We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to like the place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I chose the Firesky after an extensive search through TripAdvisor for resort hotels in the area. Rated 4.5 out of 5, you can't go wrong, right?

Well, we arrived last Wednesday night and check-in was pretty smooth. When asked for a room upgrade (this only gives you a nicer outside view - parking lot vs nice courtyard) I declined and just asked for a convenient location. We were given room 223 - ground floor room in the back of the property by the parking lot.

So the truth is that the 4 star rating pretty much applies to the public grounds of the property - the pool area, courtyard and concierge/restaurant area. The rooms themselves are 2.5 star - dated and musty smell, no frills. The A/C exhaust is on the loud side but helped drown out the noise from adjacent rooms and hallway, including the barking dogs next door.

As we were in town visiting family & friends, we didn't stay on the property much. The reason I had to rate this 'resort' down to 2 stars is because of the unexpected "visitor" that decided to crawl in the door as soon as we opened it to fill the ice bucket. Yes, my worst fear came true. The resort does have a roach issue like a previous reviewer mentioned.

I contacted the front desk right away and after hearing my complaint, was placed on hold while they decided what to do. I was eventually offered a room upgrade and a $25 food/beverage credit. I suppose the resort tried to be courteous, but I really wanted to know if they were addressing the issue and getting the proper extermination treatments. Even though we moved rooms, I was really hoping for someone to follow up with us but unfortunately that didn't happen.

Overall, disappointing experience but glad other reviewers didn't have our bad luck. I hope the resort does clean up and get rid of their pest issues.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I want to assure you that we take "unwanted pests" seriously and have a maintenance program in place to control the outside coming in. Our lush landscape requires careful attention and please know that I care about your concerns. None of us want bugs and we do our absolute best to keep them out. I hope you will accept my apology.
Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family recently stayed for a few nights as a birthday getaway and really enjoyed our stay- the staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating and the pool area and lobby are both places that are very inviting and comfortable to hang out- especially for the free coffee in the morning and the free wine and sangria in the evening! We have had stay cations in several other Scottsdale resorts (Westin, JW Marriott, Montelucia) and found this resort to have a much friendlier, boutique feel than the others. It is fun to be able to bring our dog as well- the dog friendly room we stayed in was very clean and no evidence of previous dogs!

As a Kimpton member we got a nice discount for my bday and several nice surprises for my bday as well as the free wifi and mini bar $10 that all members get. We have stayed at other Kimpton hotels and they are quickly becoming our favorite for the extras and the smaller friendly resort feel.

The buildings themselves here are obviously an older build, but they have updated the rooms nicely and the pool and lagoon area are fantastic. Queen beds were comfy. Plenty of counter space in the sink/vanity area. Only gripe was the rooms are not very soundproof- we could hear people in the hallway as well as traffic through the sliding glass door quite often. Ask for a room away from Scottsdale rd. and I imagine it would be quieter. Also, be careful where you park as some trees house lots of birds.

Despite these minor issues I still give it 5 stars for the staff , extras, atmosphere, and cleanliness- would recommend it to family and friends!

Room Tip: Try to be further back away from Scottsdale Rd. to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Searched many places to stay in Scottsdale and after reading all the reviews decided on Firesky...based on both the price and reviews. We stayed a Weds-Sunday and it gets a bit more busy on the weekend...most of the pool chairs were taken in the afternoon on Saturday. The resort is very close to shopping and tons of food. The room was nice enough for us, super comfy bed, courtyard view, decent shower. Drink prices were kind of high, especially paying $4 for a can of coke and having them fill a cup with ice, open the can pour about half out and not giving me the whole can. We got smores about every night we were there, not a lot of people knew about this and were super excited when they saw them. The two pools work out well, majority of the young kids stay over at the sandy pool. The resort is deceiving from the outside because once you walk it doesn't feel like you are on the main road. We talked multiple times about coming back with our kids. Would recommend to anyone with or without kids.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days just for a "staycaton". With 2 kids--one teenager and a 6-month old baby--the swimming pool was perfect. We spent most of our time in the 3-foot wading pool with the little sand beach. It's an older property but with a recent renovation, the room was up-to-date with flat screen TV and a well-appointed bath. The lobby is gorgeousl

Taggia's is the hotel restaurant featuring Italian cuisine. A tad pricey but OK for a hotel restaurant. Very tasty pizzas.

The staff was very friendly. They provided a play crib for the baby at no-charge and free shuttle to a local restaurant, although we used our own car.

The courtyard atmosphere gives one the feeling of being really in different world.

A very pet-frendly place, although we opted to leave the dog at home.

Free wi-fi if you join the Kimpton Hotel program.

Room Tip: Of course the balconied rooms facing the pool would be preferred, but we stayed in a patio (lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at the Firesky from May 4-11. Even before we checked in, our questions were met with action which was great to make sure we had a few extras to keep the kids happy in the room and on the resort.

When booking we read reviews of a number of large resorts and a common complaint is that you have to walk a city block to get to the pool, restaurant or lobby. Firesky could never have this issue, we weren't apprehensive at all with our young ones going back to the room or to the lobby with everything in close proxim. It's a smaller sized property but the lush pools in the centre of the complex don't leave you wanting at all. Two large pools, one with sand entry were big enough for all with lots of room for lounging in the sun or shade. I noted on TA previously about trouble finding chairs which we saw on Friday/Saturday but not otherwise.

The hotel throws in some nice perks to look forward to, wine reception every evening was great, pool toys for the kids upon arrival was a nice touch. Having the firepits turned on every evening was great for us, and the smores kits were a hit with the kids. I wish they told me about the share-bikes parked out front though, I would've used them every day!

I'm not sure on the age of the property but it would seem to have been renovated in the last 7-8 years. The lobby, common areas and pools show it very well, the rooms could use a bit of love though. They were clean and comfortable but didn't have a new feeling that a good reno would give them.

Location - Couldn't be better. We felt like we were in the middle of everything we wanted to get to. Fashion Mall was a block away and so was Starbucks.

Concierge - very helpful. We had a dental emergency and the concierge had a book full of contacts and options for us to try.

Complaints?
- I wouldn't say it's a complaint as to have such a lush jungle environment around the pool is fantastic, but with all those trees come birds. The cabanas seemed to be protected from above but I saw the pool area attendants constantly hosing down the lounge chairs and deck surface. What are those birds eating?
- They could promote the food service more. On our second last day the bartender brought around smoothies for all of the kids, and immediately every family ordered snacks and more drinks. The pizza turned out to be a great wood fired style pie which we would've ordered earlier, probably every day if it were sampled say during the wine reception. They could've gotten a lot more room charges from us if they'd have reminded us.
- While booking it was vague as to whether there was a breakfast included option or not. Make this service more explicity available and we would've taken it.

Room Tip: Next time I'd pay the difference to have a poolside room. Not just a better view than the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zforza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Wow, thanks so much for the detailed review. I welcome your suggestions and will take them to my team. Hope you plan another trip back soon!
Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I found this Kimpton property to be one the nicest hotels I have stayed at over the past year. Grand lobby, beautiful grounds with a nice swimming pool area. Complimentary wine reception in the evenings. Excellent authentic Italian restaurant on property - that served the meal that could rival Tuscany in taste and flavor.

Room Tip: Take a bicycle trip to the Old Town. Bikes are freely available at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoytheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel during a 16 day trip in Arizona. Smaller resort hotel, beautiful lobby and smaller pool. Had an upbeat feeling with a jazzy music tempo throughout the lobby, restaurant and pool area. Very helpful and friendly staff, room were just ok, but clean and comfortable. Nice touch to let you "raid the mini bar" up to $10 and a complementary glass of wine should you miss the wine tasting at 5pm.

Room Tip: First floor is easier..as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,698 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
1.5 mi away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $178 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its La Vidorra Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Cuban-inspired dining at The Canal Club, Bar and Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing