We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“"girls trip" 2013”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

nice clean rooms, friendly staff, great location. Spent 7 days and really enjoyed our time at the resort and the amenities. The Breakfast buffet is really good with a large selection. Nice exercise equipment and our south pool attendant was great.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: get a poolside or courtyard room not on the Scottsdale rd side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaC-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you and the other "girls" for selecting our resort for this year's "girl trip" and for this very positive review of your stay. We do hope that you all will return again next year, if not sooner, to our area and to our resort. With the way winter seems to be lingering, you may all want to come back for some more fun and sun in Arizona very soon indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    641
    308
    114
    59
See reviews for
396
473
108
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got there on Sunday and stayed until Friday. The people that worked there was so nice, professional and extremely accommodating. The rooms and pool was so clean. The gentlemen that drive the courtesy fan were so very nice!!!! I would recommend for anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for spending your Spring Break with us and for this very positive review of our resort and the services provided by our staff. We do hope that you will return to our area, whether for spring break again next year or sooner, and welcome the chance to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the weekend right before Thanksgiving, the hotel was quite empty. I got the room through Hotwire and it was a good deal. The grounds are very nice, the place is huge, has some pretty pools and a playground for the kids, tennis courts, fountains, I liked the landscaping, mixing some Arizona-style gardens full of rocks and cacti with lush grass and flowers. The weird thing is that the access to the rooms is done through hallways from the parking lot. It was a bad first impression when we parked and walked up the stairs at night to that concrete and thin carpet hallway to our room, it felt really nothing like being on a resort. I didn't see an elevator close to our room either, so we had to carry our sleeping kids and luggage up the flight of stairs.

The room was huge, our view was to a huge tent where they probably have weddings and the like, I would had been happier if our room overlooked the beautiful grounds. The bathroom was smallish in comparison to the size of the room (definitely not small, but I expected it to be bigger considering). The beds were fine, we sleep well. Good size closet with safe. Desk with chair and 2 armchairs nearby, dresser with TV, a wet bar type sink with a mini-fridge under it. There was a veranda that we didn't use. Parking was free. We had breakfast there one day, good selection and service, the kids liked the activity sheet and crayons they got when we sat down, but the food was average.

It's an OK place to stay, it didn't really stand out. Considering how many nicer resorts there are in Scottsdale, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lawns, in the center of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort and for this feedback on your stay. I apologize that you did not get the room location and view that you preferred and that there was not better directions and assistance to your room and to the elevator nearby. As you mentioned that your visit was back in November and the resort appeared slow, we should have taken this opportunity to provide you a room that met your preferences and maintained your loyalty and intent to return. I do hope that you and your family will give us another opportunity in the future to earn those back with a room, as you recommend to others, that is "overlooking the lawns in the center of the property."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this property in March. My company had meetings scheduled for 3 days and I called in February to get an extra night as I was going to come in early as I was flying in from the East coast. They gave me the same corporate rate for the extra night.
The "resort" is pretty big, I was lucky to get a room near the front desk, but some people in my group had rooms pretty far away.
The room was pretty big and the beds were standard (very good) Hilton beds. The room had a misty smell upon arrival, but wasn't an issue during the stay. I heard they had some smoking rooms, glad I didn't get one of those.
The "resort" is a good property for families or people in town for spring training / golf trips.
Pool seemed nice, didn't spend any time in it :-(.
We had some meetings on property, meeting rooms were pretty standard. Breakfast / snacks / lunch were good and on time.
I thought the bar could have had a better set up, didn't seem to be enough seating, but the service was very good.
Overall impressed with the property as it was reasonable priced, has good location and service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for being with us and for this positive review and recommendation of our resort and the services provided by our staff, whether for guests on business or pleasure. We appreciate this opportunity to be of service to your group and to you individually and hope that we have earned the future business of both. After all, you should come back so that you can enjoy our resort, pools and services that you were unable to take advantage of this trip. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived close to midnight, and called ahead to ensure our room would be available, we were told it was ready for us. To our surprise, it was available when we arrived, but the hotel went above and beyond to compensate us for the inconvenience. We stayed at a different hotel that first night, but when we returned to the Doubletree for the remainder of our stay, we were treated exceptionally well and enjoyed our stay immensely. The pools and fountain were spectacular. Our three boys loved playing basketball on the sport court, and spent as much time as possible in the pool. They played some catch in the courtyard and were never at a loss for things to do on the beautiful grounds. The room was spacious, room for all 5 of us with a rollaway. Only thing that would make it better is to have a mini-fridge available, and a microwave. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsfamily303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for being with us and for this "wonderful" review of our resort and the services provided by our staff. I apologize that due to unexpected stay overs that we had to relocate you to another hotel your first night but we do make a special effort to ensure that when you return that we made amends for the inconvenience. We are so glad that the rest of your time with us went so well and we look forward to being of service to you and your family again when you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a very unique hotel, feels like your staying in a castle with all the masonry walls. Easy check in, even though I did notice a little attitude from the front desk woman. Decent food and looked like they were going to have some live music.
Excellent room; no popcorn sprayed ceilings here. Very quite unless your near the pool during the day.
I checked out the gym and is top notch, also has basket ball courts and tennis court.. The putting green is a joke, nice but kind of furry, need the correct mower.
Location is wonderful, close to Old Town and everything else.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnum9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort and for this positive review and ratings on your stay. I apologize and will follow up on any attitude at the front desk as well as the fuzzy putting green. I am glad that this did not lessen your enjoyment and overall satisfaction of our resort and the services provided by our staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just wanted to drop you a quick note regarding our recent stay at the Double Tree in Scottsdale. I have a general philosophy regarding a business and customer service, and it is this… the sign of a well-run operation is not so much how things run when everything goes well, but more how issues are taken care of when they don’t.

Our stay with you started on a sour note. After traveling across country all day we arrived at the front desk about 10:30 PM only to be told there was not a room available for us. Without going into a tremendous amount of detail about the inconvenience and stress this put on my wife and I- I will simply say that your team stepped up to the plate and simply did a wonderful job taking care of a not so wonderful situation. To my opening remark regarding my philosophy – you can be, and should be, very proud of your team.

Except for the opening night snafu – our stay with you was exceptional. Everyone on your staff was polite, professional and attentive – giving specific shoutouts to, Jennifer and Matt at the front desk, Michael the bar tender at the ‘2nd pool’ all the valet staff and Kathan in the restaurant… when we are back in the area will most definitely consider staying with you again.

Thanks again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort and for this very positive review of your stay at our resorts. I apologize for the surprise and inconvenience with which we began your visit but am so very glad staff was able to react, respond and make up for the initial issue. I will pass on the compliments you provided to those specific team members that made the difference as well as the whole team for the philosophy insight provided. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service, hopefully again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
3.5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
1.1 mi away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Address: 5401 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85250-7013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#30 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#31 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only minutes from downtown Scottsdale, Arizona and twelve miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, the DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley – Scottsdale offers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay, in tranquil surroundings. Relax and recharge in our beautifully landscaped property, surrounded by lavish courtyards, cactus and tropical palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Doubletree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing