We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gainey Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
289 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Outstanding service by the entire staff. Beautiful rooms and grounds. Loved the adult pool area. Great bike trails nearby and plenty of courtesy bikes to use....all levels. Nice shops and views. Enjoyed the open restaurant area for breakfast....relaxing

Room Tip: The mountain views are the best for a view. I thought the rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank got2bebiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    278
    62
    29
    7
See reviews for
445
510
59
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We planned a week vacation to Sedona and Scottsdale, looking forward to relaxing by the pool for 4 days in Scottsdale. We booked the Gainey Suites based on the reviews in TripAdvisor and the photos of its pool.

When we arrived, we were told that the pool was closed for the week due to remodeling. They offered us day passes to a pool at a fitness club down the street. When we made our reservation they never told us construction was occurring during our visit.

After discussing the situation, we asked that they cancel our reservation since the purpose of our visit was to be at the pool of a resort. At first, they would not refund the first night, saying they were sold out and had turned people away (despite the parking lot being empty and their website accepting reservations. Only after insisting, did they cancel our reservation.

We then found great accommodations at the Kimpton Fire & Sky.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CinC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRGainey1, General Manager at Gainey Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am most sorry that your were unaware that we were working on our pool area. We have tried to make it work the best we can during this time but this is your vacation and I completely understand how you felt "deceived" which was not our intent as we have attempted to communicate this on our website as accurately that we can as the dates of what is actually going on has been a bit of a moving target at times. I and all of us so very much hope that you might give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and to experience what we really are and what we will be when all of this is done the next time your travels may bring you to Scottsdale, AZ. Feel free to call me personally on my cell phone (480) 262 4665. We'll have stunning new pool deck, furniture, and cabanas along with our new Terrace Patio Bar (opening early December) and would love to have you back! On behalf of our entire Gainey Family we promise that you will have a wonderful stay! Until then, we wish you all the very best and take good care! Best regards, Rich Newman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband travels to Scottsdale several times a year for business and always stays at the Gainey Suites. I accompanied him on this trip(we were going to go to the Grand Canyon but sadly it was closed due to the govt. shutdown) and we spent two nights at the Gainey. What a great experience! The room was spacious,bed super comfy and nice linens/towels. The breakfast buffet was ample and varied and the dining area is wonderful. There's a fireplace with tables/chairs and sofas. You can also eat out on the lovely patio,overlooking the pool. They also have a cocktail hour(between 5pm-7pm,I think)with beer,wine and appetizers that can easily serve as dinner. Very warm,relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a beautiful suite with a kitchen, sofa, coffee table, king bed, TV that could face the bed or the sofa, generous bath facilities. It was very comfortable. The breakfast was very lavish with scrambled eggs and cheese, potatoes, two different kinds of breakfast burritos, oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, cereals, breakfast breads, Starbucks coffee, juice, and more. We didn't make it to the happy hour, but we heard that the appetizers were complementary also. The front office staff were very accommodating, and the room was quiet and comfortable. It was a beautiful place to stay, nicely situated to shopping and restaurants, and a great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaSophiaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our overnight at Gainey Suites was more than a hotel stay it was like a community gathering. We loved the evening festivities on the Labour Day Long weekend and we enjoyed the music and the buffet BBQ was wonderful. We shared a table with a family from California and we got to chat with them...a nice treat.
Our room was amazing and the bed soooo comfortable.
The Front Office Manager Olivia Simunaci exceeded our expectations for what a hotel would offer. We had a late evening flight the next day and were going to store our luggage in our trunk...big mistake she said. We are from the cool east coast and did not realize that the 107 degree Arizona heat could have caused some issues with our luggage contents.
There are so many things that will leave many happy memories of Scottsdale and Gainey Suites.

Room Tip: We had the suite with the kitchenette, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while on vacation. The hotel has more of a business feel to it versus a large resort, but we enjoyed the location to many attractions in Scottsdale and really appreciated the hot morning breakfast and evening reception. There is comfortable outdoor seating to enjoy both of these, especially given the excellent weather. Rooms were clean and staff was very friendly. There was a little bit of construction going on around the pool area, but assume this just means the facility will be better in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in, the lobby was in the midst of being renovated. When I looked at dismay at the construction site the front desk apologized and upgraded us to a larger suite. Nice touch.
Nice breakfast, happy hour wine and snacks and wi-fi included. The pool and outside looked inviting but the heat was so oppresive during our stay we never stepped outside unless it was to the car and back.
The room had two teddy bears as gifts which gave us a built in souvenir for our grandsons. Sweet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#31 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing