We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Spain in Old Scottsdale on a warm November night”
Review of Tapas Papa Frita

Tapas Papa Frita
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Papa Frita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 1,268 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Scottsdale Rd & Camelback
Transit: Scottsdale Trolley.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit of Spain in Old Scottsdale on a warm November night”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well, I've never been to Spain, but I like paella and I really liked our meal outside above the waterway. We walked through the local shops and vendors enjoying the warm evening as we toured Old Scottsdale. When we arrived at Papas, they were just beginning to set up for music and a flamingo dancer. Our table was outside under a tree, near the waterway and we enjoyed our dinner under a clear sky with a quarter moon and probably around 70 degrees. Our friends enjoyed a good Spanish wine while we had a tanguray tonic and a lemon drop. We had Tapas Beef and Lamb for appetizers then enjoyed the main course of seafood, chicken and sausage Paella. My cocktail was $8, and the food prices were also very reasonable. The chef who I think was also the owner came out to talk with us, and the conversation was lively and fun. Looking for a fun evening, a good meal and something different, you will enjoy Papas!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    25
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Patio for a Fall Evening”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

On a Friday night, the whole Waterway area is alive and beautiful with lit trees and dressed up people, and the Spanish restaurant was a great place to sit on the lovely patio and watch it all go by. The patio is dripping with olive trees, stone columns, and Spanish flavor. We started with a red bean soup, and an orange salad, both nice. Then came the tasting plate of six tapas, unfortunately not the highlight of the evening. The shrimp in garlic was good and served hot, but the rest of the meats were low quality cuts that just didn't cook up tender (just like in Madrid) , so I guess that makes it pretty authentic! The flan was not very sweet, so authentic as well. But, the view is so pretty you will not notice what you are eating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Criti-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Finally made it to this quant and rustic Spanish restaurant along the Scottsdale Waterway. The old world brick ambience is so inviting. Although we initially sat inside, the volume of the band bouncing off the brick walls was so loud, that we could hardly hear one another. Our server saw our struggles and quickly moved us to a lovely quite outside table under a white light covered olive tree. Beautiful! The service received from the Host to the Manager was top notch...friendly and attentive!

As for the food, I was most impressed by the large menu contained "authentic" spanish dishes rarely seen on US menus. Our favorites were the Rabbit stew, blood sausage, Bacalao, fried silver fish, crab stuffed peppers with a saffron sauce and paella. The wine list is large with a wide range of prices and varietals. I would definitely recommend this find in Scottsdale.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Spanish Food Outside Spain”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having lived in Spain for a few years, I often crave Spanish food. Being a Scottsdale resident, I can definitely say we are lucky to have Tapas Papa Frita in town. They have quality, authentic Spanish food, with just the right twist to satisfy American tastebuds. The tapas selection is diverse, covering all the typical ones you would find in Spain and you will consistently find it cooked to perfection! And the atmosphere is really cool, with Moorish arches that remind you of the Alcazar of Cordoba'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtoronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Keep looking”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We truly love the location and decor, and we typically like Tapas. I would try a different restaurant. Our server was friendly, however, he had some bad habits like open-mouth gum chewing that made for an unappetizing start to our dinner. We ordered many different plates, and out of a total of at least 12-15 different options, I would call one of them good. The rest were average at best. Many tasted greasy or oily. We have anticipated trying this restaurant for a long time, unfortunately, we were so disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Papa Frita also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tapas Papa Frita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing