We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service here was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The service here was awful”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in March for a family wedding. From the beginning there was trouble. The banquet people "promised" several things to the bride and groom that weren't in the contract, so they never happened. They messed up the reservations for at least six different rooms that I know of, but there were probably more. No one ever did anything about it, or apologized.
The hotel is an old "motel" that now has the hallways enclosed by doors at the end. The bathrooms have been updated, but the doors are hard to close. They do have a wine hour in the afternoon for free wine, but who wants to hang out at their hotel while on vacation?
The wedding itself went fine, but the food was only mediocre and there was really only one helpful waiter. The DJ was very good, and did exactly what the bride and groom asked them to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigEm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Oh no! I am SO sorry we let you down. Of course our goal here at the FireSky is to provide wildly positive experiences to all our guests, and we are concerned and disappointed when we aren't able to reach this goal. Rest assured that your experience is certainly the exception and not the norm. The good news is that we learn from our mistakes. Thank you for sharing your story and again, please accept my most sincere apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    533
    195
    85
    57
See reviews for
380
608
84
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After having stayed several years ago at Kimpton's 70 Park Ave in NYC, I now seek out Kimptons whenever I travel, most recently in Portland, NYC and Scottsdale.

Scottsdale's FireSky Resort & Spa couldn't have been nicer. Calling last minute seeking warm sunshine, we were lucky to get a reservation. Jeanette was terrific, helping us on the phone as my friend and I figured out our trip to Scottsdale. Upon arrival, Clayton went out of his way to be sure we were comfortable. And that was just the beginning. Our room (complete with a pool side view) was lovely - ample space and very comfortable beds. The lunches we had poolside were perfect. Well flavored chicken caesars with a beer - what could be better -- as were the continental breakfasts and of course Kimpton's signature wine hour. The FireSky Resort & Spa is very --- and I mean very--- well located, a short walk to shopping and great restaurants, or if you'd rather, the complimentary shuttle is available for drop off and pick up. The pool was lovely, the staff couldn't have been better, whether poolside, front desk, bar, shuttle service -- you guessed it, I will continue to seek out Kimpton Hotels when I travel.

And I would highly recommend the FireSky Resort & Spa in Scottsdale!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Just attended a weekend conference at the Firesky. Beautiful pools, fire pit, peaceful surroundings, well appointed rooms. But the most pleasant experience was the staff. Wow some of the most pleasant, helpful, and happy hotel staff I have ever met in all my travels! From Benny to Andrew to Jess they all made me feel at home. One of the best overall hotel experiences I have encountered in all my years!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayoburgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a whim. What a great find! We are dog lovers and really appreciate places that are pet friendly. Everyone we encountered during our stay was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are in great shape and we enjoyed the pool area during our stay closing it down. Then on to the one of the fire pits where we enjoyed smores that were provided by the front desk!

The price was very reasonable! In fact it was very surprising. We are Kimpton fans now and look for them where ever we are heading in our travels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Short trip for a conference. Great service, nice room. Wine in the afternoon, coffee in the morning. Hotel has been around for awhile, but well maintained. Only one restaurant on premises (Taggia). Only had breakfast, so I can't say very much about the food. Service was a little slow, even though it appeared to be well staffed. Swimming pool and outside areas comfortable and attractive. A little on the pricey side but would not hesitate to come again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We're happy you found us! A benefit of our "old bones" as we like to say is nowhere else will you find 8-acres in downtown Scottsdale with lush, beautiful grounds and landscaping like ours. You're only steps away, but wrapped in the comfort and intimacy of our little desert oasis. Hope we see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary in AZ and after staying at other Kimpton's decided to give the FIresky a shot...what a great place!!! The front desk remembered when I booked that it was our anniversary and a bottle of wine and a cheese tray was waiting for us in our room. Extremely attentive staff, especially the pool staff and the Bellhop's out front. Great drinks at the pool (try the pear flower lemonade) as well. Overall, we will certainly be back to stay again, thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Happy to hear we helped make your special celebration a little more special! For the month of April - National Stress Awareness Month - we're featuring the "Spa Treatment" cocktail in Taggia. Oh my..... If you liked the Pear Flower Lemonade, this will melt all your troubles away! Hope you get to try one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Outstanding service by a friendly and solicitous staff. Virtually everyone we came into contact with, from the front desk folks to the groundskeepers, made it a point to say hello and greet Lucy, our chihuahua, as though she were an honored guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDaySherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Lucy is such a doll! It's our pleasure to take excellent care of all of our guests....including the four-legged kind. Thanks for the nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
2.7 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Property: The Scott Resort & Spa
Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Mediterranean-inspired bistro dining at The Scott Grill, Lounge and Acqua Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing