We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food we had in a week in Arizona” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citizen Public House

Citizen Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Citizen Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,240 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Craftsman Ct. & 5th Avenue
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst food we had in a week in Arizona”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a disappointment. The famous chopped salad arrived and appeared it was pre-plated and previously wrapped in Saran wrap. The whole dish was gummy. I don't understand why anyone with teeth would like it. The lamb burger was ordered medium. It was charred on the outside and cold in the inside. The Kennebec French fries were hard and dry in texture. They were then powdered by something. They were terrible. The service wasn't much better than the food. Don't bother ordering an expensive premium vodka as they will just use their cheap shelf triple sec when making your drink. The management appears to allow their bartenders to play with their cell phones while working. We ate in about ten different restaurants both expensive and cheap during a week in Aizona, and fortunately the Citizen Public House was our only bad experience. I would recommend you skip this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nucleoplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    152
    41
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PORK BELLY PASTRAMI + COCKTAILS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Get the scallops, the pork belly pastrami, and as many different cocktails as you are able to. Truly one of the best drink menus in the country, as innovative and unique as it is classic and classy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank brianreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fine, but family will not be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent service on a slow night. The restaurant was quite loud on a slow night. I cannot imagine the noise in the winter.

The reviews by foodies saying it is OK were spot on. The corn chowder and duck were excellent. All the other dishes were fine, but not outstanding. The meatloaf was good enough to take home for lunch, but not good enough for a second visit. Kale caesar was fine, but everyone agreed that it tastes better when done with romaine. We were warned the popcorn is not firm for the bacon popcorn. The waiter was right. It was almost chewy. Ask about the ingredients in the chop salad. My sister liked it, but it was quite small.

Our family had teens to seniors at the table that night and no one is in a hurry to return. Food was a 3 and service was a 5. That is how I arrived at 4, but much closer to 3 than 5.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinBuildsWireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Food and drinks were amazing. Great atmosphere as well. Can't wait to return.

The barrel aged cocktails were a favorite, as were the short ribs. Best time to visit is during the "Social Hour" when all drinks are discounted and so are small bar bites.

The only very minor disappointment was the dessert, but that would not keep me from returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unique food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

tried it as liked the chef .. very good food very different tastes and not large portions. Hard to find this spot as the address is not exactly what it says.. call ahead to find the right location.. seems to be a busy spot.. get the cob salad..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kolby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Public House also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Citizen Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing