We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, free breakfast and dinner PLUS free alcohol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, free breakfast and dinner PLUS free alcohol”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for eight nights. Breakfast and dinner each night was tasty in addition to the free wine and beer. The pool is large and the staff is friendly. This place is managed very well. I can tell a lot of people have returned here again and again. Rooms have kitchenette. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    288
    64
    29
    7
See reviews for
456
523
60
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just returned from a five day stay at Gainey Suites. I agree with all the great things others have said and can add just a few additional comments of my own.

The good:
It is located in a business park sort of setting so it's very quiet. It's next to a great restaurant, The Village Tavern, and a couple other restaurants/bars, and a coffee shop. The pool and court yard are really lovely and perfect for relaxing in the sun. If you like to run, the location is pretty good because you don't have to worry about crossing through a lot of traffic. Hiking at Camelback is only about five minutes away by car.

The Gainey Village Health Club and Spa is about a six minute walk away. We had massages in the spa and both of us thought it was one of the best massages that we've ever had. The spa is great--very quiet, nice locker room/showers, and they provide refreshments. Guests of Gainey Suites get a discount on spa services.

The bad:
The only thing that some may consider a negative, is that it really quiet. If you're hoping for a party sort of scene, this isn't it. The hotel has a shuttle/van and will drive you to Fashion Square Mall and Keirland Commons for shopping but they really only take you to places within a 5-6 mile radius and you do have to wait if the van is out shuttling someone else around. If you don't have a rental car, plan to spend $$ on taxis or other transportation.

I'd definitely stay again when seeking relaxation and sun.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have an outdoor patio facing the courtyard. Really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel53705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent six nights here, and enjoyed it very much. The customer service was top-notch; all staff members could not have been nicer. The suites allow for space to really get comfortable, and it is always nice to have a seating area to watch TV without being in bed. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, with plenty of healthy options such as variety of fresh fruits. We did not get to use the pool area as the weather was not warm enough, but it looked inviting. The hotel location is convenient and quiet. Next time we are in Scottsdale, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

You will not be disappointed by this hotel. Its level of service, cleanliness, and amenities left an excellent impression on us. After taking care of business all day, we got to hotel exhausted. It was too early for dinner but the hotel has an afternoon snack time, which worked out perfectly for us. Breakfast was just as good. The next day, we laid by the pool, which was very pleasant. We saw many families with children just relaxing - not too loud as in some other hotels. We are so impressed by how well we rested up there that we are planning to stay only at this hotel from now on. Thanks to management for the job well done.
What we liked the best is the quality of our stay and the location of this hotel. Close to nice cafes and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elya_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Every aspect in this hotel was absolutely sensational. I couldn't ask for more! I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly visit again in the future! The staff were very friendly, and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was very unhappy during my stay at Gainey Suites Hotel, but there were some good things about it. I will start with the good things - good location, reasonably priced, free parking, free Wifi, the bananas at breakfast were good and the cranberry juice was good, the shower pressure was strong, and all the employees were friendly.
Now for the bad: a very squishy suite. My husband, daughter and I were crammed into the suite. One reason it was so squishy was because there is a full-size kitchen in the main room. It takes up half the suite. You can't really cook in it because you have to put a suitcase on the table. There is nowhere else for an average size suitcase to go. My daughter put her make-up and stuff like that by the kitchen sink because the bathroom sink counter was not big enough for all three of us. The king size bed in the bedroom takes up so much of the room that when we opened the door to the bedroom, we had to shove it so it would swing by the corner of the bed. Because the bed is so huge and the room is so small, the night stands are tiny. So there isn't much room to spread out on them. The down comforter on the bed was so thin that it didn't keep us warm. The sound on the bedroom T.V. didn't work. When my husband ate breakfast, he got terribly ill and had food poisoning. It really messed up our vacation. Fortunately, I took one look at the food and just ate a little bit of fruit. Our daughter slept in so she didn't eat the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elarbolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRGainey1, General Manager at Gainey Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to share the impressions of your experience.
We are most disappointed to hear that you found your accommodations cramped during your recent stay with us. I am not certain, but it sounds like you might have been in a one bedroom king suite (468 sq ft). We also offer the more open configuration of a studio suite (also 468 sq ft) but without the wall separating the living room/kitchen/dining area which may have actually been better for your needs or, a two bedroom suite (733 sq ft) with a separate vanity/bath, additional closet space etc. which I am sure would have provided adequate space. If upon settling into the room you found it to be uncomfortable we would have been happy to see what other room types were available and upgrade you to one of those that perhaps would have been more comfortable and better suited to your needs.
With regard the issue of “probable food poisoning”, we are more than confident that was not the case as we serve our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet to hundreds of guests and our staff as well, every day without any such issues. All food is prepared fresh daily by an experienced, well trained and certified, caring culinary staff that strictly adheres to the highest level of healthy and sanitary practices in food preparation, handling, and presentation. Additionally we strive to offer a creative, varied, and healthful selection of breakfast items that are overwhelmingly enjoyed by our guests for which we are most humbly grateful.
*Below is the weekly breakfast menu rotation.
Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of assistance at 480 367 4612 (my direct office line) or e-mail me at rnewman@gaineysuiteshotel.com
We greatly hope that any guest who has had a disappointing experience will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and from all our Gainey Family we hope to see you the next time your travels may bring you back to Scottsdale, Arizona. Until then, we wish you all the very best and take good care!
Warm regards,
Rich Newman, GM

*Complimentary Daily Breakfast Buffet Menus:

Monday: Southwest Potato Pancake Benedict- Poached eggs with a Chipotle Hollandaise over ham and potato pancake. Also, plain scrambled eggs and home fried potatoes available.

Tuesday: Breakfast Tacos-Egg, Bacon, Cheddar Cheese & Potato and Chorizo, Cheddar Cheese & Egg. Also Plain scrambled eggs and home fried potatoes.
Wednesday: Croissant Cheddar Cheese, Ham & Egg Sandwiches, also plain scrambled eggs and tater tots
Thursday: Corned Beef Hash with Poached Eggs*, also plain scrambled eggs, home fried potatoes.
Friday: Country Biscuits and Gravy, Scrambled Eggs, Chicken Country Ham & Chicken Fried Steak,
Saturday: Huevos Rancheros with flour tortillas, (poached eggs* with fresh homemade salsa and chorizo), also plain scrambled eggs and home fried potatoes
Sunday: Blueberry Pancakes, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon and Sausage with home fried potatoes

Everyday Breakfast Buffet also includes: Fresh sliced and whole fruits, assorted yogurts, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal with brown sugar, honey, and raisins, cereals…granola, bran, cornflakes, fruit loops, and cheerios, fresh baked Danish, blueberry and cranberry-orange breakfast breads, assorted muffins, apple turnovers, mini-bagels, whole grain, marble rye, and white breads, Skim milk, 1% milk, assorted fruit juices (orange, apple, cranberry, etc.) purified water by AquaPerfect, assorted gourmet teas, hot chocolate, and Starbucks Breakfast Blend Coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just stayed at Gainey Suites Hotel while on a girls trip to Scottsdale. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, which was spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed the daily breakfast! Sitting around the firepit table each morning was such a wonderful way to start each day. The hotel is very clean and relaxing with great restaurants/shopping in easy walking distance. We did go over to Gainey Spa one afternoon for massages... save your money or go to a different spa in Scottsdale!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JADEN229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing