We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pool Scene, Great Bartenders, Perfect Downtown Scottsdale Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Pool Scene, Great Bartenders, Perfect Downtown Scottsdale Location!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent four nights here on vacation and everything was perfect. The pool and coutyard area was very nice, especially at night. Make sure you get a room with an interior view. The housekeepers left little treats for my three year old each day. The bartender knew my drink from day one and each night after. If you're looking for some fun, great service and perfect location to Scottsdale's shops and entertainment this is the place. Pool stays open til midnight which is awesome and was never too noisy. The onsite restaurant was excellent. Very happy we stayed here. One more thing I'd like to mention is the pool has a no inflatable policy yet they had no problem with letting my three year old use her inflatable ring. Awesome!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Savageslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Wow, thanks! Warms my heart to read that my houskeepers made a "Kimpton moment" as we call it......with your daughter! My team is so special and they show how much they care every day.
Thanks for sharing on TA
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    533
    195
    85
    57
See reviews for
381
608
84
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This resort is amazing. Pet-friendly, everyone is happy, the beach-like atmosphere with a real sand pool, wine happy hour, friendly bartenders....we had no reason to leave, except to go hiking and see the sunrise and sunset. Rooms are unbelievably large, and Firesky celebrated our special occasion with a delightful celebration. We love this place and plan to return same time next year. We did not experience any of the issues others have mentioned.

Room Tip: pay extra for a courtyard or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your celebration and wrote to Trip Advisor. Plan another trip back soon and thanks again for sharing on TA.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

OMG this place is heaven when it comes to service. Enter the hotel and meet the two most wonderful Front Desk clerks in Arizona. Meet Alex and Jessica. They should be working in a 5 Star International Resort as Training the rest of the world in what Great customer service is all about. It does not get any better than this. Can it? Then you meet Kristen. Bartender in the evening. 50 Stars to this property as it just keeps getting better. Great is not a level that touches this service. This property has the look and feel of pampered heaven. Everyone should try this resort & spa. This is what life is all about. PS. The Restaurant rates 5+ Stars.

Room Tip: Anything looking at the beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Alex, Kristin and Jessica are so special and I am thrilled to read that they made such an impression on you and your stay! I am smiling from ear to ear and so thankful you decided to tell the world through Trip Advisor! Come back soon.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My expectations for a Kimpton Hotel started out high, but this resort failed to live up to it. The lobby was nice and the service was friendly and accommodating, but the rooms had a La Quinta or Hampton Inn feel to it, rather than a high-end boutique hotel quality.

We stayed here for a small group conference. Everyone in our group was given street facing rooms, and while I had read the reviews prior suggesting the pool facing rooms were better, I didn't bother asking for a change of room since we were only here for two nights. The sound insulation is poor and we heard every door open and close, and whole conversations from anyone walking by. Our view was of the lovely alleyway and dumpsters with road noise filtering through the sliding glass doors.

The room service breakfast consisted of dry rubbery scrambled eggs, missing salt and pepper shakers, and chewy potatoes for over $80 for two people. The conference dinners both nights catered by the hotel were sub par. Some members of our group left hungry and promptly made reservations for a late dinner down the street.

The pools were decent, and the fire pits were nice for relaxing late into the night. I appreciated the s'mores packages provided by the hotels.

While the location was convenient and an easy walking distance to Fashion Square or a quick courtesy shuttle ride to Old Town Scottsdale, it did not feel any different than staying in any typical suburb.

Our stay was not terrible, but it was not distinctive.

Room Tip: Avoid street or outside facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amc347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am sorry you experienced just a very average stay. That is certainly not our goal and not what I strive for daily. I will look into your feedback as we usually exceed expectations and we let you down.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We (family of 4) just stayed at the FireSky for a 4 night mid-winter school break getaway. The location - close to all the Scottsdale restaurants and old town - was a big draw as was the lush courtyard/pool area.

We had a 2nd floor room facing the pool in the 200 building and although I can see what people mean by saying the buildings are a bit dated - there's still that motel feel - everything was in good shape and worked well. And if you aren't already a member of Kimpton's InTouch program, join as I did to get free WiFi which was surprisingly peppy (a lot of hotels have terrible speed but this was good).

There was a small but nice patio with two chars and a small table and we were lucky to have excellent (85 degree) weather during our stay so we had the french doors open most of the time. However, as a result of the noxious cigar smoke smell we had to close the doors a few times and turn on the air conditioning (not at all what I wanted to do). More on this huge negative after the rest of the positives.

We had breakfast outside at the restaurant a couple of times - good food, and friendly and prompt service. Pretty reasonable prices too. We ate other meals out - there are so many good restaurants nearby - so I don't know about lunch or dinner there.

The staff were friendly and polite without exception.

With all the good things, I wouldn't return unless they get rid of the cigar smoking areas. In the courtyard areas are a number of fire pits and seating groups, several of which are designated as cigar smoking areas. One of them was just about under our patio and the smell in the room was awful. It wasn't any better wandering through the courtyard in the evening when the smell of smoke hung in the air. I don't like being around cigarette smoke much, but cigar smoke is cloying and especially unpleasant. I couldn't fault the people smoking as the hotel encourages it (and sells cigars).

Having paid extra for a room overlooking the pools and courtyard, I was pretty unhappy to have the experience tainted by having to close the french doors several times.

The beds were horribly uncomfortable - we had a room with two queens - and although nothing was obviously wrong with the beds, we were all pretty uncomfortable.

We used room service once and I wasn't thrilled with how that worked. You got to leave a message and then they call you back. I waited a minute or two and then went out on the patio. The phone rang after another few minutes but only for barely three rings and I got up to rush back but missed the callback. I had to call again and leave a second message and then wait by the phone for a callback.

The rooms facing the parking lots have patios too, but they have a tarmac and car roof view, so I'd definitely bear that in mind if choosing to avoid the higher charge for the courtyard/pool views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsnover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for the review. I am sorry to hear that there were cigar smokers outside your door. We do allow cigar smoking at the lower lagoon firepit only, which is centrally located in the courtyard as to not bother the guest rooms, but guests will certainly smoke when they want and we do not always know when this occurs. It sure can be a bother and I am sorry it ruined your stay. Thank you for the other details as well and I will be sure to look into them and look for solutions.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel close to all the shopping and restaurants you could ever enjoy. The hotel staff was very accommodating and concerned with any issue we had from a room change due to an error in our booking online to an extended stay from an airline cancellation. A must stay hotel in beautiful Scottsdale.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Appreciate the nice review. Happy to hear we took great care of you!! Plan another trip back soon, supposed to be sunny and 89 today!
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said? Four winter-weary Canadian guys that needed a week long break! Greeted by very welcoming front desk staff after a full-day of delayed flights and missed luggage. What we really liked was the location of the resort. Walking distance to Old Town with restaurants and shops. And of course, the free Firesky shuttle with Brian at the wheel. Tons of reasonable places to eat- we ate at Roaring Fork; Wildfish; Sapporo and of course, Taggia in the resort. Morning breakfasts we ate at Morning Squeeze- a retro breakfast nook just south on Scottsdale Road. Very reasonable priced and great scenery. What we really enjoyed was the Firesky pool area. I highly recommend the poolside food menu which includes the best wood-fired pizza's! Lots of quiet spots when we wanted them; a great hot tub area when we needed to chill out. Really neat feature are the firepits at night; for warmth and ambience. The temperature does drop at night so the fire takes away the chill. Friendly and attentive dining room staff include Sarah and Brianne. Kudos to both of these ladies for making us feel welcome!! The resort was spotlessly clean; friendly and tolerant to our group. The concierge was very helpful as well with golf club rentals and referring us to GolfNow.com for booking discount tee times. We played Papago and The Phoenician courses. Also worthwhile are day trips to Sedona, which we did in our soccer-mom Grand Caravan. Also check out Octane Raceway for some super fast karting. Located on Indian Bend Road. 45 mph karts will challenge you! All-in-all, we were most impressed with this property. Super friendly and helpful staff all around! From housekeeping to front desk, we were looked after! We had a patio guestroom which offered two comfortable chairs and a table just outside our room to enjoy the gardens and the sunshine. We were in the 100 building which I recommend as it was very quiet and away from the noise of the road and the pool area. Our room had recently been renovated and was very well appointed. Can't think of a negative note to add. Please consider Firesky if you need a relaxing, centrally located place to stay in Scottsdale! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windmillandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Fantastic review of how to live like a local in Scottsdale! Truly appreciate your kind words and the shout out to our amenities and services we offer. My suggestion, next time you visit, stay the night in Sedona at our newest sister, The Amara, which sits right on Oak Creek Canyon. Quite special but of course I want you back at the FireSky after your day of exploring AZ.
Thank you so much,
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
2.7 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Property: The Scott Resort & Spa
Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Mediterranean-inspired bistro dining at The Scott Grill, Lounge and Acqua Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing