We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and real nice suite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location and real nice suite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed her for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. I was a little hesitant or worried about some other post about the noise. I asked for a quiet room and got it with no problems. This place is laid out like a apartment complex with building all over. I really think there are only 1 or 2 buildings that could have a noise problem and if you ask about it at check in they will most likely be able to help you.
Our suite was very clean and seemed new. All the furniture was clean and updated and enjoyed the full-size refrigerator and microwave. There was also a full-size stove that we did not use. There was a breakfast buffet every morning we were there and we only ate it once, it was not overly impressive but it was good enough to give us some fuel to get the day started.
Very close to Old-Town, maybe 6 blocks, we did not walk it but you could if you wanted to. There was not a lot right around the hotel but within a couple of blocks there is plenty.
Please note their name is now Hyatt House, our reservation was for Summerfield Suites nut it is now Hyatt House.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3and4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    149
    34
    20
    14
See reviews for
136
118
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This location is great for walking to other areas. Old Scottsdale is better to walk around than drive a few blocks, try to find a parking spot, etc. Free breakfast has nice variety each day, with some staples as well. Only issue there is food while not 'cold' was only lukewarm, if they can remedy keeping food hotter, it would have been better. Staff is excellent, facility is like having an apartment. Bed was great, though there was a 'musty' smell which I couldn't pinpoint. Biggest regret is the 'drunks', especially our last night (before we had to catch a flight the next morning). That's rude on the patrons' part to be loudly talking at 330 am outside. I was going to call to the desk, but about that time they went in and SLAMMED their door. Don't really fault the hotel for this, though I do think they could put some more effort towards security walking about, especially on weekends. All in all a pleasant 5 days. We were there Feb1-5, didn't know about the Phoenix open but it wasn't a problem. Wish we'd have waited until following week for Arabian Show and 100th anniv. of AZ.

Room Tip: If you go (and if you're in the area you should), you may ask for a suite more toward the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about your stay. We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit as well as your room. We recently renovated our property and are very proud of our new look and amenities. I have passed on your comments about the temperature of the breakfast to our manager that is in charge of breakfast. We are sorry to hear about your last night with us. I have passed those comments along to security as well because we strive to make your stay as peaceful as possible. Thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

stayed on the weekend which is cheaper and it was excellent. had 2 separate bedrooms with a kitchenette and very comfortable sleeping arrangements. the breakfast was fair and not always hot but overall an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenmccloskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great location. Suites are newly remodeled. Great beds but pillows too soft.
Free breakfast was nice every morning. A little loud on the weekends with party crowd but really a great place to stay.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

On the positive side:
We stayed here four nights while attending a conference. It’s a nice place that we definitely recommend. Summerfield Suites is within easy walking distance of the older part of downtown Scottsdale and the Scottsdale Civic Center. Buildings are two storeys, with rooms that open out onto exterior walkways, and all rooms open onto landscaped interior spaces rather than onto the surrounding parking areas. New room designs and furnishings from a recent upgrade to the property are very attractive, with angled walls and counters, granite counter tops in the kitchen and contemporary furnishings and light fixtures. The shower is great--a large stone-tiled walk-in with sliding glass doors and a shower nozzle over six feet high, much appreciated by us tall people. Too bad there aren’t two shower heads, because the shower is more than big enough for two. The living room with a computer work area measured 12 x 16 ft., and the bedroom with king bed had plenty of room at 11 x 14 ft. Large windows in the living room that extend almost to the floor allow plenty of natural light. Full-size appliances in the kitchen were brand new. Internet connectivity was easy, strong and reliable, and the cost of wi-fi is included in the room rate. Service at the front desk was friendly and competent. The breakfast buffet was good and included a variety of hot and cold dishes, including nutritional options. We swam in the pool, which is a decent size. The pool is well kept and located in an attractively landscaped interior courtyard area. The fitness center has a few exercise machines and a set of free weights and was adequate for a decent workout.

On the negative side:
While traffic in the area is normally not heavy, on Friday and Saturday nights there is increased activity around the hotel, apparently due to the proximity of popular night clubs. On those two nights Summerfield Suites hires a uniformed security person to control access to the hotel’s parking areas. It is necessary to stop at the entrance to the hotel driveway and give the security attendant your room number before being allowed to enter and park. I suppose this is to keep the parking lot from being filled up by nightclub guests. We did not find this to be a significant bother, but we were a little surprised on the third day of our stay to find a security vehicle blocking the driveway one evening. Also, we noticed that on Friday and Saturday there was increased foot traffic through the hotel complex. We noticed several small groups of people wandering past our first-floor room who seemed to be just passing through the complex as pedestrians, presumably on their way to the nightclubs. I suppose the security guard at the front entrance is only able to control vehicular traffic. Fortunately the passers-through were not rowdy, and overall this posed little inconvenience.

One minor annoyance has to do with the toiletries that are provided, in particular the “white ginger” shampoo. We both found it to have a distinctly unpleasant odor. In fact it was bad enough that I went out and bought a bottle of shampoo at a drug store so we wouldn’t have to use what the hotel provided.

Notes on the area: There is a Fry’s Supermarket less than a mile from the hotel, which is handy for stocking up the kitchen, and it has a decent selection of beer s and wines. We walked through nearby Old Town Scottsdale on a weekday looking for a place to have lunch. It’s charming in its own way and worth a visit, but there were surprisingly few people there. In fact the place was more or less dead. The recession appears to have hit the Phoenix area hard. Numerous businesses have closed. However, there are some interesting boutiques and specialty shops that make it worth a stroll. The restaurants we ran across in the area were not great. In fact, the lunch we finally settled on was very disappointing, and after that we drove elsewhere in Phoenix to eat out.

Room Tip: Second storey rooms may provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenmere7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at this Hyatt before it was remodeled and was not impressed. Stayed this weekend and was impressed with the work that was done. It is located in downtown Scottsdale, so it can get loud but I like the location because it is walking distance to a good variety of clubs, bars, and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stbunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed here when I had to make a reservation on short notice and my first choice for an Old Town business hotel was booked. Next time I'll know to go somewhere else if my first choice is booked up, even if it involves a bit of a drive to Old Town.

It's more of a motel than a hotel - all external pathways and staircases, no elevators. There are no safes in any of the rooms. The rooms I had were 2br/2ba - a decent amount of space, but divided into a lot of small rooms with impossible-to-find light switches. The good news was that they had been very recently renovated. The bad news was that there was a very strong new carpet smell. There was no hairdryer, but housekeeping delivered one after several minutes. The bed was decently comfortable, and the shower was fine.

Now, about that nightclub. Apparently Scottsdale has a thriving nightlife scene. I was blissfully unaware of this, having previously stayed midweek for work at a different hotel just two short blocks away. On this trip, I was here on a Tuesday night. When I got back to my room after dinner, I could hear music. And it just got worse. We're not talking about an occasional bass thump - we're talking about sing-along-in-your-room-with-Kesha. At about 11:45 (1:45 a.m. my time), jetlagged and exhausted, I called the front desk to see what was going on. The very nice front desk clerk said that there was a club close by, and that the music normally quieted down by midnight. At about 12:25 a.m., (the club was playing some 80s/90's techno remixes) I called the front desk again. The front desk rep said that he had to deal with this every night, that the hotel has taken the club to court about the problem, that they're supposed to work with the club about it, and that he would call the club again. I asked if I should just call the police with a noise complaint, and he said he would do so. At about 12:50 a.m., when the club had moved on to blasting Britney Spears - keep in mind that this is on a Tuesday - I finally called the non-emergency Scottsdale police line. Within 10 minutes the noise was at a reasonable level.

The reason this is a 2 star instead of a 1 star review is I stayed here for two nights and the front desk staff was able to move me to a room at the other side of the property. It was much quieter. The front desk offered that the next time I stayed there, I should "ask for a quiet room" and they would see what they could do to put me on the quiet side. Thanks, but I don't think there will be a next time.

Room Tip: The Scottsdale non-emergency police line to report a noise complaint is 480-312-5000.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#36 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town

Property: HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Address: 4245 N Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting new renovations of our guestrooms and public spaces. HYATT house™ Scottsdale/Old Town welcomes you with comfortable, spacious one- and two-bedroom suites featuring updated contemporary finishes and furnishings. You’ll also find our revamped open public space ideal for unwinding by yourself or connecting with friends and associates. Situated in the expansive Sonoran Desert, our Scottsdale, AZ hotel is convenient to Old Town where you’ll discover a wealth of dining, shopping, and nightlife opportunities. We’re also within close proximity of championship golf courses and Arizona State University as well as attractions like the Phoenix Zoo and Desert Botanical Garden. For more information regarding things to do, please visit our Activities page.During your stay at our friendly Old Town hotel, you’ll enjoy a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home. Our knowledgeable, personable front desk hosts are available 24/7 to assist with your requests. In addition, the hotel’s H BAR is open every day from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m., offering our new Sip+Savor Menu with home-cooked comforts. Savor gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new appetizers like the Tomato Mozzy Bread, and a fine selection of beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Scottsdale/Old Town Hotel Scottsdale
Hyatt Scottsdale Old Town
Summerfield Suites Scottsdale
Scottsdale Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing