We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im here now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This review may be updated when I have time to check out the entire resort tomorrow. The 2 bedroom villa is clean and well decorated. We have a quiet balcony with not much of a view but then again, its flat here and at least I'm not looking at dumpsters. Once disappointment, I expected a restaurant and bar on site. We were bummed to find only a pool snack shack and no lounge/bar area. We left and went to the Local Bistro about 2 minutes away for a great meal. I hope the gym is better than reviewed. There is no spa. We are Marriott owners and traded thru II for a certificate. Anytime we trade our Marriott we get a free week, so we used it here. It is NOT the all inclusive resort that we are used to. If we could we would transfer to a full resort property. Will post more later.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zyzzeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Zyzzeva,

We are glad to have you staying with us right now! If you happen to get notification of this reply while you are still staying here, then please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything or if we can do anything to make you more comfortable!

Thank you for the compliments. On a couple of the points you mention though, I am regretful that we were not able to meet your expectations. Again, if you get this soon while you are still here, please reach out to us, and we will do whatever we can to accommodate you.

With best regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Check in was quick and easy. Had trouble with the room key. In fact, had trouble with it all week. They came to fix it once but it didn't take. Front desk was non apologetic and didn't seem to care about our concerns. Room was generally clean although a used bar of soap was left in shower tray. Alerted front desk about this and again no apology. Resort is okay, not Marriott quality. Main pool is nice but there are not enough chairs. People come down early in the morning to stake out chairs. Staff is supposed to take towels off chairs left unattended after 20 minutes but I saw first hand this does not happen. Large family took six chairs whild one person stood watch. No other family came down to the pool for over an hour. I saw family after family come down looking for a chair but there were none to be found. I told one father of four looking for chairs he should tell a Sheraton employee. He did, but nothing was done about one person watching chairs for six people. Resort has great location but I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsPlayToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear LetsPlayToo,

Thank you for your comments. I want to start by saying we are concerned that we fell short of your expectations and that you experienced the issues you mentioned. And, on behalf of the Sheraton Desert Oasis, I certainly want to apologize.

Issues of the sort that you mention are not acceptable, and not characteristic of us. I am not sure why you experienced a lackluster response when those issues were brought to our attention. This has been addressed with our departments, so as to prevent anything similar from happening again.

In terms of the pool chair issues you mention, the time period which you stayed is definitely our busiest time of year, and we definitely do our best to balance the high demand of pool chairs. We station associates in our pool area throughout the day to help ensure people are not placing items on chairs to try to reserve them and then leaving. Our associates are typically very adept at this, so I apologize if you observed something that did not seem in accordance with our policy of ensuring the pool can be enjoyed by everyone.

Thank you again for your comments. Hopefully you will come visit us again in the future! If we can be of assistance in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmly,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went on this trip to attend a conference. Next time I hope to save on car-rental and take advantage of their daily bus ride to different daily local sites, incl. one to the grocery store. They also have a free breakfast put on by local tour guides that is very detailed and helpful with tempting options. Despite this being in a mainly residential town (Scottsdale), there are three main shopping areas, from big expensive to small town quaint...within about 20-30 minutes driving distance. And, a few quality museums or preserves. Lots of typical quality restaurants, too. == Now, the condo = I rented a 1-bedroom unit and it was splendidly decorated and a genius laid out it out. It had few sq.feet but it felt twice the size. I heard some reviewers complain about the condition of the furniture but I found no dirt or breakage. The bathroom was huge with a deep jacuzzi-style tub (which might be hard for short or handicap people to get in and out of). The bed was big and heavenly (typical Sheraton style); with 2 slim closets. The partial kitchen had everything I needed, except enough room to store my food. (no oven--watch out at the grocery store!) It had a big flat screen TV; and nice porch furniture. But there were air condensers below them that made noise constantly, so I wore ear plugs (it might not bother others....a constant hum...or maybe it was someone ceiling fan?) But the toilet loud flush didn't bother me. There's only 1 elevator. The walkway betw. the buildings has lots of tropical plants. The main pool area was gigantic, and water was warm! Plus lovely cascading falls, and a giant community hot tub in a grotto area. It wasn't busy, but maybe bec. it was cool outside (70?) The cafe was closed but I heard good things about it; and inside a nice, packed, small gift shop. About 5 free computers in lobby, which was decorated for Christmas. == You will need a car, most activities are outside of Scottsdale, and the town is spread out. Grocery store is maybe 2 miles away. (and owner/manager please do not respond to my review; it doesn't need your repeated fluff.)

Room Tip: I had a corner room, so it had fewer chances of noises from neighbors. It was also near a stairway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColoradoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on exchange from another Scottsdale resort that we love. It is beautiful! The rooms are very nice. They are exceptionally clean and classy. The decor is updated and lovely. The grounds are IMPECCABLE and beautifully maintained. The main pool area is very nice. Food service is good even if a little slow. Try the chicken tacos, steer clear of the nachos. Very good for "pool food". The only problem with the pool is that it is a little small and can be difficult to find a spot to lounge around. BUT, the staff is very willing to assist in finding a chair. :). My kids and parents loved everything. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hethscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Hethscar,

It was a pleasure to read your comments. I will definitely pass them along to our associates. We are very pleased that you had a great stay here.

In terms of the pool chairs, our pool can get very busy during February and March, when we are at very high occupancy. But, like you mentioned, we do station associates around the pool during that time to help people find chairs, etc., so that everyone may enjoy it.

Thank you for staying with us. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

- The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My adult son and I stayed at the Sheraton for a week. I was very impressed by the wonderful staff. Had an issue or two that were speedily and cheerfully fixed. The unit was clean and comfortable. The pull out bed on the 2 seater couch was very uncomfortable (springs were strongly felt) and when reported to the front desk, they brought in a comfy rollaway bed for free. The grounds are beautiful and nicely kept. One huge plus is that this resort is right off of the 101 so you have easy access to the northern fun spots.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Lynn S,

On behalf of the Sheraton Desert Oasis, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent stay and for your gracious compliments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here!

I will be sure to pass on your comments to our associates.

And, of course, we would love to have you as our guest again someday. If you do visit us again, please remember that we are always here for you if we can assist you in any way.

Best,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Located in a quiet area of Scottsdale, Sheratons Desert Oasis is one of our homes away from home. Very clean inside and everything is provided for a nice relaxed stay. Unfortunatly we were sited on the second floor overlooking the dumpsters and trash compacter. We should have changed location but didn't. My advice to you is to check your rooms location first, and then enjoy the best of The Desert Oasis.

Room Tip: Check room location first. Stay away from the parking lot side if you want less noise. Support staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PHILRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Greetings PHILRidgefirld_CT!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are always pleased to hear our guests are able to relax and be themselves when they visit us! We're sorry to hear about your view - please feel free to call the resort directly and share any requests you may have to enhance your stay. We will always do our best to accomodate.

Hope to see you again soon,

Warmly,

SDO Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here in a one bedroom villa. The suite was nicely decorated and overlooked a water feature - waterfall and garden.Our suite had a full kitchen and an in room whirlpool tub. The location was convenient to the freeway and to walking trails and a running track. Downtown Scottsdale is a short drive away.
There are two pools and the larger pool was very popular (and busy) with guests.The smaller pool was less popular so a nice get away from the busy larger pool area.There is a small exercise room and a snack bar which serves up hamburgers, pizza, etc...
This is a vacation ownership property but no one bothered us or pressured us to attend a time-share presentation.
Great friendly staff also!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings Nicholas -

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at our property and for giving us a 5 star rating at that!
We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and we especially appreciate your kind comment about our staff as all of us strive to make each and every guest feel special and welcome.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $169 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing