn). Overall great experience in the lovely town of Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor if you want a patio with lounge chairs. You can have view of pool or street, pool may be quieter but noise from street not overbearing.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EDK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the GREAT review. We appreciate the positive feedback, and will be certain to share the great comments with Jessie and Jordan and the rest of our team. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope you come back and see us again soon!

Best,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Saguaro has just opened 2 weeks ago. The location is amazing and the staff does everything they can to make you feel welcome. The bedding is so comfortable....this is a winner!

Room Tip: A back room could be less noisy...although this was not a problem, echos in the hall were heard. Perhaps when the hotel is more full, the noise could be a factor. Well worth is though!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequenttravelers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks for your great feedback on our new hotel. We were glad to hear that you had great interactions with our team, and will gladly pass on your compliments! We hope to see you back here soon!!

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I agree that it is obviously a renovated building. Rooms are clean and finishing touches were being added during our stay. Beds comfortable, linens clean and white. From valets greeting everyday with possible activity ideas for you, to desk staff (notably Jordan) who all made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The staff all made eye contact and greeted you and assisted with any request. They also did a wonderful job of promoting local businesses in the area and recommending a variety of ideas for day trips. Whiskey bar had excellent waitstaff and bartenders to talk you through a whiskey tasting flight or make some specialty cocktails. Duck fat fries were awesome snack while watching John the bartender mix drinks. He was very attentive to anyone sitting at bar and all of the bar staff were pleasant and appeared to e joy their work. The charm of this place was found in the people working to insure you were pleased. I have stayed at 5 star decorated hotels where no one spoke to you. The staff here are working to please.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Guest,

We were so happy that you had such a great stay with us this past week. We are quite proud of our product and staff, and are glad that you felt the same way. A clean room, comfy beds, amazing Duck Fat fries with a Whiskey Flight, and a friendly team make for a great stay, and we are thrilled that you were able to have that here at the Saguaro.

We hope that you will join us again in the near future!!

Best Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was severely disappointed with the Saguaro. The pros of the property are it is in a good location and the staff was very friendly and interactive. The room was a disaster, the exterior of the A/C unit was literally dangling off the wall. The sliding doors are not at all sound proof and prepared to hear traffic noise at all hours and the construction crews starting work early in the morning. The tub and tile was clearly original with stained grout the faucet was scratched and the chrome missing. Despite a lengthy search, the room lacked power outlets. There was a single open outlet at the desk and another open one on the other side of the room. There was exposed armadillo cabling for the electrical along the wardrobe and behind the beds. Any renovations done, were clearly hack!

It is much like someone took a 70s motel, painted it, and added some trendy Ikea furniture to the rooms and viola. This is probably the worst hotel I've stayed at this year, and I travel 3 weeks out of every month.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILTheDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Guest,

We were saddened to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory on your recent visit to the Saguaro, and apologize that we did not live up to the standards that you were expecting. We appreciate your critical feedback and will address the issues you specifically stated, so that no other guest will encounter these challenges in the future. On the positive side, we were happy to hear that you had great interactions with our friendly staff. We strive on providing excellent service to our guests, and giving a little bit of "Joie" with every interaction.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews