We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We were very apprehensive after reading the reviews about this hotel when we went in. We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The first night we were there, they were having a yuppy hour (it only happens once a year and we were there by chance !). There were lots of dogs (not all of them were guests) and they had buffet style food for the dogs and us, humans. They even had beer for the dogs !
We didn't get the pet package (ridiculously priced) but they did give us a room on the ground floor after requesting one, right near the pool. We were able to take our dog everywhere, even to the pool area. We stayed clear of the main area as we didn't want to offend anyone. But we were still able to go in the water while our girl lay on the tiles, catching the sun.
The staff were really nice. The concierge even offered to watch our dog if we wanted to go away for a few hours.
The rooms were nice. We found them spacious and modern. I was surprised by some of the comments in this post about the rooms. Wonder if they have an older wing still !
Overall, all of us enjoyed our stay. This is probably one of few hotel that treated our dog nicely as well.
We did get a very good rate for the rooms. If I were to pay $300 I would definitely expect more.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Algood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    536
    200
    84
    59
See reviews for
384
615
84
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the Firesky over Mother's Day weekend and had a great time! The hotel is elegant and we found all of the staff to be very helpful. There is a sandy lagoon for kids (our daughter is 18 months old) and a deeper adults pool. Be sure to bring some sand toys and water guns! We stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was the Sunburst and Kimpton (the new owning group) has done a great job of getting rid of the western themed rooms for a more modern and inviting decor. Request a room facing the garden or pool on the second floor for the best balconies.
Overall the location is great (very close to Old Towne Scottdale and Fashion Square). Plus, the hotel has complementary car service to anywhere in a 3 mile radius.

  • Liked — The sandy lagoon pool
  • Disliked — lack of free continental breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

I only stayed at FireSky for one night while in Scottsdale on business, but it was one night too many. Like other reviewers have indicated, this hotel does a great job of luring you in from the street with the pretty flames out front and the fancy lobby. Unfortunately, it's a totally different story once you get to room. Getting to the room isn't so fun either. This is really more of a motel than a resort due to the fact that you have to drive around the exterior of the hotel so you can park your car very near your room. I wondered what the valet guys were for since everybody seems to drive their car to their own room. Maybe it was just another part of the disguise. I'll save you all of the boring details about the room, but the best way to sum it up is disappointing. Not only does everything in the room feel old, but there was a smell that I could only compare to the smell of my 90-year old grandmother's home. And it wasn't fresh baked cookies, that's for sure. It was more of a stale, almost moldy smell. Needless to say, I was relieved to be checking out after one night and I must agree with other reviewers that the price they charge for this experience is borderline criminal. I "negotiated" my rate down from $299.00 for the night to $275.00. The quality of the property is probably worth somewhere in the neighborhood of $150 - $200 a night. Too bad guests don't sleep in lobbies. If that was the case, this review might read differently.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Firesky this past weekend, and do not have one bad thing to say about it. They did not have the correct room ready for us, but we were flexible and they changed us the following morning, moved our bags while we laid by the pool. The cabanas were fantastic, and you must get a pina colada while lounging. Make sure to get a smore kit at night, and make your smores while sitting by the firepits! The rooms were very clean, a bit different than other Kimptons and perhaps a little overpriced. If you get a chance to go to the spa, request a massage from Matt, he did wonders for my back, and they give a good discount after your first trip to the spa.

Another great perk is the free shuttle within a 3 mile radius. All in all, we will be back!

  • Liked — The amazing pools.
  • Disliked — Room a little overpriced for what you get.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spy877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Fire Sky during our visit to Scottsdale. Our room was great which had its own terrace facing the pool. The pool area was very chic with cabanas and loungy club music. This was the only part that was a bit annoying since they played this music from 7am - 1am which can be heard throughout the hotel's public areas. Otherwise, the Jurlique spa was great and the food and drinks at Teggia which was offered poolside was great also. The calamari were so tender and we got used to our 10am mango margaritas by the pool. We can't wait to go back

  • Liked — Our hotel loaned pet goldfish, Zola
  • Disliked — The clubby music which can be heard from your terrace
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croapino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Booked two nights here but only stayed one: the accomodationas and service at this "resort" are appalling.

First of all, it is not a resort at all: it is an older property that used to be a typical motel - the kind where you drive your car around the back and find a parking place near your room then haul all your stuff in. Kimpton has refurbed the place with sleek furniture, modern art, tiki torches and thumping background music, and they sell it as totally hip. But it's really just a glorified Super 8 motel.

My husband, teenage daughter and I checked in around 2pm on a Monday; we had reserved a "pool/lagoon view" at a rate of $309/nite. Our room was in the 300 building on the ground floor; the room was actually below the pool, with a "view" of the block retaining wall holding up the pool - all we could see were the legs of other guests travelling to and from the pool.

The room was damp and smelled of mildew and sewage. We immediately called the front desk and asked for another room, but were told they didn't have any other rooms with two queens. We decided to make the best of it, but did track down the manager to let him know we were unhappy with the room. He was all jerky and hyper...I remember thinking "what is this guy on?" He feigned concern, asked our room number and name and we never heard from him again.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was good, though very expensive and the whole atmosphere of the restaurant was a bit on the over-the-top organic side. There was also a sewage smell drifing through the restaurant occassionally (that's organic, I guess)...which I discovered was coming from the lobby restrooms.

After dinner we held our noses until we fell asleep. The main entry doors in our building made a loud clanking sound every time they opened and closed, waking us up several times during the night. In the morning we called the front desk and asked to be moved. The clerk was perky and said "Of course, let me get back to you!" but she never called us back. The next clerk we spoke with was not as perky, and he never called us back either. I had finally had it and talked my family into moving to another hotel. I was concerned that FireSky would ding us for another night because of their cancellation policy, but after I spoke with the "manager" (I think they'll call anyone here a manager), who had to get back to us to let us know if they would charge us or not, she seemed very much in favor of us leaving the hotel. She informed me that we would only be charged for our room, tax, dinner and any other incidentals incurred while we stayed the night in that appalling room, which came to over $500! They genuinely seemed glad to see us go.

I have stayed at other Kimpton properties and had mixed results; some good, some bad, but this place was pathetic! The more time we spent there, the more I realized it was just a typical motel with a fancy facade and a big price tag. We moved to the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess and had a wonderful deluxe pool view room for $10 less per night. No comparison; unlike the FireSky the Princess is pure upscale class. SKIP THIS MOTEL - there are lots of better choices in Scottsdale!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Staff attitude, sewer smell in lobby and our room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Our family ( including kids aged 15 and 12 years old) spent 2 nights at this new hotel.
Having just returned from 5 overpriced days at the old/outdated Westin La Paloma in Tucson ( see separate review ), we were extremely satisfied with this new Kimpton property. We were somewhat concerned before we arrived , given the reasonable price at $284 per night in the centre of Scottsdale.

This hotel is new, freshly decorated, very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The pool area is great. Parking is free and close to your room.

While this hotel is not spread out over many acres like other resorts such as the Hyatt, Princess etc, it comes at a much lower price yet offers very comfortable and modern accommodations.

  • Liked — New, clean, bright and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,606 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
2.1 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Property: The Scott Resort & Spa
Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Mediterranean-inspired bistro dining at The Scott Grill, Lounge and Acqua Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing