We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jackpot! Perfect for our needs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Jackpot! Perfect for our needs...”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The reviews I saw in Trip Advisor were right on the money. Close to freeways, better than average breakfast, comfy, clean rooms, great service from the front desk, reasonable price, good pool area, quiet...the list goes on and on. This is a NOT a resort property, but a good hotel in a convenient area if north Scottsdale is your destination.

My only real critique is the exercise room is lame. Two ellipticals, a treadmill and some useless benches. Other than that, thumbs way up on this property.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JTL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear JTL61,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your concerns about the exercise room.. Guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    270
    109
    56
    27
See reviews for
303
197
77
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice. We live nearby, so these were not vacation stays; one was when our water heater decided to go crazy on us. The hotel itself is nice -- standard Country Inn lobby, good breakfast, comfortable rooms. The location isn't a resort area -- but it's convenient to the highway and there are plenty of services and restaurants nearby. I would say that it's on par with other hotels of its class in the area. What set it apart for me, though, was the management. I had a minor issue with points not posting, and management's response was rapid. It sort of made me feel as though if there were an issue during a stay, they would be on top of it, and with all the major chains offering roughly equivalent, convenient, and comfortable hotels in this general class in the North Scottsdale general area, that's the sort of thing that can make a difference. I think this will be my "go to" local hotel when guests visit and want to stay nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Ikar,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your time of need. We hope that everything is going better. Thank your great comments about our management. We will pass these great comments on to all our staff at the hotel. Thank you so much for your time.. We hope that if you ever need a hotel in the area again that you will stay with us.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at The Country Inn in n. Scottsdale. Once again I find myself remembering why I enjoyed my first stay so much.
The beds are comfy to sleep in and the pillows are soft and plentiful. The bathroom is bright with a large bath shower combo. I like the lounge area with the small table for a laptop or eating. The fridge, microwave coffee maker and sink are a great feature. Thank you!
In the morning you can catch a yummy breakfast with eggs, waffles, cereal, breads and bagles, yogurt and juices. The front desk staff are attentive, friendly and efficient. Thank you for all of your help and not being robots.
Tim, I owe you a drink for being awesome, just as I remembered you from last time. Having taken my reservation by phone, greeted me upon arrival and helping me with my bags. They even have a handy shuttle service during the day that can take you to many different places. From the many stores and attractions to the amazing hospital around the corner.

Thanks for everything, I will be sure to be back and send all my friends who come to visit. You made my visit memorable and personable. I feel comfortable at your great hotel.

Good Job, to everyone,
Regards,
Thomas M.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 919rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Thomas M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We are so glad that you stayed with us again. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for all of your comments about our staff and Tim. We will pass these great comments on to him. Our employees love to hear when they are doing a good job. Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites at the Tucson Airport for five days just before our two day stay in Scottsdale so I can compare the two locations. Most of the hotel amenities were similar, with a few exceptions.
We had to settle for a two queen room, which was very crowded compared to the single king in Tucson. There never seemed to be enough room to stretch out. Also, the AC was very noisy and the fan ran the entire time. That limited us to sleeping in the bed furthest away which was jammed very close to the bathroom wall.
The staff was efficient at check in and answered all of our questions, but were noticably not as friendly. We were never greeted when entering the lobby, but that could have been because the hotel was more crowded.
The pool, which we never used, seemed larger and better landscaped than the Tucson hotel. There were definitely more spots to get out of the sun.
We prefer to use the stairs vs the elevator after check in. The only sets of stairs that I could find for the third floor were near the back of the building. The second floor did have a stairs heading up to the second floor right in the lobby in the middle of the building

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in the Country Inn & Suites for three nights recently and truly enjoyed the stay, the breakfast was excellent, the wi-fi and the room were beyond question. The pool is also a lovely quiet area where we were able to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: Book through a website, don't expect any discounts from staff, they get a bit short if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrellNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear DarrellNI,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate hearing all of your comments. Thank you for mentioning our great amenities. We appreciate all of the guest feedback we get. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a few days prior to a business conference. As usual at the Country Inn our experience was very good. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff did all they could to make sure we were comfortable. They offer a free shuttle service which really allowed us to relax and have a few drinks without having to worry about driving when we went out to dinner. In my opinion, this free shuttle service alone makes it worthwhile staying at this property!

Room Tip: This is a large property so if you don't get around easy, ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Healthcoach1,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for mentioning our shuttle service. We are very happy to offer this to our guests. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.Thank you again, and we hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed here over Easter Weekend on a Saturday night.

Checked in just after 3 PM. The rate I got online was a Spring Baseball Promotion Package that included a Welcome Gift I never saw. The guy at the front desk was quick and efficient in getting me my room keys and he gave me a helpful map to the hotel. Plenty of parking outside.

In the Lobby area, it's true what the other reviews state about the dark carpeting-- it's not hip but it's not tattered-- only out of fashion. I found the Fireplace and other furniture functional and attractive. There is free coffee by the doorway and a bowl of candy on a coffee table. A business center is set up by the the front desk with a computer that can be used to surf the Internet. Two Elevators are available-- slow but sturdy. I opted to take the stairs to the second floor. There are three floors total.

In the room, the Queen Bed I got was big, feeling just below firm when I lay on it, with billowy numerous pillows. The LG LCD Widescreen comes with an easy to use remote . You won't have to worry about accidentally ordering a movie in your room for a crazy amount! But they do offer a long selection of fun channels including HBO FOODNETWORK ESPN etc.
There is a good sized microwave that I used for mac and cheese. I went to the KROGER/FRYS Grocery store across the street- a well stocked emporium of finer foods including sushi- dozens of cheeses and all the wine variety you can imagine. The night table has a alarm clock radio. One Tallback Wingarm chair sits in the corner and a small table with 2 chairs are provided for dining area. Plenty of outlets for laptop and phones.

Numerous other food options are available. You can walk drive or order in-- italian chinese french japanese mexican and american fare are what I saw by merely circling the block. VILLAGE INN is across the street and RED ROBINS is across the parking lot as well as MIMI'S BAKERY CAFE. I also spied WHATABURGER, PANDA EXPRESS, SCHLOTZKYS and IHOP nearby.

The bathroom has all the amenities you want and towels towels glorious towels.
A nice deep bath with well lit vanity are always a plus. But the toilet had a weak flow when I checked in that eventually became clogged. I told the front desk about it as I left for dinner.
When I returned closer to midnight the toilet was repaired but the sopping towels I left to contain the overflow were still on the floor-- still quite wet.

The rooms also come with a coffee maker that can be used for tea as well. I tried both and they tasted great with the complimentary cookies you can get at the front desk.
Air conditioner is controlled manually on a unit that is below the window. The window can be opened, which is what I did to let in the awesome night desert air, after turning off the A/C.
I slept well.

I woke up early just in time for the splendid spread I found in the breakfast pantry!! Bagels, toast and muffins with jams, cream cheese and butter. Soft Scrambled Eggs, Steaming Gravy and Biscuits, Juices and Milk with cereals and fruits. I had to eat twice to appease my appetite!!

The Hotel gave me late checkout at 2 PM which I requested as a Silver Elite member of Club Carlson. This is my second stay at one of their properties.

Over all, the Hotel is in a quiet corporate area of North Scottsdale. There are alot of newer places to eat nearby and a handy Circle K 24 Convenience store. Closer to the hotel there is a 24 hr gas station with car wash. I did see a posted sign in the hotel parking lot from Scottsdale Police warning people that a BAIT car may be in the lot at any time. Should that concern me?

The Pima Freeway 101 is next to the Hotel with easy on and off access. The Hotel is a bit far from other parts of the Valley but you can be there fairly soon by using the Freeway.

I did not use the full size ironing board nor the iron. But it can be handy. Hair dryer also went unused. I appreciated the extra pillows provided above the closet. Ice machine at the south end of the hallway worked strong and fast. Plenty of lighting in the room makes it easy to read which I also did during my stay. No noise complaints. Families with kids but no drama to report. I had a nice stay.

I made reservations for next week when my parents arrive to visit Phoenix. I feel that you can't beat the deal right now for what you get at this hotel, considering it's location. Especially the wonderful breakfast provided poolside -- which I also did not use but looked full when I checked in. I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the freeway or North to avoid morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENCHILEcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3 Palms Hotel
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Scottsdale Inn
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#60 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale
Address: 10801 N 89th Pl, Scottsdale, AZ 85260-6772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Scottsdale
Country Inn & Suites Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Country Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing