We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, disappointing food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great setting, disappointing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

With company in town it is fun to head to places not normally on one's list. The Four Seasons is one of those places. Tucked away and serene. Went to the Onyx Bar for drinks and appetizers for sunset. The views of Pinnacle Peak mountain are unrivaled! Add in a fabulous desert sunset and its the perfect place to be.

The service was outstanding in typical Four Seasons fashion. Sadly the food was only mediocre! I have some dietary issues so am always aware of ingredients in foods. Unfortunately the items ordered had tons of extra ingredients compared to the descriptions on the menus. Even when prepared as shown on the menu the food was just ok. Wine selection is a good one, with Four Seasons prices to go with it.

I would definitely go back the service was just that good, but would order a cheese board or something truly simple. Or maybe I'd be adventurous and order whatever again to see if it was just a fluke.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the Resort overall in our desert oasis.

I’m sorry to hear that the food was not one of your highlights during your visit. We will continue make sure the food is prepared to the guests dietary needs and satisfaction.

Again, I thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and often.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    269
    110
    38
    17
See reviews for
405
699
58
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western US
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We checked in to mellow and lounge for a few days in the sun. The location & restaurants on property were great. The gorgeous landscape that surrounds the property, dreamy.
However, I do not want to chase down a pool waiter, or have several, yes, several hours before I am asked if I would like anything else. It was a major disappointment when compared to other Four Seasons properties.
The rooms need updates, the bathrooms especially. Dark and anything but average.
The rooms looked like they had not been updated since the mid 90's. Clean, but not anything memorable.
The restaurant Proof, is the saving grace of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort setting and restaurants.

I apologize for the service challenges you experienced at the pool during your stay. Please know that the appropriate discussions have taken place as we work to overcome these service shortfalls.

I appreciate your honest feedback regarding our rooms. We will continue to ensure they are maintained to the quality that our guests expect.

We look forward to your return to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale or any future Four Seasons worldwide.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a six day stay recently and found the resort to be absolutely wonderful. From the spectacular view, wonderful food and restful suites we could not have been happier. All the staff were attentive to us and our needs. The pool areas are wonderful along with the pool side bar. The only disappointment was the restaurant list provided by the Concierge. We were grossly taken advantage of Maestro's Steakhouse but that's for another review. If you want a great view, restful place to renew your batteries this is a recommended spot. The only think I would point out is the food and amenities are a bit overpriced but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the exceptional services that you received.
Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated.

We value your patronage to Four Seasons and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Scottsdale!

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was at the Four Seasons Scottsdale for a business conference last week that I turned into a birthday trip for my wife. So my experience was both as a business traveler and as a couple.

First, I can comfortably say it was the best hotel experience of my life. I have stayed in what I thought were five star properties before and I now know that I was lied to before! Obvisously the rooms, and food, and amenities, and scenery, etc. were fantastic - but the difference, really, was service.

Tough workout in the gym? Don't worry...scented towels and infused waters await.

Forgot your gym clothes? Don't worry...they'll give you some.

Want to play tennis? Here's a couple nice rackets, two cans of balls, a couple towels, and bottles of water all packed neatly in a portable cooler.

Want more coffee for the in-room Keurig? Make the call...and a gentleman shows up five minutes later with six K-cups on a silver tray.

Catch a chilly time in Scottsdale (like we did)? Don't worry...the resort has maybe a thousand overhead patio propane heaters that ran constantly when they needed to...even around the pool. While I was at the conference, my wife lounged at the beautiful pool and read even though it was maybe 60 degrees.

I could go on...

The best part about all this is that it wasn't the slightest bit stuffy or ostentatious. Employees were all polite, gracious, and seemed to genuninely enjoy their jobs.

So how are the rooms? We were in the lowest room category, Casita something-or-other, and they were fantastic. Huge rooms, with a sitting area, fireplace, private patio with amazing view. Awesome beds (haven't slept that well in a long time). Bathroom, equally massive, with separate tub and shower, robes, nice toiletries, etc. My only teeny tiny recommendation...would be that the glass/tile showers should have rain shower heads. Then the rooms would be perfect.

Food? Fantastic. Our conference breakfasts and lunches were first class (and private buffets). Other than the fact that our first breakfast contained no proteins (eggs, meat, etc.), everything was fantastic. Homemade granola, pastries, yogurt, fruits, smoothies, etc. The second day we had that plus eggs, bacon, and sausage (which was perfect for me). Lunch was even better. Several salads (including a green bean, chicken, and potato salads), several sandwhiches (reuben, philly, turkey avocado BLT), and a soup (butternut squash). There was more but I couldn't eat anymore.

Dinner was equally delicious and the settings even more amazing. I had (over several days) tuna tartare, crab cakes, several more salads, sea bass, strip steak, etc. I am not a big sweets person but I did indulge a couple times and even the light yogurt and berries dessert was great. Just right for me.

Is it expensive? Yes. It is a Four Seasons. Did we do spa services? Nope. My wife isn't a big spa person so the prices made it a no brainer. Will you spend $50 for two for lunch? Yes.

Would I go back? Unequivocally, yes. Put it on a beach and I may never go anywhere else. So my next task?

Find a Four Seasons on a beach...

Room Tip: If I went again, especially if we brought the kids, I would avoid the rooms away from the rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easton714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and acknowledge the great experience you had with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, while also celebrating your wife’s birthday! I appreciate all of the glowing remarks. I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Scottsdale Four Seasons for a Corporate retreat. The rooms are all very nicely laid out and have great views of the valley and local surroundings. The catering staff was very attentive and looked after all the details. We enjoyed both the catered meals and restaurants. The weather was not quite as nice as we planned so the outdoor events had to be reorganized but the resort staff worked out the details and it was still great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfGuy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have stayed at many Four Seasons and are usually blown away. We left this one not dying to return. The service was only OK and the room was nothing special at all. Every night there was a private event going on so there was no where to sit outside and enjoy a cocktail.

The worst part of the resort was the food. It was not good and extremely overpriced. We ended up leaving the property to go into Scottsdale and get a good meal at a steakhouse. This is the first Four Seasons we have visited where we left the property to dine elsewhere.
To top it off I was getting a facial at the spa and the light fell on my face. I ended up getting a fat lip a few hours later. t I did appreciate the manager coming out to apologize but felt they could have taken the facial off my bill or thrown in a free lunch. Not looking for free things but thinks its a nice touch when a customer is injured in your establishment.

The scenery is amazing and the grounds are kept up very nice. Staff was friendly and seemed helpful but overall was not worth the price. There are too many amazing resorts in Scottsdale to pay the price for this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kristina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We value guest feedback as it helps us improve the guest experience.

We very much appreciate your positive remarks regarding the scenery, our grounds and our friendly staff.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at the Spa. Our Spa Director values your feedback and would love the opportunity to hear from you soon.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Scottsdale in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Still an excellent hotel, set in great scenery in the cactus filled area of North Troon. Nicely decorated in theme for Christmas and although not great weather the pool area was nice to relax in. Since our last trip they've changed the second restaurant into a USA themed one, and for us It didn't work as well - but we are English!!! Also slight lack of communication about this restaurant being closed to guests on two evenings for private bookings. Thought we should have been told this.
But minor gripes really - great hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestcloughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
16.7 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
12.3 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
15.8 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Property: Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Address: 10600 East Crescent Moon Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85262-8342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Troon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Scottsdale
Scottsdale Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing