We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but watch for the time share pitch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but watch for the time share pitch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I were in town for my sister's wedding and all stayed here. The rooms were clean for the most part, except a dead bug sitting on our bed when we arrived. The kitchen area were nice to have since there were about 16 of us. Second, if you are a platinum member of SPG, they don't give you many of the benefits like late check out, at least we were not denied this. My biggest issue with this place was when we arrived the front desk sent us to the concierge to get a "goody bag" but really all she did was give us a sales pitch on the time shares they offer at the property and even when we said we did not have time to go to the presentation she kept on insisting for a good 15 mins. The goody bag was more information on vacation rentals and activities in the area. Once we got past the few hiccups on the first day the rest of our stay was just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saphron53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Saphron53,

Thanks for having taken time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us. First, I hope your sister had a wonderful wedding and congratulations to her!
We were happy to hear that you and the rest of the wedding party enjoyed your time here, despite a few issues. I'm so sorry about the dead bug upon your arrival; that is certainly something that should have been caught before your check in. Our housekeeping team is usually very good about thoroughly inspecting the villas prior to releasing them, and I'm sorry about this oversight. In regards to the pressure to attend a timeshare presentation, I will forward your review to our marketing manager for some discussion amongst his team.

Thanks again!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    317
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
310
382
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there in August for 4 nights. Check-in agent is great and friendly. Got the room at the 10 series which is very close to the front lobby and swimming pool. The room or should it be called one-bedroom apartment?! is very clean and fully equipped. With the in-suite washer and dryer is definitely a bonus for the resort staying family traveler.
The bigger pool is good and my children do have a great time there. The evening shift Security personnel is the most friendly fellow we meet in the property during our stay.

I would recommend this resort for the family traveler!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mazda626,

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us! We were happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here! Thanks especially for the kind comments about our staff as that will make their day!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We own at this property and could not be more happy! My now grown daughter still enjoys visiting the property and playing in the pool. Beautiful place to stay. Easy highway access. Plenty of places to shop and eat near by.

Room Tip: Unless you have children, avoid rooms by the pool as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dawn P.

Thank you for those great comments about our property! We always love to hear from our owners!
Hope to see you again soon!

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Last minute trip to see nephew. On the way to his apt. We passed this resort which just happens to be around the corner from our nephews place. Resort may be a bit over stated because I expect a lot more when one says the are a resort. Tthe room was nice, clean, and comfy. This will be a great place when we stay longer. Rooms are like small one bedroom apt.. Full kitchens, with DW, Apt size washer dryer, pull out sofa,dining table etc. Pool area is adequate with outdoor dining options only during breakfast and lunch. No restaurant. Plenty of dining options around and a great upscale outdoor mall about 2 miles away. Southwest decor that is need of updating is all this place needs in my opinion . The have elevators so you don't have to climb the stairs, tons of parking and BBQ 's for you grilling pleasure,

Room Tip: On a busy street so get a room in the back, if you don't mind pool noise you can get a room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear marleymar,

Thank you for your nice comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here, even if it was just a quick trip.
Your comments about our property being a bit dated were right on point, and we are actually renovating all of our guest villas at the moment, so we do hope to see you again sometime in the future to witness all the changes first-hand.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton california
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just finished a two week stay at the Desert Oasis and were very satisfied. The rooms are lovely, and it is a great value. The only negatives that I have to add are negligible, but I will mention them just to be thorough. We had a two bedroom unit which consists of a large one bedroom connected to a smaller one bedroom. While the decor is very nice, the living area is a bit small. For example, the chair in the living room very nearly runs into the dining table. Also, there is very limited storage space for those of you planning to unpack your clothing. Our master bedroom afforded only a small three drawer chest, requiring us to put the rest of our clothing in a cabinet in the living room. Other than that, however, the rooms are nice. My only other complaint is that for the first week and a half of our stay, they were actually heating the main pool! It was soooooo warm that we opted for the smaller, "quiet" pool which was, surprisingly, 20 degrees cooler than the large, family pool. This was a bit disappointing, but the problem was resolved before we left so that we could enjoy the larger pool a couple of times before we left. All in all, a very nice place to stay, and we were NEVER bothered about attending a time share demonstration -- a very pleasant surprise!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get the larger of the two one-bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakespearenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Shakespearenut,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate it!
We were happy to hear that you had a nice time with us, and we are excited to let you know that we are currently undergoing a complete renovation of all our guest villas which will address and alleviate some of the concerns you had mentioned.
We do hope to welcome you again sometime in the future to witness those changes first hand!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great property with clean spacious rooms, extensive landscaping, and a really nice pool area. There was a fair mix of families there but only at the pool. The rest of the property could be as isolated as you want it to be. It is a good value property.
However, the cons were that they take you to do a tour of their other properties and timeshare situations and they dont let you off the hook until you buy. We were not interested in getting a timeshare and they just wouldn't let it go.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sabz3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had a first floor room and I would say this was one of the quietest stays I've ever had. Room was good size, kitchenette was well equipped, house keeping was very good and the thermostat was an old fashioned lever that you could move back and forth! Too many hotels have electronic thermo's that decide for you how cool (or hot) you'd like to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear pkelly8,

Thank you for your nice comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the little things combined - like you mentioned- made your time at our property a success!

We hope to welcome you back with us sometime in the future!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing