We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant. . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citizen Public House

Citizen Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Citizen Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Craftsman Ct. & 5th Avenue
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant. . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I visited last night for dinner and enjoyed the overall experience. We found the same chopped salad we love on the menu at Cowboy Ciao and learned that Citizen Public House is the chef's next venture after spending some time at Cowboy Ciao. The vibes of the two restaurants are totally different. . . Citizen Public House is a little more upscale, takes itself a little more seriously than Cowboy Ciao. The food was wonderful. . . the service was excellent. It feels like more of a "seen and be seen" place than Cowboy Ciao; however, I didn't feel pressure to be dressed to the nines. . .there were beautiful women in LBD's and guys in golf shorts. If you're looking for a cool, hip place for dinner, Citizen Public House may be your place.

Of the two, we prefer the quirky vibe of Cowboy Ciao, but both are excellent options that will not disappoint.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    152
    41
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
588 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dinner at Citizen Public House. My starter of Piggy and Waffle was really good, as was my main of roast buttermilk chicken. My partner described their starter of crab cakes followed by the scallops as outstanding! Always loco forward to eating here when we are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Scottsdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Such an awesome restaurant. Service was unbelievable, very friendly and precise waitstaff.

Great mixology.

And the food is unreal.

Best meal of our 7 day trip from Vegas / Scottsdale. Paid way more for way less enjoyable meals elsewhere.

Will be back every time I am in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Our Scottsdale Favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Average food with not a lot of flavor... And service definitely lacking in attention to details. Under poured wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandiHuntPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I ate here last week with a large group. The entrees and desserts were delicious, they all came out on time and the service was wonderful! From the moment we entered the establishment we were greeted by everyone. But the one thing I wanted to mention is the bartender! He was knowledgeable about the beers and other drinks. You could tell he loved his job and took such great pride in it! Thanks CPH for a memorable night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KCIGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Public House also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Citizen Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing