We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food, real mexican”
Review of La Hacienda

La Hacienda
Reserve with OpenTable
La Hacienda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Scottsdale
Cross street: Scottsdale Rd. and Princess Dr.
Description: Uncover Scottsdale's top rated Mexican restaurant experience at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess, La Hacienda by Richard Sandoval, and indulge in a delectable paradise of fresh, Modern Mexican cuisine. Richard Sandoval brings the vibrant flavors and ingredients of Mexico into the culinary spotlight, combining the bold taste of classic Mexican cuisine with timeless European cooking techniques. This lighter, ingredient-driven approach showcases a bold new taste for La Hacienda, which offers guests an upscale, sophisticated dining atmosphere for the modern day, while still cherishing the traditions of the past. This much-loved Scottsdale Mexican dining spot has re-opened to bring guests a refreshing new take on authentic Southwestern dining in the heart of Scottsdale. Come see what we mean by "Old Ways, New Hands" as you savor classic Mexican recipes in enticing new ways, featuring fresh, indigenous ingredients, lighter dishes and unexpected pairings of traditional foods. Dine amid warm, Spanish architecture, wood-beamed ceilings, flagstone and beehive fireplaces, all accented by modern urban touches, new upholstery, lighting fixtures and a brand new main entrance showcasing the new tequila bar. Guests may enjoy light table fare in the entry patio with its four fire pits, or reserve the private patio or interior semi-private rooms for special occasions.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrific food, real mexican”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The chips and salsa is outstanding. They bring out a bowl of chips with three salsas that are flavorful and great taste.
The tacos are not what you expect, but don't worry, they are great.
Had the Smash frozen drink. Watch out, they are super good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    129
    60
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Amy (our server) was spot on with her recommendations. We enjoyed the Queso Fundido (warning - very filling, as Amy warned us). Tortillas are homemade and wonderful. I had the lobster tacos which were wonderfully different and my husband had the crab enchiladas, which he enjoyed. The atmosphere is wonderful and we really enjoyed the little room where our table was. Only suggestion I would make is to turn your table so you aren't so far apart from each other. This was the highlight of our stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maybe it was just the holiday....”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My big disclaimer here is that I went with a group of 6 on the 4th of July. Maybe they aren't used to the crowds, but I was frankly shocked at the service. Let me also say that I am no stranger to slow service. I've lived in Paris (capital of slow service) and eaten all over Europe, and this was the worst I've ever seen. I was so frustrated.

We had a nice table in the back corner for our group of 4 adults and 2 kids. Received our menu's right away and filled our glasses with water. That is where the fun stopped.
First we ordered a bottle of water for the kids. They brought 2 bottles of water so we sent one back. (they are huge, and it was just for the kids). Of course 2 bottles showed up on our bill. Along with the water, we ordered the chips and salsa trio.
The waiter then disappeared for literally 20 minutes. When he finally returned we asked him where our chips and salsa were. He said he would get them himself. Another 10 minutes passed on someone else brought them out. The salsa trio feeds about 2 people, so we had to order more.

We were eating fairly light as we wanted to get out in time to see the fireworks. (Reservation at 6pm, fireworks at 9pm).
Margaritas came and they tasted good but had practically no tequila in them. We inquired about this to our server and he said he would bring us a shot of tequila each to put in it. Sounded good, and the margaritas finally tasted right. To our shock, there was a charge on our bill for $22 for 2 shots. So our margaritas were $25 each!

A couple of us ordered the tacos trio, and they were excellent. Very small for $15, but tasted great. The kids ordered off of the kids menu, and the ladies ordered some quesadillas. My wife is a vegetarian so asked if they could make her a cheese quesadilla. Let's just say a flour tortilla with gobs of melted cheese in it is not worth $14. I was appalled that they charged her that much for it. Granted, we are in an expensive restaurant, but come on.

Food came out about 45 minutes after we ordered it, so we finished our main courses around 1:45 in to the meal. We then ordered dessert. The bread pudding was good, the fried ice cream was awful. Never had a soggy fried ice cream in my life. Unfortunately we had to send it back. Even the server agreed that it did not look right. The kids ordered gelato and it came out as practically a soup because it had melted. We had to send that back too, and they brought a nice cold scoop. We also were not given spoons with any of our desserts, and I had to get up and ask somebody.

The last adventure was chasing down the server for our bill. Had to ask 3 separate people and they finally brought it out. All said and done, we dropped $180 for 2 margaritas, chips and salsa, 2 orders of tacos, 2 quesadillas, a salad, a bread pudding, and scoop of gelato. We could have eaten at the 4 seasons for that.
Oh and we had to run to the fireworks because dinner took 2hrs 30m.

Hope this was not the norm because of the holiday as the reviews seem good on here. Frustrating night for what I hoped would be a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the money”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped in because it was close and had good reviews, hard to find and get to if your not a guest at the hotel but food was top notch and service was as well. Small portions and expensive but if your going on a date or just want to taste something fantastic was worth the price. Service was great and Will our waiter was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepdivereh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great guacamole and great margaritas! Try the Pina Diablo. Good mix between cantina and great food. Lovely service and a great feel to the place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuglove83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing