We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to Play The Phoenician”

Phoenician Resort Courses
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Sonoran complex offers three distinct nine-hole courses with equally divergent terrains: the Oasis, Desert and Canyon.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasure to Play The Phoenician”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice golf courses for non-pro level players. Open but interesting since numerous holes climb Camelback mountain. Courses are extremely well-kept. If you stay out of the traps you are always hitting off of a soft carpet of grass. Love to play there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Golf at Phoenician Resort Courses, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We agree that hitting from the fairway is much better than the sand. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round and hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nostalgic vibes, challenging holes”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

An established Troon desert facility tucked into Camelback foothills, with greens in good shape, vibrant flowers, incredible views and pleasant service. We played this course on a busy day but the pace moved along without delay. Practice putting greens and range. 3 nines for 27 holes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at Phoenician Resort Courses, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for joining us for a round of golf in February. We appreciate your business. We do agree that there are beautiful flowers and great scenery throughout the course. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Average overall”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My first time here years ago I was impressed but now the course has lost out to the newer and better golf courses in the area. It runs oddly at some points of the round through the middle of the resort. Some holes appear to be an afterthought. When I sit back and look at the entire course it appears to me that they built this fantastic resort and all its beautiful architecture and then someone noticed that they forgot the golf course.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Golf at Phoenician Resort Courses, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for joining us and reviewing our course. There is no question that courses built within the past few years have benefited from vast areas of undeveloped land that have been used to create unique layouts. The Phoenician does have its own unique characteristics that we are proud of, which include Camelback Mountain as a backdrop, tee boxes that have panoramic views of the city, and three unique nine-hole courses. Thank you again for playing with us, we hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful course”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful sunny Arizona day playing golf on this course. Golf staff was helpful and friendly. Course was very scenic with cactus, desert, and mountain views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great resort course”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This 27 hole layout is quite good for a resort course, it used to be a private club 30 + years ago, and altho they have changed the layout somewhat, it is very fun, and always in good shape. As a local, I still try to play it a couple of times a year, in the summer when rates are less expensive. If they had a deal for locals year round, I would play it more often, very fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at Phoenician Resort Courses, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review The Phoenician Golf Club. The club that was previously here was “The Valley Club.” The only thing that we have left is a routing map and the occasional guest that can describe the unique holes against Camelback Mountain. We pride ourselves on keeping the course in the best playing condition that Mother Nature can help us provide. Thank you for joining us, we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenician Resort Courses also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenician Resort Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing