We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay here again...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Must stay here again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2005

This is an absolutly beautiful location. The service was great,and prompt. Room service food was great and delivered promplty the one time we ordered late night.(try the Pizza)
The grounds were always very well taken care of. The people upstairs were a little loud late at night, and we could hear them well. THey also dicided to take a shower at around midnight, wich was very loud, the showers here work very well..
We ariginally had a room right by the main pool, which people could see into from one small area. We requested to be moved and got a free upgrade at the same time.

We had breakfast at one of the resort restaurants, sorry I forget the name, but the meal was exellent.

They wanted some outrageous amount to valet park, so I self parked, which was a little walk. I didnt mind it because it was all so pretty, they have a little trail with placards for plant recognition. very well done. I even did my laundry in one of their complementary laundy rooms, that provides you with detergent,and softener. (free of charge.) Didnt use the fitness center because I was just too relaxed the whole time and felt like doing nothing. Next time I will try it out.

Stayed for three nights. I got a great deal, my total bill was around $700.00 in the slow season..

Helpful?
6 Thank carmat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    269
    110
    38
    17
See reviews for
405
699
58
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

We just returned from our third stay here in 18 months. The setting is spectacular. It sits at the base of a rock cliff and Pinnacle Peak and the lights of Phoenix make for an amazing vista. You are surrounded by the beautiful desert scenery and scores or multi-million dollar homes. The rooms are well appointed and decent size. The decor is Southwest minimalist. There is nothing outstanding about the rooms, but they are well laid out and comfortable. The carpet looks a bit faded and the rooms will need a soft makeover in the next year or so. Crescent Moon and Acia restaurants are great for dinner but somewhat expensive. The service is very good overall with a few exceptions. We had a nasty greeting during check in and the breakfast service at Crescent Moon is awful (we opted for expensive room service for breakfast) Otherwise, this is a beautiful resort!

Helpful?
9 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Four Season's for 5 nights in September, starting on the labour day Sunday. It was very busy for the first day but we had the place to ourselves from Monday to Thursday.

Overall it was a wonderful experience. The location was perfect for us, a little out of town so it was quieter with some beautiful scenery from our room.

We found the staff to be attentive, but not overwhelming, professional, and knowledgable.

The resort is understated elegance. Very classy. We especially loved sitting out on the terrace watching the sun go down while the misters were keeping us cool.

We highly recommend it and will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank menlo12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

Who we are: Married two years, in our 30’s, no kids, live in San Francisco
Purpose of trip: Quick trip to decompress

Ok, on to the review!

This was just what the doctor ordered. Our casita had a view of the mountains and fit the standard Four Season's design. Comfortably appointed and spacious.

We really liked the choice of pools. There are five public pools; one for adults only. However it is adjacent to their main pool, which means you still hear the kids yelling and having a great time. If you are looking for a quieter pool, you may want to check out the Resident’s Club pools.

All pools offer cabanas or umbrella covered areas with padded lounge chairs. Misters are attached to the cabanas in an attempt to cool the desert heat. We found the best way to keep cool was to relax in the pool with a frozen concoction of mango, peach, guava and passion-fruit.

We definitely enjoyed the hike up Pinnacle Peak. Don’t miss it if you are able to make the climb. The trail starts right on the Four Season’s property. Go early; bring a bottle of water and your camera.

Acacia is not to be missed. My husband and I can be somewhat hard to please with regard to food. We tend to think many places put more emphasis on décor rather than cuisine. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. We actually canceled a reservation at Mastro’s in order to experience Acacia once more.

Tips:
I’ve read a few complaints about the location of some of the rooms are too far from the lobby or the guest’s car. For those who have trouble walking very far, you may ask for a room that is located near the Residents Club's parking area. We parked about 15 feet from our door. They offer all levels of rooms in this area, from suites with pools to standard casitas.

We decided to shop at the local grocery store in order to purchase some fruit, snack items and bottled water. We asked the hotel for a refrigerator, they happily obliged our request.

A special thank you to the following people:
Brad for his extra efforts with regard to a mislabeled overnight package delivery and a mix up with housekeeping. Andrea, Stacie, and Jason for their delightful personalities and education about the local area. Amy for her insight into food pairings. The concierge staff was knowledgeable and friendly.

Overall, this place lives and breaths excellent customer service. Just what we’ve come to expect from the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank erindeidre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
938 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

Always wanted to try a 4 Seasons resort and were blown away with the property itself. The setting is fabulous and the views are spectacular.

Welcome at reception was very bland, offered chilled water but did nothing to set themselves apart. No information offered about resort but managed to see the layout on our golf cart journey to our casita. We were upgraded from a moderate to a superior casita room which was very nice. The patio had amazing views into the mountain but we found it rather scary to sit out due to the local wildlife. What absolutely terrified me was the welcome note telling us how to deal with meeting a rattle snake, wild boar, or lizard in the grounds which at times could be fairly common occurences! From then on I couldn't relax!

The pool was great, the Acacia restaurant where we dined outside on the patio had the most amazing views but the food was a bit disappointing.

Wouldn't return to this resort but would try another 4 Seasons property some other time. We moved onto the Scottsdale Princess which we found far superior service-wise and a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

We went to the Four Seasons for our anniversary, usually stay at the Biltmore but made the mistake of trying something different. The room was beautiful, a casita with a plunge pool and the room service was very good,food very good. What ruined it for us was the staff! These were the most rude, arrogant, people you could ever encounter.

I have stayed at the nicest hotels around the world and never seen a staff so rude and unhelpful. Arnold the front desk manager was the worst. At check in we asked when the room would be ready and we were told "Look we guarentee four o'clock and that is all I can tell you. It took 2.5 hours and finally ageneral manager tocall housekeeping to simply ask "when will the room be ready?"

After amiserable experience we got home to find an additional $500 charged to our bill for a night we had already checked out! When we called the billing department they said "houskeeping said the room was occupied so we are charging it to you" I said we have copies of our plane tickets! She said "how can you prove you were on the plane?" It took calling the office of the CEO in canada to get it removed.

Not to mention you have to pay for internet access and the 24 hours does not start untill 12:00pm, so if you get on in the morning it will cut off at 12:00pm.and you will pay for every local call.

Again think twice, the Biltmore is far superior and the staff is awesome. These people we encountered were the worst of the worst. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank paige b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2005

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Four Seasons in Scottsdale. We generally love the service we experience at FourSeasons resorts and hotels and find them, generally, to be wonderful family vacation destinations.

In advance of our arrival, I contacted the resort director of rooms and manager because I wanted to ensure that we would be accomodated in a "casita" that was of the type and location that we had wanted.

We booked an upgraded accomodation: an oasis suite. The suite was described as having a plunge pool, sepaate living room with extra shower bath. The main bathroom had a soaking tub, separate shower and private outside "garden" shower. We were most concerned about location. We had read many comments on this site about disappointing views, especially in the ground floor plunge pool suites.

Perhaps because we contacted the manager on several accomodations and perhaps because we booked through Platinum American Exress, which provides for upgrades, if available, the manager blocked us into the "Sedona Suite." The Sedona Suite is the second to best suite on the premises. It is considered a specialty suite, and although it normally comes with a second bedroom, we told the manager that they could lock off the second bedroom, which could be sold as a completely separate unit, perhaps in the deluxe category.

Our suite was in its own building, not in one of the "barracks" which, to my mind, best described the cluster buildings which housed the majority of suites. There was no sense of spaciousness among the normal suites and rooms...they were all so close to each other...it seems as if they crammed in too many rooms in the limited space available (considering how many accomodations in each of the twenty buildings.

The clusters of buildings, housing the rooms were basically built in a semi-circle, with some of the buildings facing the pools and some of the buildings offering a vantage of the desert scenery and mountains.

As I said, our particular accomodation was stunning. Because there were no other guest rooms above us, we had super high ceilings, perhaps twelve feet high, beamed in rough-hewn wood. The living room and a large sitting conversation area with deep, comfortable sofa and club chairs. The gas "fireplace" and (outdated) TV were the focal point of the living room area. There were huge glass sliding doors out to our enormous patio. It was a two-level patio, with chairs and table and lounging chairs and an outdoor fireplace spaciously set on the patio immediatly outside the living room and bedroom doors. Up a winding set of steps, built around a boulder, was our small terrace with a small plunge pool, with two comfortable lounging chairs and an umbrella to shade us from the sun.

The plunge pool was a god send and lots of fun. Our five year old thought it was absolutely great. I loved it too because I mainly enjoy a pool simply to cool off and relax. It was great not having to get all glammed up to go to the resort pool and look for tyhe perfet chaise in a location that provided the right amount of shade, etc. And inevitably, when you get to the pool, I can never relax because my five year old wants to do a lot of swimming and in a big pool my presence in the water is, of course, mandatory. As long as I sat near the plunge pool, the size and depth was perfect for safe swims for my son and he had tons of fun. Even my husband enjoyed it. It was a pleasure.

There was a beautiful large dining table and we envisioned taking some meals, either indoors at the exquisite table or outside on our relaxing patio.

The bedroom was super comfortable and was more pleasantly furnished, The living room seemed over-furnished with massive and dark pieces that detracted from the lovely architecture of the room itself. The furnishings were slightly dated and a bit shabby. Perhaps more stark and monochromatic fabrics, in lighter colors, would have offset the beautiful Spanish-invluendce antiques. the bedroom tv was also relatively antique, especially for a resort of this calibre.

The bathroom was amazing and beautiful...the light from outside helped the bathroom to glitter. Every aspect of the bathroom was perfect. And the outdoor garden shower was beautifu, spacious and truly a luxury.

Our problem with the hotel was the uneven service we experienced.

ROOM SERVICE AND HOUSEKEEPING were dreadful. We could not get through to either department after repeated requests. In fact, it was kind of embarrasing...when we complained to the housekeeper manager, he reported our complaint to the hotel manager, who had gone out of his way for us. But even after repeated attempts to correct housekeeping problems, they were never able to service the room properly. I felt there was a severe communications problem...nobody understood our simple requests and the housekeepers were not properly instructed by their supervisors. Basic problems relating to towels, soap, dirty dishes in our little service kitchen, etc. It was sad, because the staff from housekeeping were so kind and meant well, they were just really incompetent.

Room service was a disaster. Surly, unpleasant service and dreadful food. We ended up taking our own food back from the pool-side restaurant when my son was too tired to eat in the room. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was far superior to room service breakfast in any case.

Our other problem with the resort was the lack of sparkle to the main building. Normally Four Seasons resorts have lovely, non-glitzy but classy lobbys...with sitting areas and a lounge etc. There was one, rather unattractive bar-lounge as the only focal point in the main building. The beuatifu terrace beyond the bar was gorgeous, but impossible to reach without going through the bar area. Unfortunately too often men were smoking cigars on the lovely terrace, which provided the only truly beautiful vistas of the desert, the mountains and the glittering lights of the city in the distance.

The main restauarnt was lovely. Great service and an outstanding dinner. Delicious. Most resorts, even four season resorts (and some of their hotels in "fun" locations have, at the very least, a small live trio, or band or buffet al fresco dinner...just a few low-key fun nights to break up the week. There was a decided lack of a festive air anywhere at the resort.

My last disappointment was the "two tier swimming pool." the photos of the pool on the website are truly not representative of the slightly old, slightly shabby and suprisingly uninteresting and unimaginative pool area. The cabanas are ugly and in need of a re-do. The pool staff is not the friendliest I have encountered at four seasons resorts elsewhere. the pool is dated and the pool surrounds need serious updating.

All in all the employees at the front desk, management and the concierge staff (in particular Julie and Judith were amazingly knowledgable and helpful.

This was one of the weaker four seasons resorts, especially for a "destination resort." It was a cramped Boulders-style resort without some of the amenities of the Boulders (which I haven't been to in six years and which is apparently run-down and not so well run anymore - but that comment is strictly heresay.

Plunge pool in the speciality suites are lovely. But, if you can afford only the regular room, or even the normal suites with the plunge pool, you will find very small balconies and not many rooms with impressive views.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Dancemacabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
16.7 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
12.3 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
15.8 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Property: Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Address: 10600 East Crescent Moon Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85262-8342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Troon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Scottsdale
Scottsdale Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing