We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tour!!”

Green Zebra Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.50*
and up
Desert Off Road Tours in Scottsdale
Ranked #17 of 51 Tours in Scottsdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Green Zebra Adventures offers the most exciting way to explore Arizona's desert. We offer a safe and exhilarating off road tour featuring the cutting edge Tomcar. As soon as guests get strapped in, they are ready to drive their own specially designed, military grade off road vehicle with ease. With twists and turns, uphill ascents / downhill descents, and rocky paths along the way, guests will experience a truly unforgettable adventure. The fun does not end there! A knowledgeable local guide leads the way throughout the tour, providing interesting commentary on area geography, history, nature, and more. If that's not enough, get the chance to sneak a peak at wild horses and bald eagles, all while earning your stripes!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing tour!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

such a fun experience going through the dirt and rocks on these dune buggies great tour guide and overall an amazing experience!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    15
    5
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother/Son Bonding!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you are searching for outdoor adventures for teenagers, I highly recommend a Tomcar expedition with Green Zebra. My teenage son did the driving and I did the hanging on! Our guide was knowledgable and we stopped 3 or 4 times to see wild mustangs and hear about the flora and the area. Just time it right so that you are able to take a shower after you are delivered back to your hotel!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4guysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations !”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It started out with our guide Mike picking us up at our hotel on time and pleasant. After picking up other guests we arrived at our cars and received our bandanas which at first we thought was a nice touch. Little did we know not only how western they looked but how totally helpful they were in not breathing in the desert dust. We thought the whole ride just kept getting better and better until all hell broke loose at the end and we were roller coasting up and down these big desert doones.We will say that this is a must do adventure when in Scottsdale. One of the highlights of our trip and Highly recommend it !!!!. R& L -Boston MA.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank riklin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Show”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked ahead of time but they never showed up, they slept in. When we finally did got hold of them, Green Zebra told us we could book for another day.... we decided to try another company.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoGreenZebra, Manager at Green Zebra Adventures, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Chris M.,

I truly apologize for your disappointing experience. Please know that what you experienced is an extremely rare occurrence and that our guides are always punctual. We pride ourselves on providing unforgettable memories for all of our guests on a regular basis. I understand that you booked ahead of time, as we do require reservations for our tour, and I thank you for that. Unfortunately, there was a miscommunication regarding which JW Marriott hotel you and your family were staying in and our guide was waiting for forty-five minutes at the JW Marriott Camelback Inn, even though we had other guests waiting to be picked up at other hotels. Our guide normally calls the cell phone number on the schedule for the day, which was not provided. It was not until the concierge from the JW Marriott Desert Ridge called us an hour and fifteen minutes later that we found out what had happened. At that point, we offered the choice of taking you and your family on the tour a little later that day or on the next day. Because neither option worked for you and your family, we could only extend another apology for the miscommunication. Also, we did not adhere to our standard cancellation policy in this case and, therefore, you did not have any financial liability for the scheduled tour.

Thank you for your feedback. If you are ever able to give us another try, please know that your Green Zebra Adventures tour taking place on our unique and beautiful Fort McDowell Indian Reservation trail will be free of charge for you and your two other family members.

Sincerely,
Michelle Spokojny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“try desert dog”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Looking for adventure, this IS NOT IT. boring flat trip on an indian reservation. I like to get dirty and dusty if you are having fun but not getting bored stupid. Supposed to be 2 to 3 hrs and it is if you count stopping contuinally to fill in time. Decided to have one more go with a company called Desert Dog about 10 minutes from this place, it was awesome, true desert terrain through creeks, climbing ridgelines, big washes , a true desert experince.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoGreenZebra, Manager at Green Zebra Adventures, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Bruce M.,

I apologize that you did not have the adventure you were seeking on our tour. Our tour is specially tailored toward all types of guests ranging from individuals and couples to families with children. Therefore, we provide an experience that is neither too relaxed nor extreme and that combines scenery with adventure equally. The scenic aspect combines all the beauty of Saguaro cacti, mountains, rivers, and wildlife with the bonus of our well-versed guides educating guests on the geography and history behind the vast exquisiteness, which does require stopping in order to fully embrace the experience. The adventure aspect combines indigenous desert terrain that is rocky, not flat, and features steep up / down hill ascents / descents as well as sharp turns, which caters to the more daring guest.

Please know that we take all feedback into consideration to continuously improve our tour. Thank you! Please also keep in mind that we have just won the award for Best of Scottsdale 2012 in the tours category because of our endless efforts to make our tour not only enjoyable and fun for anyone, but also because of guests like you who provide us with constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Zebra Adventures also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Green Zebra Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing