We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, bad and mostly ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottsdale Suites on Shea
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
18
Reviewed May 1, 2006

The good: Very well priced and decent location.

The bad: Gross stained sheets, chipped bathtub, and air conditioning broke down.

The ugly: Surly front desk clerk who theatened my wife's physical safety. When reported to management no action taken. Written letter to corporate resulted in a form letter stating "I hope you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to 'doing the right things right.' . . . I hope we will see you again soon."

Umm, why would I return? Clearly you didn't do ANYTHING 'right.'

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 984 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2006

Next visit to Scottsdale I will stay elsewhere! Our room was ok, but I've been to better and cleaner Country Inns in the past. My main complaint is that when I would ask a question at the front desk (directions, an extra pillow, etc.) it would be greeted with "Don't ask me! I am the last person you should ask for help and there is no one else here to help you. I am here to answer the phones." That is just bad customer service. The complimentary continental breakfast was ok, but since it was spring break the small breakfast room was crowded. The only reason I didn't rate this hotel terrible was that it's in a great location and the hotel was quiet at night for sleeping. We throughly enjoyed our trip to Arizona, but will look elsewhere for a hotel next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bjengaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, OR
12
Reviewed March 28, 2006

We spent five nights at the Country Inn and with its easy access to 101 we were only 15 minutes from the spring training games in Peoria. Our first floor room was immuculate and spacious. There was a patio off of the bedroom near the pool. The swim hours in the evening are extended until 11:00 pm. We didn't hear a thing. It was the quietest place we have ever stayed. The staff was curteous and helpful, offering us suggestions on great nearby restuarants and golf. The breakfast was exceptional. Fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels and cream cheese, along with delicious belgin waffles. On Sunday morning the eggs and sausage was a welcome edition. The location couldn't be better. There are restuarants, pharmacy, fuel, and freeway access within reach. To be able to stay in beautiful Scottsdale for the reasonable rates that the Inn offers makes it a great value. We truly felt like we had the place to ourselves and they were completey booked all five nights that we were there.
5 stars!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed here two nights while visiting Phoenix in March. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful with make-your-own belgian waffles. We also enjoyed the Mimi's Cafe which is just a walk across the parking lot from the hotel. We were so pleased that we booked another Country Inn in Tucson for our next stop.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

My family stayed at this hotel for just one night, but it was very comfortable. The rooms were clean and well-maintained, although I didn't quite like that there were no doors separating the bedroom from the living room area. The breakfast featured cook-your-own waffles. The location was superb; just off the highway (but no noise), minutes from Taliesin West (which is what we wanted, so we could easily get there for the 9 am tour), handy for Scottsdale center. There were a few chain-looking restaurants nearby, with fancier places minutes away. The service was very friendly. Altogether a very good bet for Scottsdale.

3  Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Spent five days in March 2006 at $130/night for a single, non-smoking king. Adjacent to the Shea exit from the 101 freeway loop - somewhat difficult to find on first arrival. Close to many stores and restaurants on a deadend road so street-noise is minimized.
Room is good-sized with table/2-chairs
and an easy chair. 27-inch cable TV but only about a dozen channels. Bathroom is exceptional. Three safety bars surround the bathtub and there is an additional safety bar near the toilet which sits higher than normal off the floor. There's plenty of hot water around the clock. Shower head is state-of-the-art and plenty of bath towels.
The morning breakfast draws a big crowd but there are no doughnuts/sweet pastries. There are plenty of bagels and yogurt. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2006
4  Thank trippingJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2006

My friend and I just returned from five nights at the Country Inn and Suites. We were very pleased with our stay. The location was good, near restaurants and easy access around Scottsdale. The hotel lobby was lovely and our room was quite comfortable. Our room was on the main floor with a small patio overlooking the pool area. The room was VERY clean, which is so important. The room rate included a nice breakfast in the morning, including Belgian waffles every day, and scrambled eggs and sausage on certain days. The only complaint I have is that the breakfast room was a little small. This wasn't a big deal, but it did get busy and a little crowded from time to time.

I can highly recommend this hotel and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank antmaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#59 of 76 in Scottsdale
76 reviews
8.4 mi away
3 Palms Hotel
3 Palms Hotel
#33 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Scottsdale North
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale on Shea Boulevard
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Suites on Shea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Suites on Shea

Address: 10801 North 89th Place, Scottsdale, AZ 85260 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Suites on Shea 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, boutique hotel with easy access to WestWorld, Mayo Clinic, Spring Training baseball, plus great shopping, dining & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scottsdale Suites on Shea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Country Inn And Suites Scottsdale
Country Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing