We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our new home away from home!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love everything about this hotel! The pool is amazing! The food by the pool was yummy too. Every night we hung out in the large hot tub. The gym was great and spacious. We biked every day at McDowell mountain which is beautiful. It was great to come home everyday to the oasis and recharge our batteries. We'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Eemia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us- and such great one at that! :)
We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we could be part of making your vacation experience a memorable one.

Please come visit us again sometime!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    317
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
310
382
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay here. We came to Phoenix for a get-together with our high school classmates and we loved the renovated room so much, we spent more time there than usual.
The room was fantastic, all the comforts of home and more. Our patio was a bit confining with a view of a tree, but it was a bit cool during our stay so we didn't use it anyway.
Nice that the fitness room was open 24/7. The pool area was great and the smoothies delicious!
A shame there isn't a bar open in the evening, we would have loved to enjoy a nice drink or glass of wine with our friends.
We had to ask for a cooking unit; all the pots and pans were provided, but not the cook top. It was delivered exactly as we asked, with a followup call to ensure we had the service requested.
In order to get around the area, a car is really necessary, but that is Scottsdale, so spread out. Nice to have Trader Joe's, Whole Foods etc in the area. Enjoyed sites such as Talisien West and Cosanti with wonderful hiking nearby, plus the Botanical Gardens and more.
We would love to return more often, the staff was super! Our thanks to all them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Karen75017,

Thank you for your nice review about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here!
We would love to have you back, so hopefully, we'll see you again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found the Sheraton Desert Oasis through RCI, and were excited to try our first Sheraton timeshare. And, I must say, we were quite pleased. Our unit was very clean. We would have loved to be upgraded to a one-bedroom with a larger kitchen, but our kitchenette was adequate, and our unit was in very close proximity to both pool areas. We had a car, so we actually found the location of this timeshare to be very convenient. Trader Joe's was just a few minutes away in one direction, and we discovered the amazing Fry's Market just a few minutes away in the other direction. The property was quite nice -- well-landscaped. The main pool area was impressive with the waterfall, but we enjoyed most our "private" pool right outside our door. It was usually empty in the early evenings when we took our swim. Also, be sure to get the Sheraton map they provide at the concierge's desk. That map was fantastic -- it had all the stores, restaurants, attractions -- well-laid out. One of the best maps I've ever been given. And, I tend to navigate by landmarks, so this was especially helpful. The information at the concierge desk was excellent, and the concierge was very knowledgeable and pleasant with loads of helpful info at her fingertips. My one comment is that they should ease up on the pressure to sign-up to attend a time-share talk. We explained that we were not interested, but we were still asked in various ways to sign up. And, for three consecutive evenings, the phone rang in our unit about three separate times. We were not expecting any phone calls, so we didn't answer. Perhaps, they were just calling to ask us for feedback on our stay, but we suspected we might have been asked again to sign-up for a session and that was enough to keep us from answering. Overall, this property is great. If I were considering a timeshare, I'd consider this one. It's a clean, well-maintained property, and it looks like they are making improvements to some of the units. We participated in their bingo games, and I thought the staff running these events was great. So, definitely lots of positives for a repeat stay at this Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Aloha056,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive review about your recent stay at our property. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we also want to thank you for your nice comments in regards to our staff and property in general.
We certainly hope to see you again some time in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Albeit I'm an SPG Platinum member, I booked 4 nights here through a vacation rental owner. I got a renovated room on the third floor and it was excellent. Fireplace and bath in the bedroom, and everything you require:first class. However the pool area is 4 star with a high smell of chlorine, and renovations are underway. As I didn't have a car, there was no bar or restaurant, which I didn't understand on booking. I found taxis expensive to Scottsdale quarter and Westin Commons. There was a shuttle to a shopping centre one afternoon during my stay for $5, and I felt that the hotel should be running a daily shuttle. However, staff are pleasant and accommodating to all requests. Arielle, the vacation ownership representative is great, and whilst the "timeshare" experience was a poor one, the Manager and Arielle addressed this in a first class professional manner.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear IrisAnne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate it!
We were happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your time here, but we do want to apologize for the lack of a sit down restaurant on property. We certainly understand that this was an inconvenience, especially given the fact that you didn't have a car with you. We do hope you were able to take some advantage of our poolside bar and grille however.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this location for a convention. We knew ahead of time that the property had renovations underway and hope they update fitness center with more of everything. It's a little bare.

My main reason for posting a review is twofold:


1) On our 2nd night, while preparing to leave for dinner, we found a small (3 inch) scorpion scurrying across the floor. Needless to say, no more bare feet in the SECOND floor rooms. When we brought it to the attention of the desk clerk that night my son was told that nothing could be done until Engineering came in the next morning. That goodness we don't have small children or my wife would have moved us to a different hotel. The claim was that the scorpion had probably climbed up the dryer vent... okay, that doesn't help ease our concerns.

2) We have NEVER charged anything to a room EVER in our lives. We got our bill emailed to us after the trip and found food and liquor charges on it. This is a timeshare. There's a kitchen in the room and grocery stores nearby. No need to get resort food. I'd called twice and had to leave messages. I called again on 1NOV and spoke to Josh who said it was definitely from the previous occupants of one of the two rooms we had. He stated that it would be reversed. It hasn't yet and that isn't acceptable. I'll be calling my credit card provider mid-month to challenge the charge and file a formal complaint at that time if this isn't fixed immediately.


I don't post reviews often and let the scorpion situation slide until I was seemingly ignored regarding the food charges.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EasyTravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear EasyTravellerCA,

On behalf of the property, I would like to apologize that your stay with us fell short of your expectations, with the billing error being the primary reason.
The Front Office Manager let me know that a reversal of the incorrect charges has since taken place, however, this should not have happened in the first place, and I completely understand your frustration with this situation.

We usually take pride in great customer service and satisfaction and truly regret that we missed the mark in this instance.

Thank you for your time.


Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ontario,
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

through our RCI timeshare we stayed 5 nights here and enjoyed it.The units were recently renovated and were very, very nice. There was no restaurant on the premise and you had to drive a distance to the closest one. The pool was lovely and the staff were very accommodating.

Room Tip: recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear o4fun,

Thank you for your nice comments in regards to your recent stay with us! They are much appreciated! We hope the fact that besides our poolside grille, we do not have a restaurant on property did not inconvenience you too badly.

Please come see us again sometime!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Let me start out by saying this is a really nice place. But based on the reviews I read here prior to booking my trip, it fell flat.

Have any of you people ever been to a hotel before? Or are all the reviews fake?

I mean, it's a nice hotel and all but it's no five star resort and I certainly did not experience any service that was above and beyond.

That being said, it was a really enjoyable stay and overall a great experience. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the newly renovated rooms and they did a nice job with it. The room (1 bedroom villa) was very spacious and clean. The jacuzzi in the bedroom was a real pleasant surprise. The only complaint I have with the room is the shower. Not sure why they picked the shower floor they put in, but it already seemed dated and showed the dirt in certain areas.

For those complaining about being harassed about the time-share - I did not experience this at all. Yes, they left a message about a "free gift" awaiting me at the front desk. But that was really it. No phone calls, no one mentioned anything to me in person. Nothing else.

The grounds are nice and will be stunning once completed, but it is still under construction. I LOVED that the hotel gave me a warning about this before I booked my room and they were very detailed about when and where the construction would be. That was much appreciated and a class move.

I will say that the signage on the property should be updated. It's not even clear where to register because the first building you see is the "clubhouse." That is where you check in but there are no signs saying registration or anything like that. And when you get to the parking lot near your rooms, there are very few signs telling you where and how to get to your room. I had to walk all the way around and ask someone by the pool to help me. (she did, graciously).

Another minor complaint is the television. While they are new and modern, the time it takes to change the channel is ridiculous (meaning while channel surfing. It takes a few seconds each time you change the channel for the picture to show up). Not sure how to fix this really, other than replacing the t.v.'s.

So overall, a very pleasant trip, with standard service. Nice hotel? Yes. Unbelievable, amazing, unexpected? Sorry, but no.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room BEFORE you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear greyat15,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such extensive feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate input from our guests.
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, even if there were a few things (e.g. better signage) that could have improved your stay.

We do hope you will visit us again sometime!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing