We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park

McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.99*
and up
Segway Tour of Old Town Scottsdale
Ranked #3 of 162 things to do in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb aboard the miniature replica of a Colorado narrow gauge railroad to explore this park that features famous railroad cars and an antique carousel.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were traveling to California and spent a night in Phoenix. We wanted something to do with our 22 month old twins in the morning before we put them in the car for another long trip. We found a brochure for the McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park and were so glad! It's a toddler paradise. Trains, a carousel, trains, playgrounds, and more trains!

The train ride was fun, though I think my boys liked watching better than riding. The carousel was a big hit. And the model railroad building with three huge layouts (all done by local railroad clubs) was really fun. This is clearly an example of an attraction that knows its audience and caters to it well. Restrooms had changing tables, the food was reasonably priced and healthy-ish options were available.

Is is Disneyland? No. But Disneyland is $90 a day and the McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park is free, save for a modest ticket price for the carousel and train ride. I definitely recommend it for families with young children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Museum_Maven80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    213
    28
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I went to Railroad Park with the kids and grand kids and had a great time. We were staying at a nearby hotel and wanted something to do with the grand kids after the kids were done with their convention so we drove to the railroad park. We all enjoyed it very much. Expect to ride the train and carousel several times! There is lots of shaded areas and benches to stop and rest if it gets too warm for you. We enjoyed a cold beverage while the kids shared an ice-cream from the General Store. We also purchased my grandson a train to take back to the hotel to play. It was great family time and no cost to enter, only cost was to ride the train and carousel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DreamVacation2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A unique park, good for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had half an hour to fill before a business meeting nearby, so we hung out in this unusual park. We saw kids and parents preparing to have good times.

The park is run by the city, and it seemed to be kept up very well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 44Boppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

EXCELLENT playground that covers different age groups, decent shade for hot sunny days without comprising on outdoorness. Nice sitting area for kids to snack. The train ride was wonderful and fun - the carousel ride was very popular with our 2 year old. You can also purchase balloons as a small souvenir of your visit. Went here 3 times during our 6 day stay because of its proximity, affordability, and the amenities. Happy kid, happy mom!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Holiday fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fun holiday distraction, but very busy. Be sure to arrive just after 5:30pm so you can purchase tickets for the train. A very pleasant family evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing