We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Grotto Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel with an amazing grotto spa was a wonderful resort to enjoy. Enter the grotto through a wonderful waterfall. The spa was big enough for 20 people comfortably. We also enjoyed the food at the grill by the pool.

The rooms were elegantly decorated with linens and bedding that were first class. The kitchen had first quality appliances.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank WCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We came here for 2 nights after staying at westin villas for a week so it was a bit disappointing. It is a definitely in need of an update in decor as it is about 20 years behind. Take note of the phone beside the toilet..It was very clean though and kinda cute. A nice place for families. The main pool was so crowded we didn't even attempt to go there and the quiet pool was totally in the shade. We had a cute little deck and attempted to sit out there but soon realized it was right above the smoking area. Not nice!! If you don't like the smell of smoke make sure you request a room away from that.
There was a lot of great walking paths at the park across the street. We had the smaller unit and it was well equipped although it only had a queen bed. The bed was comfy though as are all sheratons and westins...

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank debathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Desert Oasis. We are glad you gave us a visit after your week at the Westin. We are planning an upcoming renovation so we'd love it if you can come back in the future to check us out! We are sorry about the smell of smoke. We do not allow smoking in the villas but smoking outdoors is allowed.We always do our best to accomodate everyone so please reach out to us if you have any requests to be in a certain area in the future. Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Desert Oasis. We stayed in a 2 bedroom...which really was a large 1 bedroom with a smaller 1 bedroom lockout. There was more than enough room for the two of us and really didn't even need the smaller side of the unit. The grounds are nice and well maintained. Very clean and a nice variety of native plants around the units. Each unit had a nice balcony that was perfect for a morning tea/coffee or evening glass of wine! There are two pools...the usual large one with a waterfall, grill, and lots of chairs. However, there is also a smaller adult pool tucked away that is quiet, has lots of shade, and is a great place to relax. We spent our pool time here and usually only 5 or 6 other people there. Perfect for reading or playing with the ipad. We did hear the rooms were getting a complete overhaul, down to the studs, in the next year or so. That said, the current accommodations were more than adequate and although not luxurious were certainly comfortable enough and nicely decorated. Even the appliances looked fairly new.
The staff was pleasant and helpful. Immediately upon check-in we were directed to the concierge for an overview of the facilities and to sign us up for the normal time share pitch. We stopped by the concierge several times during the week for suggestions, directions, and some discount cards for various restaurants We spoke to a few different people and each was vey helpful. Some of the local activity companies( hot air balloon, desert tours, etc) do short presentations a few days a week and are available afterwards for questions. We didn't do any of these but did have the hotel arrange a jeep tour for us in Sedona.....which was terrific. In any event, each person we interacted with was friendly and helpful. Even the time share presentation was very low pressure.
The location is pretty convenient to some nice shopping and restaurants. A few as close as five minutes away. It is also convenient to the route 101 loop so getting around the area is a breeze, and to Scottsdale Rd. which is the main road through town.
So in summary the resort is very nice, comfortable accommodations, and in a great location. Not sure when we'll get back to the area but would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnorC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Beautiful, quiet property in north Scottsdale. Lovely courts to barbecue meals dispersed throughout the property that consist of a large picnic table, gas grill and utensils, surrounded by beautiful desert landscaping. Very close to 101. Shops, restaurants within a few miles. Very relaxing pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property get a lot of Hayden Rd traffic noise. Ask for a room towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatieOgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback. We love the barbecues throughout the Resort - they allow you to relax while enjoying the scenery. Isn't it great to be able to "stay in" for the night? We hope you will let us host a future vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom large side and the staff was able to accomodate our request for adjoining rooms with friends for part of our week. Staff was very attentive at both front desk and poolside. Clean modern rooms and furniture. Comfortable sleeping accomodations with king beds on the premium 1 bedroom side and queens in the lockoff. This is a family friendly location, very nice grounds, well kept. Perfect location for shopping in North Scottsdale and excellent location to the 101 freeway loop to head south or west. Scottsdale is one of our favorite spring visits and this property does not dissapoint. This is not a 5 star property for service and amenities but is very suitable for family and friend stays while in the Scottsdale / Phoenix area. Early morning walks do not offer alot of variety, however there is access to office areas and single family homes, and a nice open space across the street from this property. The TPC golf course is very close and many courses in a 5 mile proximity. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms will transfer minor noise if there are guests in the room above, not significant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank extremebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of Sheraton Desert Oasis. We are happy to hear that you are comfortable here! You did pick a nice time of year to visit - perfect for morning strolls! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We rented a one bedroom for our girls weekend. The room was so clean and comfortable. The staff jumped at our every request. The pool area was large and clean, the water was warm and refreshing. Great hot tub area too. The pool staff was extremely attentive. I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have been travelling to the Sheraton Desert Oasis yearly in May. We trade through RCI. Twice we had a two bedroom and this time the large one bedroom. The locasion is great, right off the 101 so easy on and off to get to other places. Close to grocery stores, WalMart, Costco, golf and shopping.
The pool is a dream and you can spend all day just lazing around it and floating on a floatie with a drink and just relax. The jacuzzi is heaven. Or you can stay in at night and watch a movie on the DVD, take a private jacuzzi in your room. Kitchen is well equiped if you like to cook in.
It is just an enjoyable vacation destination. Staff try to have activities for every age throughout the day and special treats like root beer floats and sundaes (for a nominal fee). Great for families, friends or just your special partner.
We asked for a specific unit since it was close to the pool but also quiet and we were accommodated which was really great for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $171 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing