We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade completed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, WA
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Upgrade completed”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I reviewed this previously saying upgrades were on the way. They are now complete. New furniture, flat screen TVs, bathroom upgrades, and new kitchen layouts. New artwork, but maybe the old SW theme fit in better, but really not here for the art. The Splash Poolside Grill is now open longer hours and has more food offerings, including some breakfast items. The activities are varied, with many children activities poolside. You can take a van to Pinnacle Peak for guided hike. We took a tour from here to the Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center. Very good. A terrific location to easily get most anywhere within 30 minutes in the greater Phoenix area.

Room Tip: I would ask for one that doesn't get afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear RetiredTraveler2009

Thank you for your diligence in updating your review, now that renovations are complete.
We loved hearing your positive comments and were glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

Come visit us again soon!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    317
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
310
382
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staying for a week during a spring break with 7 yr old and 2 yr old boys. (actually writing this review in our 4th day!) We have 1 bedroom with full kitchen and washer and drier in unit. It is roomy, clean, upscale and newly updated. Bed is super comfy (even sofabed is good)
Loved pool-side movie night. It was very special. Everything says Sheraton quality.

Now the not-so-great part. :)
1. Main pool is too small - during peak hour 11am - 3pm, it is hard to find a lounge chair! we have to start "lounge chair-less" then continuously scan for people who's about to leave, then take the empty chair. We have to keep moving until we get good seats with little shade and little sun. It's not too bad but it is little disappointing compared to our stay at Marriot last Oct. (which let you use JW marriot pool and it was not crowded at all.)

2. Maybe it is due to Arizona heat but the unit itself is dark. Need to turn on lights all day. Again, we are from California so we are used to big patio doors and big windows with lots of sun.

Overall we are very happy with the stay. However, due to the pool situation, we plan to stay at Marriot or Westin in the future if possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Robin H

Thank you for giving us some feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are happy that, despite having to "hunt down" lounge chairs by the pool, you and your family overall enjoyed your time here! It was also good to hear that the movie night was a big hit as this has been a fairly new addition, and it's nice to know that it is being well received.

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, UT
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Oasis last week and had a great time. We had to call the front desk on two occasions because our room did not have a hair dryer or a vacuum, but those were delivered immediately. The rooms appear to be newly remodeled. Our son slept on the sofa bed that did not appear to have been used yet. The table and chairs on the lanai were great. Our view was of the parking lot but a big tree mostly blocked it. Our bedroom had a very comfortable king bed. There is a small closet in the bedroom and one night stand with drawers. This nightstand is the only place to put away your clothes...which is not quite big enough for three people. There is a washer and dryer in the suite so if you pack light and wash a few times you would be fine. The kitchen is small but efficient. The refrigerator had an ice maker, that was nice. There is a dishwasher too, which was very handy. The pool and hot tub were wonderful. We were always able to find a chair...I think it may have been a little slow last week. There is an exercise facility next to the pool. I think it's open 24 hours. The hotel has several events and fun things for adults and children to do during the week. We didn't do any but they seemed like they would be fun. There was a movie at the pool one night. That same day lots of kids were having competitions in the pool for prizes. There is a wine tasting night. We did check out DVDs a few nights, that's handy. Your room has a DVD player. This was our first trip to Scottsdale and we loved it! It's not too close but try Butterfields for breakfast. We ate there almost every morning. There was a wait every time. It was worth it! Cantina Laredo was good mexican and Grimaldi's was great pizza. This wasn't a golf trip but this hotel is almost next door to TPC Scottsdale. Lot's of great golf in Scottsdale! You will be contacted by the concierge once or twice per day to remind you of events. The concierge is also responsible for setting up your time share presentation...

We were able to get an incredible deal from a time share owner. We would definitely come back if we could get another deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear taylormi

Thank you for your review of our property - and such an extensive one at that! It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us! We do understand that storage can pose a bit of a challenge, but you're right, having a washer and dryer in the villa is certainly very helpful in that regard.

We do hope you will visit us again sometime!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I are owners at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and we just got back from a lovely week at our villa. The villa and grounds are so clean and well kept. The pool is warm and the waterfall is very pleasant. A great mix of people staying at the resort adds to its charm and the staff were friendlier than ever. We highly recommend staying here the next time you are in the Scottsdale area. Sunshine, service, comfort, and relaxation awaits you. Thanks to Sheraton for a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landofsmiles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Landofsmiles17

We loved reading your review of our property, and we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us!

Please come see us again soon!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Sheridan Desert Oasis. The units are great but perhaps the best thing is that they have lots of activities that you can join, if you wish and numerous excursions are also available for those who don't want to just enjoy the pools and hot tubs. Two of these I would like to mention are the on site tour of the desert plants growing on the property and the second is a tour offered to a local wildlife sanctuary where you can see grey wolves, coyotes, mountain lions, bears, javelinas, desert turtles and many other animals that have been rescued. Josh was our driver from the resort and our guide as well. It was truly a highlight of our trip to Phoenix.

Room Tip: Perhaps an upper floor room would result in not hearing neighbours, but we have stayed in both the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mary C

Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice feedback on your recent stay with us!
We very much appreciate it, and we were happy to hear that our property and staff was able to provide you with truly memorable experiences during your time here in the Valley of the Sun.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Sheraton Desert Oasis is set up more as a time share. The rooms are very nice with a living area, small efficiency kitchen, bedroom and bath. The kitchen has a stove, dishwasher, fridge, and oven/microwave combo. There is a very nice pool with a separate spa. The two are separated by a waterfall. There's also an area by the pool where you can get food and drinks.

I was just there for a couple of days so it wasn't worth it to buy groceries. The food at the pool was mostly bar type food that closes at 7:00 and if I had a recommendation it would be to have a regular restaurant where a broader range of food would be available later in the evening.

The property really isn't near anything so it's necessary to drive if you want something off premises. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Nialover

We appreciate the feedback in regards to you recent stay at our property, and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks especially for the kind comments about our staff!
You are right, it is definitely convenient to have a car while staying here, as there is not much in walking distance, however a ton of great restaurants and shopping areas only a few miles away in either direction.

We hope to see you again!

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert OasisT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel was recently remodel and the rooms were great. The separate bedroom and family room was great and the bathroom could be directly accessed from either room. The kitchen was efficient and there was even a W/D in our unit. Overall I was shocked how great this would be for a long term family stay. The pool was a bit deep, but there was a splash pad for the little ones. One thing that set it a part were the traditional playgrounds on site. The kids enjoyed playing on them while others in the family got ready and the artificial surface meant no one got dirty before we went to dinner. We chose this property over some area westins and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have kids that might enjoy a play ground as to be near them as the 2 are located around the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ar0undTheW0rld2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Aroundtheworld2006

Thank you so much for your great feedback on your recent stay with us!
It was so nice to hear that you and your family (big and little members alike) enjoyed your time here!

Please come visit us again sometime!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing