We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Very comfortable, clean rooms. Nice buffet at tea time. Would have been nice to have a restaurant in the hotel. enjoyable week and would recommend. Love the area.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
There are newer reviews for Gainey Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

I think other reviews hit this perfectly, great place to stay with young kids. The suites are roomy and clean, pool is nice, staff VERY helpful. We will stay here anytime we go to Scottsdale with our kids. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We just returned from a seven night stay at the Gainey Suites Resort and it by far exceeded our expectations. We have stayed at some of the larger resorts in Scottsdale and this was our favorite stay to date. Our King bedroom suite was immaculate and well appointed. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. Our suite was never lacking. The front desk ,Lisa, Crystal, Nick all are friendly and very helpful. The resort also has a shuttle that many found useful for trips withing five miles before 6:00p.m. The hotel manager, Rich was really a hands on employee. He kept things running smooth and was very concerned about the guests needs. Morning breakfast is more then sufficient. The main item changed daily from Eggs, pancakes, egg croissants, chorizo and egg tortillas,etc along cereal, toast, bagels, fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, juices, Starbucks coffee. The evening reception was absolutely unbelievable. Beer, wine or pop served with an item that also changed daily. Hot dogs, tacos, egg roll, pizza, etc. The food and beverage manager, Enrique and his staff deserve great praise. The pool and grounds are well kept and very beautiful. If you don't belive me, ask the "house ducks" that visit nightly for the evening reception. Free internet, parking close to your room, cookies from the bakery, a newspaper and a great location. Unfortunately, we did not use the work out room, but others did and it was well equipped and clean. I did use the shuttle to go to the Spa which is not part of the resort, but they will honor membership charges if you are staying at the Gainey Suites. I know I'm forgetting something or someone. To sum it up, if you are looking for a place to stay that is clean, comfortable, modern, affordable with a great staff and great location, Gainey Suites would be the place to stay. If you are looking for room service, valet parking, taking elevators to high floor rooms, lots of tipping, resort fees, then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginasmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The room was more like a one bedroom apt. with all amenities. I especially liked the comfort of a good mattress and high quality linens and towels. My room overlooked the inner garden and pool and was quiet. I could have slept all day if time permitted. I also loved the location of the hotel which is a very s hort walk to restaurants and shops of the highest caliber. This is truly a "hidden gem" in Scottsdale and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances3944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This hotel was not worth going to again.

The free breakfast must be put in their price for the nighty rate, since the room is overpriced. Breakfast was good - hot and cold items, and saved us the time of going somewhere else. We never attended the beer and wine reception, but they must put that in the nightly rate too.

The suite was dingy, small and outdated. The dishes I pulled out of the kitchenette were dirty - meaning they were not washed at all - grease and food was still on them! I just didn't trust the cleanliness of this place. The "workout" room was small and felt like it was in the basement of a rotted out apartment building.

The hotel has a deal with the Gainey Health Club and spa within walking distance (about 5 minutes). The spa was beautifully done, with a small hot tub, sauna and steam room in the women's room, but not a place to spend the day. The pool was not a leisure pool, but it was outside and more of a lap pool (great, if that is what you are looking for!). The Health Club had a TON of classes - the yoga was good for a health club yoga class!

Good thing we only used the hotel for sleeping and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

If you are looking for a small hotel with all the amenities of a huge resort, but on a smaller scale and at a fraction of the cost, then choose Gainey Suites. It is right in the heart of Scottsdale but secluded from the hustle/bustle. The accommodations (we had a 2 bedroom suite) were excellent and they were the cleanest if not the cleanest accommodations we have ever stayed and we have stayed in some of the best resorts in North America, including the Phoenician and the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess!
All the staff, from the reception to the cleaning staff, were always so accommodating and knowledgeable!
The free breakfast every morning in the Hearth Room was an excellent way to start the day. The items served were so varied that we ate there almost every morning during our stay. Likewise the manager's reception every evening -- again excellent.
The grounds and pool area so enticing for relaxation!
All the little extra touches like the teddy bears in the room, the chocolate chip cookies from Paradise Bakery, just superb! Also the location is excellent especially with the Gainey Village right next door -- with the variety of restaurants we were able to walk to dinner every night. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Our room was very clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the food was excellent! I loved the happy hour offered everyday. The pool and courtyard area were beautiful and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley_wk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $200 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing