We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Nearby Hotels
$182
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saguaro Scottsdale(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$240
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess(Scottsdale)
$413
$314
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
W Scottsdale(Scottsdale)
$343
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$411
$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$354
$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$577
$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,133)
Filter reviews
2,133 results
Traveler rating
899
701
330
126
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
701
330
126
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treenorth poolbreakfast buffetold towngrounds are lovelyputting greenmini barcactus gardenrooms are spaciousfashion squarenice resortbusiness centerfitness centerfree shuttlethe room was niceupon checkhousekeeping staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,904 - 1,909 of 2,133 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

the hotel itself was very beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. we would love to stay again. the one problem which was a big one-we had to eat elsewhere-the food was terrible. the worst is the main dining room.the food is not on par with the lovely accomodations. dinners were over cooked-over sauced and often different then what a person ordered.prices were high . we do not mind paying for quality food. they really are dropping the ball on this.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakville62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, Area General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I have to admit we were a bit surprised as we usually get positive reviews on our food. As I cannot tell from the review when you stayed or what specific meals and food items you had, I would appreciate if you could let us know. Although I have reviewed your feedback with my Chef and his culinary team, more details would help us better understand and address the problem. Thank you for helping us do better and for your high ratings in service, cleanliness and the rest of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed here the first weekend of April. It was a family trip for us (2 kids - 5 and 3). They loved the pool, but the recent review complaining about the pool is accurate. All the chairs were taken and they continued to run out of towels. However, we always did get lounge chairs in the end. It appeared that if you were ordering food/drinks to the pool it could take a while. Otherwise, I think this was a great value and great location (we lived in Scottsdale for 4 years). We got the deal with the $100 food/beverage credit which made it even cheaper. Be forewarned though, a dewars and water will run you $9.50 at the bar, so it was a little pricey. We did not eat there.

The room was nice, good size but the bathroom was a little small. Our room was on the first floor and walked out to a putting green with the pool in the distance. The guests at the pool around 9/10pm did get a little loud, so that could be a problem if you have a room right next to the pool. You are within jogging distance of Camelback mountain (15 min) and only a couple minute car ride to Old Town Scottsdale. Overall, a very positive experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, Area General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. As with the prior review, we have taken steps to address staffing levels and chairs at the pool. Based upon the dates of your review, it appears that you experienced the same issues as the prior reviewer on the same, very busy weekend. Despite these issues, we appreciate that you would still recommend us and plan on returning again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We don't know what the other reviewers were smoking....but this establishment is not up to snuff. It is woefully understaffed. We stayed here during the busy season and there was a scarcity of staff attending to guests both inside the main lounge-dining area and the outdoor pools. There are two pools. At only one was there any staff and they were minimally attentive because they were well outnumbered by guests. There were not enough pool chairs and we and other guests found ourselves without a place to sit even though there was plenty of room for more chairs. We were also flabergasted that with the sun and heat that there were only three umbrellas -- all of which were located at the same pool. Staff was not attentive and not responsive to requests to supplement the chair and umbrella count. Food at the one and only restaurant (for outdoor and indoor service) was mediocre or worse. Added to the above, was the typical room roulette when you check in -- making guests have to basically beg for the nicest available room. The bed was average to below average in comfort; and rooms were not as clean as you would expect for a AAA four diamond rated place. We don't believe this hotel deserves a four diamond rating. We've stayed previously at the Hyatt Gainey Ranch and the Westin Kierland where we had far superior experiences.

Our stong recommendation: think twice before you stay here....and then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel-chien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, Area General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

I and my team apologize that you were disappointed in your stay with us. I have reviewed your comments with the appropriate managers and staff so that these matters can be addressed. It is clear that during your stay, we were understaffed and did not deliver our usual levels of service in many areas. We are in the process of getting more umbrellas and lounge chairs. We had many damaged by earlier wind storms. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope we will get another opportunity to service you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Very nice hotel along N. Scottsdale Rd where a lot of the resorts are. I got the hotel through price line at a great deal.

The hotel rooms are huge, extremely high ceilings and very well decorated. Nice large bed and a Plasma.

Pool is nice a large but nothing special.

I enjoyed myself at the bar and restaurant (decided to eat outside) and the wait staff were very attentive enthusiastic to explain anything on the menu...also very reasonably priced.

The only reason I am giving it 4 stars and not 5 stars is because its outside entrance to all rooms. I arrived pretty late at night and it was sketchy walking to my hotel room, although that is the case at all of the resorts in Scottsdale.

Overall would have to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayaghoubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, Area General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

Thank you for being with us and for this positive review and your recommendation. Our primary goal is to provide fine accommodations and service at a value to our guests. We are pleased that you left feeling you received all three. Although there are limits to what we can do about our exterior entrances, we have further enhanced our lighting and offer 24 hour security. Also, for peace of mind, just let us know next time and we'll have security walk you to your room. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This was our 5th time visiting Scottsdale but our first time at this resort. Sunny weather and temperatures in the 70's made it difficult to focus on business during the 2 conference we attended. My spouse and I enjoyed a total of 4 days at this resort and the central location and easy access to the resort made it easy to visit friendsand enjoy the local shopping. The resort was busy and yet the guests seemed to be distributed evenly throughout the campus and its two nice swimming pools. The restaurants served food much better than we expected for a hotel/resort setting like this and our room was very clean and serviced promptly each day. We will definitely visit this property again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, Area General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

Thank you for being our guest and for this very positive review. Even though we can't take credit for the great weather you experienced while here, we are pleased that you also enjoyed our property, food and the service of our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews