We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Scottsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location in Scottsdale”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here in a one bedroom villa. The suite was nicely decorated and overlooked a water feature - waterfall and garden.Our suite had a full kitchen and an in room whirlpool tub. The location was convenient to the freeway and to walking trails and a running track. Downtown Scottsdale is a short drive away.
There are two pools and the larger pool was very popular (and busy) with guests.The smaller pool was less popular so a nice get away from the busy larger pool area.There is a small exercise room and a snack bar which serves up hamburgers, pizza, etc...
This is a vacation ownership property but no one bothered us or pressured us to attend a time-share presentation.
Great friendly staff also!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Greetings Nicholas -

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at our property and for giving us a 5 star rating at that!
We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and we especially appreciate your kind comment about our staff as all of us strive to make each and every guest feel special and welcome.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    314
    73
    24
    14
See reviews for
300
381
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this resort from 1st - 15th March 2013 in the smaller 1 bedroomed apartment with a partial kitchen. The unit was very small and dark, we needed to have lights on all the time as there was hardly any natural light coming into the unit because there was a large tree in front of the balcony. We like to self cater but with only a 2 ring electric hob and a microwave oven, we were only able to make breakfast and lunch, a full dinner would be very difficult unless you use the outside barbecues. The bed in the bedroom was only a small double and not big enough for 2 largish people and if there were 4 people staying in the unit it would definitely not be big enough as there was only 1 bathroom. Noise from adjacent apartments can be a problem.
On the positive side Fry's supermarket is about 2 miles away as is Wallmart. It is near the freeway, so easy to get around. The pool area is nice and the staff are generally very helpful. Free internet access is a bonus.

Room Tip: Choose a 2 bedroomed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie1118035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear valued guest-

Thank you for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your input and comments in regards to your stay with us.
First, we would like to extend an apology for the challenges you encountered with regards to the lack of natural light and space in the villa you occupied. We are excited to let you know that, beginning in April of this year, our property will be undergoing a complete room remodel. Among other improvements, the queen size bed that is currently in our deluxe villas will be replaced with a king.
Should we be so fortunate as to have you stay with us again in the future, you are absolutely welcome to give us a call ahead of time, and we will do our best to place you in a villa that lets in a larger amount of natural light.
Lastly, thank you for complimenting our staff as well as the pool area. We take great pride in each and are happy that they contributed to your experience at our property in a positive way.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was visiting the Scottsdale area and wanted a great p[lace location wise with reasonable price. I have visited this resort in the past but have never written a review. It is quite well located in the northern part os Scottsdale.....just off the 101. This makes it convenient to get around quickly. The studio room was wonderful with a great bed, kitchenette and small yet comfortable living room. Tv in both living room and bedroom. The resort has a wonderful heated pool with waterfall and jaccuzi. There are adult pools as well. The pool is well served with a snack bar that goes well and beyond. Towel service and exercise room are complimentary and well as internet. The concierge service is wonderful with many activities. The front desk is very helpful and seems to be happy to be at your service. Wonderful place for a single or family vacation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thierry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear thierry w,

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Sheraton Desert Oasis. And you said it right - we do feel we are in a fantastic location. Scottsdale is certainly a great place, and like you said, it is convenient to get to so many places quickly from our resort.

So thank you so much your your comments. We thrive on delivering an atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment for all of our guests, and our amenities help make that happen. We are delighted to hear that you were able to make the most of them!

Come see us again sometime!

Best,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Rented this through RCI discount. Front desk is efficient and professional. Sales and resort staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Resort has two pools, activities and multiple apt sizes. I had a small one bedroom that sleeps 4. Very clean, comfortable pull out couch, flat screen in living and bedroom. Only negatives are no desk in the living area (use the table in the kitchenette), very small vanity in the bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustangRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MustangRick,

On behalf of all of us at Sheraton Desert Oasis, I want to sincerely thank you for your great compliments. Our goal is create a resort experience that is seamless and exceeds the expectations of all of our guests. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property, and our team of associates was able to please.

I will definitely relay your comments on to our associates. And we would definitely love to have you as our guest again someday. If you do choose to visit again, please feel free to stop in and say hello to us!

If we can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this resort knowing it would be a "2nd tier" resort but didn't expect the room condition issues we had. In all fairness we are used to staying at either Marriott Canyon Villas or Westin Kierland when in the area. The resort is fairly small and the rooms are dates. The layout of our premium 1 bedroom villa was good. Unfortunately we had issues like a bathroom ceiling fan hanging off and eventually falling out in use, a sliding shower door that stopped sliding, cracked tiles in the kitchen countertops, and a moldy framed picture that had slid down inside the frame and had molded where the glue was. The beds were also rock hard. All in all our impression was "shabby". The room was also very, very dark which is odd for sunny Scottsdale! We found the pool temperature perfect and the pool area was nice. The location is great for exploring all the Scottsdale has to offer, however, we probably wouldn't return. It really felt more like a retirement complex from the 80's than a Starwood vacation ownership property. We also resented the pushy timeshare person we had to get a map of the area from. I think a resort should offer a map without requiring you to say "NO" fifteen times to doing a timeshare presentation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spookykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It goes without saying that the issues you mention are unacceptable, and your experience is definitely far outside of what we would want any of our guests to experience. We strive to make every guest's stay truly fabulous, and I want to sincerely apologize that it seems we fell short of this goal.

I would like to address your concerns directly with you and come to a resolution. Please contact the resort at your earliest convenience, and ask for the General Manager. I will be happy to discuss this with you.

Warmly,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just went in for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday. This is our time share but we've only been there once before, about 5-6 years ago. Either I'm not as picky as some or I'm just a push-over. After reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I wondered what we were going to walk into. The furniture is a little beat up, but I don't expect that these resorts or hotels redecorate every year. I put towels on the furniture wherever I want to sit and usually pull off the bed cover. It doesn't matter to me whether it's been redecorated in the last month or never. We have no idea how many people have used that suite before us!

Our room was clean and pleasantly decorated. We enjoyed sitting outside in the morning with our coffee. The resort staff are fabulous, very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The resort is centrally located in north Scottsdale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatarinaFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Greetings KatarinaFlorence!

Thank you sharing with us about your recent experience at the Sheraton Desert Oasis!

We agree, our private patios and balconies are an especially nice place to enjoy your morning coffee!

We hope that you will not wait another five years before visiting us again! Travel well and we'll be anticipating your next arrival with us!

Thank you,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a nice place for a quiet getaway. It offers a peaceful setting.
The star of the hotel has to be their staff. They always greet you with a smile that seems genuine and are ready to help you with any questions you may have. Our only problem was with the 'concierge' they direct you to after check in. They are out to rope you into a time share presentation. We declined but still had messages on our machine asking us to come see them. Not all buildings on their property have elevators. We called ahead and asked for a building with them as one of us has slight mobility issues. They met our request.
The suites are nice. we had a small one bedroom unit with small kitchen that was well equipt. It only had a 2 burner stove top but as we BBQd most evenings, it did not inconvenience us. The bedroom had a queen sized bed and a big tv mounted on the wall. There was a tv in the living room too.
There is not much space for storage. We ended up putting our dry goods in the tv cupboard and our clothes in the small armoires in the bedroom. To do so, we moved blankets and extra pillows. We stored our luggage on a luggage rack in the bedroom which made it difficult to pass by the end of the bed. Our room was always dark so we kept several lights on to brighten the place up.
We had a balcony that we used on warmer days.
There are 2 pools..one a quiet pool and another much bigger and more used. We were impressed by the fact they offered lifts to help guests in wheelchairs get into the pool and huge hot tub. We have not seen this before and think it is a fabulous plus.
You need a car to get around Scottsdale. The hotel offers a trip to get groceries and to a mall for a general shopping experience. The shuttles cost $5 each.
We rented a car and shopped at a small mall nearby, The grocery store is called Frys and it offers everything you need including liquor and beer. There are several nice restaurants nearby.
There are a few organized activities but they are pretty lame...nintendo games, card playing, a bingo with cheapo prizes. On the two Mondays we were there, they brought in a country and western singer who performed lots of oldies .He was very good. The resort offered free chili and pretzels one time and burgers, corn on the cob and potato chips the next on those Mondays. The burger meal was by far the best and could fill you up as would a dinner.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to the mare mature crowd it seems to attract.
If you want to eat and drink there, you are limited to the poolside grill. The food is fine but the place shuts down at 6pm. I saw a bar in the clubhouse but I understand it closes early too.
There is a small gym but I only saw people in it 4 times.
The resort states in its literature that no animals are allowed except for service animals. We saw people walking their dogs in the parking lot that were certainly not service animals....either pets are allowed or they are not. If I was a person with animal allergies, I would be very unhappy to move into a room vacated by one that just housed a pet.
The bathroom had a big jaccuzi tob and shower corner unit. This was nice unless you have mobility priblems as you must lift you legs very high to enter and exit the tub.
The resort offers housekeeping service halfway through your weekly stay. They bring fresh towels and take your garbage away. We needed extra service twice...once when a bulb blew out and once when our coffee maker bit the dust. Both these minor problems were dealt with quickly and to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manitobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Manitobans,

Wow! Thank you for such a detailed review! We always do our best to accomodate our guests and it sounds like we did our best in everyway.

We do agree on there being limited storage space and we are happy to report that our renovation starting this April should remedy that for our guests! There are also renovations taking place to add updated lighting and a more accessible bathtub.

We, as an HOA managed property do not currently allow pets on property. The ADA requirements for service dogs has been modified to allow for medical companions. In compliance with those regulations we offer housing for pets other than your typical service animal. We do however, track which villas our furry friends are registered to so that we can deep clean each unit to provide a hypo-allergenic environment for all of our guests.

We do hope that you will visit us again and hope that you travel safely in the meantime!

Warmly,


The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Vacatia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing