We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upcoming visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“upcoming visit”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We are staying at the Sheraton Desert Oasis May 8th with 2 other couples and we have 3 units reserved. I called this week to ask if we could pay the additional 30 dollars per night to have one of our three units upgraded to the larger 1 bedroom. One of our couples is actually a chef and we are celebrating a 60th birthday and we would like to be able to cook a nice meal one or two nights. The girl I spoke with Ms Jacob did not seem very receptive and just kept telling me the units were very booked near the end of our stay but then she kept saying first come first serve. When we originally booked we were told to ca
ll a few weeks ahead to put in our request. Any comments about past experience with these types of requests?

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank masonkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Greetings! We are so pleased that you chose Sheraton Desert Oasis as your destination to celebrate a 60th birthday! I was able to locate your 3 upcoming reservations based on the info you provided in your comments, and we do have the request in them for an upgrade. We also have your request to be close to the pool and I can assure you that we will do our very best to accommodate both of these requests. Unfortunately, there is no way to guarantee an upgrade until the day of arrival since our availability is always changing. Guests are always booking or cancelling reservations which causes our inventory to constantly change. For this reason, we cannot upgrade any reservations until the day of arrival. I apologize if any member of our staff was not warm and friendly in the way that they explained this to you. This is certainly not how we do business and we actually pride ourselves on our great customer service skills and high scores we consistently receive. I am so sorry to hear that we fell short in your case. There is no doubt in my mind that we will take excellent care of you and your guests on your upcoming stay. If there is anything else we can do to help prepare for your arrival besides these two things, please let us know. We want you to have the best possible stay with us so you depart with fond memories that last a lifetime! Safe travels and we will see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    320
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
322
382
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Nice villas, we had 2 villas. The one bedroom is pefect for 2. Each villa has a nice outdoor patio. When you try to get 1 teenager in and sleep on the foldout couch, it gets a tad cramped. I wasn't a fan of the semi round corner tub, shower combo. The height of the tub made it difficult to get in and out of. Rooms are equiped with everything you would need to cook a complete meal. Also including a dishwasher, vacuum and washer and dryer. The pool is really nice with waterfall, and they also have a quiet pool, that looks really relaxing. The grounds are well manicured and landscaped beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldFishinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Greetings, thank you for the great feedback on Sheraton Desert Oasis! I'm happy to say that we will be doing some redecorating in all of our villas beginning later this year, and the sleeper sofa bed is just one of the pieces that will be replaced. We know this is much needed at our resort. We are also very appreciative of the lovely comments about our pools and landscaping. We have a great landscaping team who takes excellent care of the property. We couldn’t be more happy with them. When you wish to return, please let us know so we may book you in a room with a stand up shower. Often times our guest’s find those easier to maneuver than the shower/tub combo. Once again, thank you for the comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our vacation to Scottsdale and were delighted with our accomodations at Sheridan's Desert Oasis. Interval suggested this resort since we are owners at another timeshare location in New Jersey and traded our units. The Welcome Breakfast provided wonderful presentations by area tour groups. We were able to plan our activities for the week and had awesome experiences traveling to the Grand Canyon, Sedonna, and Desert Wolf Tomcars.
Chuck, our Concierge was very friendly and always ready to provide directions and help us make reservations during our stay. In fact, the entire staff was friendly and curteous. The grounds are well maintained and the decor inside each unit is beautiful.
We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub. This is a family friendly resort and everyone respected each other's privacy. The location is perfect with respect to distance to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Although we are golfers, we didn't have time to golf this trip since we were sight seeing most days. The Splash Grill makes delicious drinks, snacks and lunches but unfortunately does not serve dinner.

Room Tip: We read reviews and I did request a corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Hello! We are so pleased to hear how wonderful your stay at Sheraton Desert Oasis went and are very grateful that you chose to share your comments on TripAdvisor! The comments about our friendly staff, activities, and Splash grill were so nice and are very much appreciated; Thank you. We can't wait to welcome you back to our resort and to sunny Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have stayed three times at this hotel complex and have enjoyed each stay. We've now just booked for Sept 2011 and are already looking forward to out stay. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Particulary useful for us travelling British is having a washer/ dryer... No dirty clothes to take home!
Staff are very friendly and helpful, pool and public areas well maintained. Happily recommend to all.
If I had to make one comment it would be to have an upper floor room. Twice previously we have been on the top floor but last year we were on the ground which due to the lush gardens the room was a little dark for me....... September will hopefully see me top floored again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Wow! What lovely comments about our Resort! Thank you so much for the kind words, and we are so happy that you have become a frequent and familiar guest of ours. If you haven’t done so already, please contact us to request a top floor unit for your upcoming stay in September. We certainly do our very best to accommodate all guests requests and more often than not, are able to. Safe travels in September and we will do our best to assign you a great top floor room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We visited the Desert Oasis with my son, his wife and their two children aged 9 and 5 in March 2011 using a timeshare exchange. We were lucky enough to have a two bedroom lockoff with the kids using the larger unit . The area was more than ample for the six of us, and it was nice to be able to close off our unit when we entertained.
The complex has aged a bit, but the furniture appeared to have been replaced recently and the appliances were new. However, the rug was stained, and could really have used a shampoo. Our unit was on the parking lot, but we were never bothered by noise from that area. However, for one night we heard a bit of thumping around from our neighbours on the second floor. The area was nicely designed with our small patios (one for the kids and one for us) overlooking green space in the common green area where the kids could watch the birds and the numerous bunnies. This was worlds nicer than a pricey timeshare unit that my sister exchanged for ten minutes away, with the balcony overlooking the street and the parking lot.
The staff was, without exception, friendly and more than helpful. There were lots of planned activities for the kids in the pool area. My husband and I also joined a walk around the grounds with our "Director of Fun", and learned a lot of interesting facts about
the local vegetation, which luckily was in almost full bloom.
Our only real complaint was that every activity offered for either kids or adults came with
a price tag, and a pretty high one at that. " Lemonade tasting" for the kids was $6.00 per child, if my memory serves me correctly; there was even a charge for Bingo cards. It was necessary to call the front desk for towels, hand soap, and dishwasher detergent, which they doled out two packages at a time. However, customer services was friendly and arrived within five minutes to deliver.
The location of the Desert Oasis was perfect...close to 101 which led directly to golf courses and other attractions. The supermarket, upscale malls and a couple of golf courses were minutes away and the airport and hockey arena and football stadium were
45 minutes to an hour away depending on the traffic, the zoo about 30 minutes.
We would certainly return to the Desert Oasis if were ever visited Phoenix again.


The pool area was crowded, which was to be expected as it was spring break. However,
there were chairs for everyone, and the pool boy made the rounds regularly and removed the inevitable towels from those not being used.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Greetings,

Thank you so much for posting feedback about your recent stay - and while we certainly do apologize for the appearance of the carpet, without feedback, we may not be able to improve.

What a wonderful opportunity to be traveling with friends and family! Thus, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your location, the staff, and the overall experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our warm and comforting community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Overall this is a nice property - the pool in very nice and the grounds are beautiful. Great for a family with the pool and a sports field and park nearby. The walls are very thin and you can hear the people in the room next door -- get an end unit. Rented though an Vacation by owner website and got a good weekly rate. Stayed in 1 bedroom premium unit and the full kitchen was great. Our first room was not in very good repair and they gladly moved us to a new room -- even though it was virtually sold out. We would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, General Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments about Sheraton Desert Oasis! We're sorry you had to move rooms in the beginning of your stay but are pleased to hear that it didn't put a damper on your stay. When you wish to return, don't hesitate to contact us so we can try and hold a desired corner unit for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

A family of 4, we stayed here for Spring Break. Grounds were lovely with lots of flowers, trees, waterfalls, ponds. The pool is gorgeous, at times crowded, but not too bad considering spring break/baseball season. The concierge staff was excellent in helping with reservations and activities. North Scottsdale location was great for us--minutes to anything you need (grocery, restaraunts, Cracker Jax amusement park, hiking pinnacle peak). The 1br premium villa is plenty of room for a family of 4, even with a roll away bed. The one caveat is that this is a time share property, meaning NO housekeeping. This started to bug me by day 4-5.We just called daily to ask for fresh towels which were
delivered promptly. The staff is probably the nicest I've seen at a resort. Overall, a great upscale place. Housekeeping and cushioned lounge chairs would make it perfect!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of Sheraton Desert Oasis! It sounds like you took full advantage of everything the resort and the local area has to offer. We appreciate your review and nice comments about our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing