We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taggia”
Review of The Scott Grill

The Scott Grill
Ranked #99 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: Scottsdale Road and Chapparal
Transit: Valley Metro Bus Stop at E Scottsdale Rd and E Chapparal Valley Metro Bus Stop at Camelback and Scottsdale
Description: Uniting the flavors of the Mediterranean, The Scott Grill updates traditional classics with a hint of modern delight. A thoughtful wine list and specialty cocktails complement your memorable meal as it unfolds by candlelight, firelight or starlight in our lushly landscaped resort oasis. From a casual breakfast on the patio to sociable evening happy hours to lavish poolside weddings, The Scott Grill's elegant, inviting Southwest spaces are the ideal backdrop.
Henderson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taggia”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the FireSky Resort for a conference and so had several meals at Taggia. The food was great. Service was good most of the time, however, one evening we had 1 1/2 hour dinner break, and it took the entire time. Service was extremely slow. They were not very busy, in that there were many empty tables, so have no idea what the problem was. However, the food was wonderful. Breakfast was usually prompt and delicious. Had a tomato gazpacho that was to die for! Pasta was good. Service, not so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christines970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Manager at The Scott Grill, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Christine, so sorry to hear that we disappointed you on one side but so glad that we hit the mark with the food. It really doesn't matter how good our food is if we don't get it too you. The entire team hurts when we disappoint a guest and we will use your feedback as tool to improve. I hope that you will come back to visit again and that we will win the race this time and cross the finish line in record time for you. Please let me know when you return so I can introduce myslef.

Kind regards and apologies, Brian Blanke
Restaurant Manager, Taggia at FireSky Resort & Spa Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    84
    27
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Scottsdale”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my friends went to 5-6 of the best recommended restaurants in Scottsdale and this was by far the best. The Pasta's were all incredible. Every appetizer we tried was amazing. The Burrata was to die for. We had Brittany as our server and she was fantastic. The Chef even came out to talk to us about our meal. I can clearly tell that he was a true professional as every dish on the menu was perfectly created. I would make this a MUST VISIT while in Scottsdale!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
504 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Kitchen much better than the service.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Dinner at the Taggia occasionally exceeds what you might expect from a hotel restaurant. The salume appetizer was very nicely done. Some of the spicing in the scallops/risotto and the pasta dishes was superior. But the service at dinner was slow, sloppy, amateurish, overly familiar. Are these people trained? And just to see if the lapse in service was atypical, we returned the next day for breakfast and lunch -- and again the service was slow and unrepentant. The kitchen is a 4, the service a 2.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good meal”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On a business trip and staying at the Firesky Resort, I chose to dine in house the night of my arrival.
Started with the melon gazpacho. It was good, not excellent--I would order it again but not something I would "crave" to have.
Meal was the scallops over risotto with asparagus and capers. The scallops were excellent, cooked perfectly. The risotto also had excellent taste and texture. The only grip I have with my meal (that kept it from 5 stars) was some woody pieces of asparagus in the risotto, it just should have been trimmed better.
Dessert was awesome. I had the zabaglione with berries. Not too sweet and very light.
Service was definately good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank countrydoc425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Above average hotel restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We love Kimpton Hotels, some of which have extraordinary restaurants. Our experience at Taggio was very good but not extraordinary. The atmosphere was very nice. Our server was knowledgable and professional. We sat by the window/sliding doors, which would have been open to the pool/patio and lagoon weather allowing. Exceptional Caesar salad. Crisp hearts of Romaine, not overdressed. The wood fired pizza wasn't anything special. Crust was thin and looked crisp but wasn't. We didn't want meat or a full course meal, so value for the dollar was fine. If we had had full course dinners, I would consider Taggio to be overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winechck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scott Grill also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Scott Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing