We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant but not remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in November. The reason for staying here was because my husband wanted to play the Pinnacle Course. He had pre-booked his game via the hotel. He had a rather unfortunate experience which somewhat marred the enjoyment of his game (which I have posted under a separate review of the golf course in TA). Suffice to say that if you plan to play as a single player please read my posting!

Our Casita was on the right as you drive up to the hotel. It was fine for us. Our only disappointment was that it was quite dark (on the ground floor) but it was spacious, quiet and comfortable. We were able to park our car directly outside which was helpful when packing and unpacking.

We found all staff to be friendly and helpful. We were on a Bed and Breakfast package. I really do not like the fact that there is a daily limit included. (there was no buffet - as we stayed during the week). On two mornings we just wanted coffee and toast; on the third morning we wanted fruit followed by a cooked breakfast. It seemed petty to have to pay for the excess on one day when we had not had much the days before. In fact, if I had known that coffee and muffins are served free in the lobby, I would not have bothered to book a breakfast package.

We dined twice at Talavera. Service was very good, friendly and efficient. We sat outside the first time but it was so dark we could hardly read the menu and when the food arrived we couldn't see what was on our plates. I do like eating al fresco at night but there is a balance between dimmed romantic light and too dark to see!

We also dined twice at the poolside restaurant. Again, excellent service. Pool service is generally very good.

On the morning my husband was playing golf, I walked the Pinnacle Peak trail straight from the hotel which was very enjoyable.

It was a pleasant stay but not remarkable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed the poolside restaurant, as well as Pinnacle Peak trail.

Your review regarding our Bed and Breakfast package will definitely be passed onto our Food and Beverage Director. We are always open to suggestions for improvement, and we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to your return to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale or any future Four Seasons Worldwide Hotel.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

It pains me to give a FS anything but excellent review because we are huge fans, but this resort is not my favorite. I loved the location (pinnacle peak hike is gorgeous), the service was outstanding when we received it (the bell service and golf cart service was excellent), and loved eating at Proof.
Our room was in building 4 which is a fantastic location, but the room is looking a bit dated. The shampoo/conditioner and body wash dispenser was so not FS style that I was a bit surprised to see it in the bathroom. Even worse, when we used the products they were of terrible scent and quality. We were thankful we had brought our own. The bar soap was extremely drying to the skin and there was no lotion in our room. In AZ the air is so dry that this did make a difference to us. The bed felt dipped on each side of the king bed, again a sign of wear which is not typical of our past FS experiences (Maui 3 x's, Costa Rica, Palo Alto, Santa Barbara).
The staff was very friendly around the property but not over the top as we have experienced at other resorts. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers with friends in the lobby bar and Olga was just darling and attentive. She assisted in getting us a reservation for dinner at the restaurant Talavera for later that evening.
There are many wonderful dinner choices outside the hotel for sure, but out of convenience we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and we expected an incredible meal as we always have at other FS resorts. Wow, were we disappointed! Our server was ok (terrible in the opinion of the other couple with us) by seeming very impatient as we were ordering. She was doing her job, but again nothing as much as even a smile. No personality. Two bottles of wine and almost $400 later for four of us we walked out bummed. That cost was after two of our meals were complimentary as my chicken was covered in salt. I am talking my lips were swelling salty!! Our friend had the Sea Bass and after clearly describing her allergies to MSG and asking for low sodium, she began to swell and turn red. They assured us that there was no MSG, but her reaction was so severe it was shocking. Her hands, face and neck were beat red and she also had the swelling of the lips. DO NOT WASTE YOUR $ here.
Now on the flip side, Proof, their newer restaurant, is outstanding. The service was over the top and attentive, the atmosphere had a very cool vibe and the food delicious. We all had salads, pulled pork, burgers, dip and incredible pretzels. Breakfast was equally delicious and we would return in a second. Again this is a more casual and diner-style spot. Awesome.
I don't know if we would stay here again for the price. We had a much better experience in Paradise Valley at Montelucia, but again this is a different location. If you are set on this area then this would be the best choice, but eat dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor in building 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharelife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale!

We are pleased to hear that you love our Resort location and Proof was one of your highlights.

Your feedback regarding your dining experience in Talavera will definitely be passed onto our Food and Beverage Director. We will be contacting you immediately for further follow-up.

We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale or any future Four Seasons Worldwide Hotel.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just got back from a business meeting here, and all I can say is this place ROCKS. First and formost the staff is phenominal. It must be a great place to work because on all levels there was nothing but professional, caring, look out for the guests attitude. The rooms - Casitas - are great. We stayed in # 2012 and it was really nice, spacious, good balcony (watch out for the food stealing birds) even got to use the fireplace - rain on our last day. The setting is really special, coming from Los Angeles, we wern't used to no litter, grafitti and all the BS that is L.A. A short distance away, but truly an oasis in the desert. PS Proof, the bar/diner is worth it. Very attentive fun staff and AB FAB food.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms are best, 2012 was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garydojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Mexican style theme accommodation set in nice location. Good for a get-away so near the city of Phoenix which can be seen in the distance. Rooms are showing age and not to a Four Seasons standard. The restaurant which is raved about by others is only for the young, deaf and those who enjoy fast food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort setting.

I appreciate your honest feedback regarding our rooms. We will continue to ensure they are maintained to the quality that our guests expect.

We look forward to your return to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale or any future Four Seasons worldwide.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Looking for a perfect place for peace and quiet? This is it! Lovely property!
Everything for a getaway! Very tranquil---great balcony room. Great food!
Breakfast was a special treat--a nice buffet! Lunch choices are plentiful.
Our dinner, which was a banquet for a group, was outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owlbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This upscale 5 star property has everything one could ask for. Talavera is the most beautiful restaurant with food fit for a foodie and the service was exemplary. Proof their more casual dining restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch, or even a late snack, plus they serve up some cool drinks. The landscaped grounds were absolutely beautiful and hiking pinnacle peak was a real treat. If your looking for a hotel that is truly special, look no further and book a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junoman973NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the moment you see the property, you will be impressed. The golf carts are a added bonus. The grounds are breathtaking. The restaurants are top notch. The Rib Eye steak is a must as is the orange juice for breakfast. The only negative is the limited spa presence. My massage was great, but the facilities are basic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
16.5 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
12.2 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,532 reviews
12 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
14.8 mi away
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Address: 10600 East Crescent Moon Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85262-8342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Troon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $392 - $1,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North Hotel Scottsdale
4 Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North
Four Seasons Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Scottsdale
Scottsdale Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing