We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We chose the Gainey Suites Hotel for a stay when taking our daughter to Arizona State. Tho hotel is conveniently located near Hwy 101 and Scottsdale Rd. There are nice restaurants and an upscale shopping area (with a great wine shop) within walking distance. However...not much need to venture off the property.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is a pleasant surprise. Attractive pool area, an open seating area with natural gas fire pits, and an attractive breakfast area. There isn't a restaurant or bar at the hotel, however, a complimentary full buffet breakfast is served every morning with a great variety of hot items, breads, breads, and fresh cut fruit. This is not your usual complimentary breakfast. It was done very nicely every morning with a good variety of items.

In the evening, the complimentary happy hour includes beer, wine, soft drinks, and a nice selection of hot and cold entrees (very close to being sufficient for dinner).

The rooms were clean and attractive, and the hotel was quiet at night during our stay. The Gainey Suites was a pleasant surprise and great value. This will be our "go to" hotel in Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Pool side top floor rooms are the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    290
    64
    29
    7
See reviews for
462
528
61
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let me begin by stating that as we drove in I was taken aback by the strip mall vibe - small tucked away hotel amidst shops and restaurants. My dismay was dismantled once greeted by a super friendly front desk staff member. I felt myself relaxing. First impression - the place feels homey and smells soooo clean!
With plenty of parking and easy access to the rooms - we walked into our suite (a one-bedroom) to be greeted by dark wood type laminate flooring within a well-appointed modern kitchen (perfect for cooking & eating in), nice carpeting in living area/bedroom and a scrumptious bathroom. Kuddo's for separating the sink from toilet area. Two people (or more) can easily access facilities.
Our view of the adjoining courtyard was pleasant, as well as the glimpse of the pool refreshing.
The building hugs the pool (on the small side, but fabulous when w/out lots of kids and/or families - could become crowded over holidays - so inquire), courtyard and grounds. Once therein you feel cut off from the outside world - a plus in my travel book. The lanai where most meals are eaten is intimate, friendly and feels like vacation. Breakfast is fine - not great - but standard, providing everything you would need and more. The happy hours are unbelievable with regard to quantity - again, not stellar quality, but more than satisfies. The salads were always fresh and robust - the wings were the "best' my partner had consumed, and other than that - the food choices are a welcome addition to your room cost. In short - this property is well decorated - nice touches with the tiki torches/outdoor candles. Smells good! Pool has a relaxing vibe with plenty of furniture. Property's plants and the 20 palm trees will become a favorite for sore eyes. Staff imparts an ultra professional courteous can-do attitude.
Best part!!! - QUIET ROOMS. Thank you Gainey for understanding the importance of a restful night's sleep. We will be back!
Side note: Village Tavern is a must! Shrimp and grits - still dreaming thereof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my second time to stay at Gainey Suites Hotel for an annual meeting and my experience was again excellent. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Delicious complimentary full hot breakfasts and appetizer happy hours helped with my food budget ~ great salads and lots of fruit, in addition to protein choices and tasty bakery items. The location also offers many other choices for food and services, within walking distance. Everything is very clean and nice. The beds are so comfortable! Having a separate bedroom was a nice feature, not to mention a full kitchen. I enjoyed the pool and hot tub for exercise and relaxation. And the free shuttle service allowed me to travel within 5 miles without having to rent a car. All in all, an amazing value. I'll be back again.

Lynn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We live on LAke Erie and a cold summer so off to SCOTTSDALE,AZ I selected the GAiney Suites from the Internet based upon free hot breakfast free happy hour, free internet, free parking and pool and spa. WOW what a great selection. It is beautiful, peaceful, nice area for walks. The breakfast was super. Best home fries I ever had. The happy hour, well they give you great "apetizers" including
vegatables and salad , beer and wine. We did not go out for dinner. The room was very nice, Not two rooms, like Embassy SUites, but a full kitchen , large room with King Bed and sofa, very nice colors . We will for sure stay there again and I will tell everyone. THANK YOU

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor looking at the pool. Nice. I think that next time I will ask for a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took the family to Phoenix in August, which is, frankly, a death wish. Hitched up the minivan and drove from a perfectly good Mediterranean climate six hours including potty breaks (you have three kids, you drive fast) to Phoenix. Gainey Suites Hotel was our destination. It appeared to have what we were looking for: a pool, complimentary breakfast, complimentary reception, and great rate. We were very pleased. The high rating that this hotel gets is earned. Our room was very nice, the bedding was extremely comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. We will definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need Double Queen rooms, you'll be booked on the outside of the Hotel. Best rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Second time to stay and still can't say enough. Fantastic value, clean rooms, great location, pool area is lovely, room was always restocked after cleaning, breakfast was good and food hot. Overall, a hard act to follow!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a wonderful three weeks at this hotel for a course. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. When we asked for help they did their best to achieve the outcome in the quickness time they could.

Had a wonderful stay and would recommend this venue for others.

Room Tip: I had a room in the middle of the second floor looking out over the pool. Fantastic view as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing