We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aware...Spa is 10 min drive to Double Tree Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Three stars hoping to save someone my misery. Basically this is a holiday inn with a kitchen. Nothing to complain if you are expecting a Comfort Inn or even embassy Suites. But if you expected to check in to a Scottsdale Resort with spa and to get some pampering ..look somewhere else.

I flew in 6 hours earlier from another business location anticipating luxury day spa. Big mistake. I have to drive 10 minutes to double tree hotel for spa service. This place is sitting in some kind of mall. It appears family oriented.

Selecting this hotel as a resting place is my mistake, but hopefully one that no one would repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutOfUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRGainey1, General Manager at Gainey Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Allow me to respond to the statement "Aware...the spa is a 10 minute drive to the Doubletree Hotel". The Spa at Gainey Village with whom we partner and send our guests to, is literally around the corner and is exactly 0.49 / a half mile, or a (1) one-minute drive from the Gainey Suites Hotel (as verified on yahoo local maps and mapquest). The Spa at Gainey Village is located at 7477 E Doubletree Ranch Rd and not at the Doubletree Hotel which is 3.7 miles or a 6 minute drive south of Gainey Suites Hotel. Our team passionately strives to make every guest experience one that exceeds expectations. We are most sincerely disappointed when a guests experience is anything less than perfectly wonderful and when that does occur we will build upon it in a most positive and uplifting fashion. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
There are newer reviews for Gainey Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

Stayed here for 7 nights in June and really liked it. They let us check in 3 1/2 hours early. (Thank you for that) . The suite was very nice. The kitchen had a fridge/freezer bigger than my house and a 4 ring cooker. microwave, dishwasher and garbage disposal in the sink. Pots, pans, plates, glasses and even a bottle opener.

Breakfast was very pleasant. Not a sausage, egg and bacon type but there was something hot and different every day. Cereals, juices and the most delicious cakes. The afternoon reception was just as good but with free booze and again always something hot to eat i.e. pizza, spring rolls etc along with salads, popcorn and bits and pieces.

The grounds/pool were very nice and well maintained and they would always turn on the misters for the "old English couple" when it became too hot. Lovely loungers around the pool but beware, the frames are metal and they get very, very hot.

The Village Tavern right next to the property is very nice. Almost an English pub in style. The food is good and reasonable and the staff are not pushy or poncy but really nice. One other place at Gainey shops I must mention is 'The Kitchen' in the top right had corner. Very nice food, Soups, sandwiches, pizzas, salads, steaks, cakes, bread, drinks etc. It is very, very classy and seems set up for the rich people of Scottsdale but the prices are OK and you can take your food outside to eat or back to your room. Highly recommended.

Now the only gripe. I may have been unlucky but the AC in our suite (307) was so noisy it was untrue. There was also a whirring sound that we couldn't decide if it was inside or out that drove us crazy. Also the freezer compartment of the fridge was very noisy. We called the front desk who sent a man. He told us that the noise from the AC was "The air conditioning" and cured the noise from the fridge by turning it off !!! We turned it back on and eventually got used to it.

Would we go back - certainly. One suggestion - an airport shuttle similar to The Chaparral or Holiday Inn would be great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BootneckBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I recently held a meeting here for a group of managers for my company. As a Fortune 50 company under much public scrutiny, we are very careful about perception, but still require facilities that meet our needs in order to have a successful meeting. The Gainey Suites is clean, comfortable, conveniently located, and the staff is TOP NOTCH.

The staff (can I mention Enrique the Banquet Manager specifically??) was so attentive to our needs, and "rolled" with the many changes (even the General Manager steps up to the plate to help). They are definitely a solutions-driven group. The meeting space was in great condition, the Food & Beverage is reasonably priced, and I have yet to meet a more flexible Executive Chef.

The Sales and Catering team are there to work with you for anything - whether it be a meeting, reunion, wedding, or other event. I could see that the guests were all very satisfied.

Great location, great atmosphere - Keep up the GREAT WORK!!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank F50Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We selected this hotel based on other trip advisor reports and it was an even better hotel than we expected. The rooms were beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, 300 thread count linens, bed and body bath products, fully equipped kitchen, The breakfasts were excellent- alot of variety and the afternoon happy hours were a meal in themselves. We used the free $20.00 McCormick & Schmick credit at their Happy Hour (see their website) as well as the $20.00 credit for Village Tavern. My husband used the free shuttle to get to his golf courses so I could have the car to go shopping..We got the special promotion- two nights at $109 and the third night free. It is an outstnding value!!! Also, the pool and spa and surrounding grounds are lovely and the location is close to everything. Wonderful spots to visit:the Cosanti Foundation which is just around the corner, Taliesen West tour, and Humble Pie restaurant for lunch. Sapphoro has a great Happy Hour and Voce has great live entertainement. Also, there is no resort fee or parking fee at this hotel. Very many other hotels do not inform you of these hidden costs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We had a wonderful experience, felt welcomed, question answered promptly (excellent staff service). Rooms & Amenities were clean. Happy Hour had a variety of delicious food. The best touch was the Gainey Suites Teddy Bear, it made our kids very happy.
Thank you, The Garcia Family

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaboynee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Classy hotel, great rates for the upscale location in Scottsdale. Take advantage of front desk staff, they are excellent and well managed. Great eating establishments and shopping next door to the hotel. If you want comfort and quiet, this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

When we arrived it was happy hour, the food they had was a complete meal, we didn't have to go out to dinner, the wine was wonderful. For such a nice place, it was all free! The rooms are very nice! They have the best shampoo's , body lotions, q-tips etc. The beds are the best! I have never slept so good. They have "Island Paridise" hot baked cookies for the guests. The front desk employees are so helpful. They printed me a map of the places I needed to go to. One of the manager's their I believe his name was Javiar, he was so helpful and professional. The grounds are beautiful, I highly recommed the "Gainey Suites" and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $200 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing