We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise. Beautiful hotel, great staff and extremely clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sundial
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise. Beautiful hotel, great staff and extremely clean”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I love the look of this hotel. Modern but very comfortable. Quiet area, great beds.
Sergio at the front desk was most accomodating and very friendly. Breakfast hostess was truly friendly and helpful.
Amazing that this quiet hotel is only one block from Scottsdale's Fashion Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    156
    52
    19
    13
See reviews for
119
223
54
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Best Western SUNDIAL is a wonderful oasis in the desert. Perfectly situated, it is right on Camelback Road, just east of Scottsdale Fashion Square. The rooms are large, clean and reasonably priced. Jude Nau and his staff provide wonderful service. My group had a great stay.

Room Tip: Request a jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMCITravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel has a very friendly staff, rooms a very confortable and the pool is good!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nilsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Located one block from intersection of Camelback and Scottsdale, this is definitely "not your father's Best Western." Nicely updated, intimate, boutique-feel hotel next to the best shopping and some of the best dining in Phoenix area. Everything about the place made ours a relaxing and enjoyable stay, from the extremely helpful general manager and staff, to ease of parking, etc. Lobby/lounge area was small but airy and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judenau, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Hi Steve0897,
Thanks for staying with us and we are so happy you were able to discover just what a great location we have here Downtown Scottsdale.
Have a great day!

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our little chihauhau for 10 nights. We stayed in one of the Skylight Suites which has its on private patio. We loved being outside on the patio but there was no source of shade. We asked the staff if there was anyway we could get an umbrella and the general manager, Jude, went out and bought one for us the very next day! What great service. Half of the bathroom shower door was missing due to them replacing the glass so water was spraying all over. The shower head was very high and sprayed almost straight out so it was not convenient for someone that is only 5'4". (My husband who is much taller liked it.) The breakfast every morning was great as you had your choice of sausage, eggs, yogurt, muffins, toast, oatmeal, cereal, juice and coffee. We rated the location a three because it is in very close proximity to a bunch of night clubs. If you are in to clubbing every night then this is definitely a hotel for you. You will hear the bass from the music right across the street, however, once you are indoors you do not hear any noise from the night clubs. (We slept with the fan on.) On the positive side, for location we were right next to Fashion Square Mall and Old Town Scottsdale. We really had a great time and enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was awesome.

Room Tip: The suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiaMarie1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judenau, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear GiaMarie,
It was our great pleasure to have the two of you and your friendly travel companion chihauhau stay with us. We love pets and know they are a part of your family too.

Thank you for taking the time to write this Trip Advisor review and for mentioning our staff. We are very fortunate to have such a great team working here at the Best Western Sundial.

Have a great day and we look forward to your return.

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Let me begin by saying this a new looking, stylish, immaculate property with an awesome staff whom I really enjoyed talking to. That said, I was just not comfortable at this hotel. The rooms are spacious...almost too spacious, with a weird entertaining/sink area and wet bar but no seating. No tea in the coffee service was a drawback for me. The room had no microwave. I hated the bathroom. The door is heavy and shut very loudly. It needs a doorstop or something for the solo traveler. The shower only set up was glamorous looking but did not function well. Water sprays all over the bathroom and there is no place to put toiletries, shampoo, razor etc except on the floor of the shower. There was no extra blanket in the room and I was there during a cold spell. Since the heating and cooling system had no thermostat, I had a choice to "heat" the room with the fan blasting loudly or shiver. I wrapped the bedspread around me cocoon style and was cold. The pool was out of service the three days I was at the hotel, though points for the very comfortable outdoor furniture and cabana. The HBO stopped working. And yes, the breakfast area is ridiculously small but what really bothered me was when the staff let two young children roller blade IN THE LOBBY and carry on while I was eating early in the morning. Finally, the location is really a problem if you don't have a car. Yes, it's "walking distance" to attractions but the street crossings are nightmarish. You have four lanes of traffic and no light directly in front of the hotel or TEN lanes of traffic to cross to get to the mall. There is no mass transit near the hotel as with lots of other Scottsdale properties. Fortunately cabs seem to be a permanent fixture in front of the hotel and it was about $5 for us to get to the mall or gallery area. Not bad. Personally, I would pick another hotel on the free trolley route but I have to say it was a good value for the location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbirdreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judenau, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Rainbirdreader,
Thank you for the trememdous compliment, "Let me start by saying this a new looking, stylish, immaculate property with an awesome staff whom I really enjoyed talking to". We have addressed the maintenance issues you brought up. As for our location, it seems we fell short by not informing you of the cross walk one block east of the hotel, next to Sprinkles Cupcakes. it is an easy and safe crossing to Scottsdale Fashion Square. Everyone here at the Sundial sincerely hopes you reconsider and stay here again when you return to Scottsdale.
At your service,
Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Pros:
The room has a clean/contemporary style. The jacuzzi room was a nice surprise. Tub was located near the bar area and bed. Plantation shutters all throughout. I like their continental breakfast and their fast internet connection. Friendly/helpful staff.

Cons:
Very noisy A/C, which kept me awake all night. I had to turn it on because it was hot in the room, especially since I used the jacuzzi. The bathroom door slammed and the only light made a loud noise when you turn it on (not good if you are sharing a room with someone sound asleep). The shower was uncomfortable - water splashed all over since there's really no cover. The glass they used practically didn't prevent water from splashing all over. One towel had a stain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Aloft Scottsdale
#61 of 75 in Scottsdale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sundial

Property: Best Western Plus Sundial
Address: 7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3404 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sundial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Three Diamond The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial is located approximately 12 miles from Sky Harbour International Airport 25-30 minutes via car taxi shuttle or limousine. Located in Historic, Vibrant Downtown Scottsdale the most desirable destination in The Valley of the Sun, featuring the southwest's finest shopping, dining, entertainment and culture. Experience a relaxed tone and distinct "sense of place." The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reflects and implies the flavor of its unique fun filled location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sundial Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing