We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai in Scottsdale”

Takeda Thai By Moulay
Reserve with OpenTable
Takeda Thai By Moulay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Scottsdale & Shea
Description: At Takeda Thai, a fine dining and full bar restaurant, we pride ourselves in bringing you the finest quality of Thai cuisine. We only use authentic Thai herbs and spices with no flavor enhancers. We place great importance in each step of preparing each Thai dish:from selecting knowledgeable Thai chefs who can prepare and season food to Takeda Thai’s standards to hand-picking the freshest and highest quality Thai ingredients. No matter what you order, you can be certain that each dish is prepared just for you.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Great Thai in Scottsdale”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We came to this restaurant with 7 adults and one baby. I had called ahead and they welcomed us with a long table and a baby chair. The food was delicious, well presented, and well spiced. The staff was very helpful and attentive and the owner friendly and generous. We will put this on the list again for our next trip to Scottsdale.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatR995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    28
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Read about Takeda on this site and went for dinner here tonight. Cocktails were generous, service great and food was the best Thai I've had in a while. Moulay the chef/ owner was great. This is a local gem; don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JN_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Culinary delight”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am a foodie who knows how to cook and only dines at the best restaurants. This last Christmas I went to Bangkok to polish my Thai skills at the famous Blue Elephant Culinary School. The food was fantastic, but the food at Takeda Thai is superior. The flavors are amazing and tantalizing. I asked the owners how they achieve so much aroma in their food. Perhaps, it's because they actually use home grown Kaffir leaves and cilantro. The interior decor is a fusion of Moroccan and Thai which adds an element of romance to the experience. If you are looking for a culinary delight to satisfy your palate, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went to Takeda Thai because of the good revieuws on TA. The restaurant is nice but when we were seated we had to ask for another table because it was so dark that we couldn't read the menu. We ordered a drink and it tasted so bad that we just left it on the table after one sip.
We ordered lettuce wraps and dumplings. The lettuce wraps had little taste and the dumplings were limp and tasteless. For entree we had spicy calamari with rice which was good and roasted duck with pineapple. This was a real diaster. It was a small portion, more pineapple than duck
and there were several pieces of bones in the dish. We had two glasses of wine with our meal and paid $ 120 which was way to expensive for what we got.
We also got a bit annoyed by the owner who came several times to our table to explain about his family and the fact that he really isn't a chef but an engineer.(We agree)
And yes we have been several times to Thailand and had nice food in restaurants and street food as well. So we know what Thai food should look and taste like.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgium9971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
“The Thai Standard Is Set”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I love Thai food and have been eating at Thai Restaurants for close to 30 years. We are ever on the hunt for the best Thai food experience and on the recommendation of a friend, tried Takeda Thai. We were stunned by the incredible food offered in this small, out of the way location. Remarkable that it is a mere 5 mile drive from our house and we had not found it before. The owner and chef, Moulay and his lovely wife Sara are the perfect hosts and even on our first visit made us feel like we were like honored guests. On our second visit we were nearly the last customers, We struck up a conversation and left feeling that we had made new friends. It is readily apparent that Moulay supervises the preparation of the food with love and exacting care. The ingredients are incredibly fresh and flavorful and perfectly combined. Without a doubt, the best Thai food we have experienced, ever!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takeda Thai By Moulay also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Takeda Thai By Moulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing