We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay on a hot day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for two nights during the third weekend of June in between dropping one teenager off at the airport and picking one up. High temperatures reached over 110 degrees. Nonetheless we very much enjoyed our stay and the outdoor facilities which include two pools, a hot tub and a scenic "lagoon" in a heavily landscaped interior courtyard. The interior courtyard was very beautiful with palm trees and lush vegetation.

The main pool is bean shaped and 3 to 6 feet deep with three small cascades of water flowing into it. There is also a T shaped pool that runs from O to 4 feet. One T has a sand beach with zero entry. This is ideal for children. Another T has 3 to 4 feet of cool water with deep shade and a seat along the end. It is visually separated by a bridge and landscaping. This is ideal for couples on hot days. The hot tub is a plain round spa pool, which is shaded in the morning, but fully exposed on a hot summer afternoon. In the evening it is fine. The lagoon has three seating areas near it. One of these has a gas fire (upon request). Even on a hot night, we enjoyed our time here listening to the water features and looking out over the small lagoon.

There is a great lobby building with lots of amenities including a bar and restaurant. Prices seemed high. There are, however, tons of choices in every price range right near by and they have a free car service for local transportation, in addition to lots of free parking. While we were there, they had complementary wine from 5 to 6PM. Josh from Brazil did a great job of serving wine. In the morning they had several complementary coffees and teas with all sorts of flavorings. They also had a variety of complementary newspapers.

The desk staff was very good. Ivar did a great job of checking us in. Maid service on our stay over day didn't happen until 5PM even though we were gone from 10 to 4, but was done well when it was done.

The room was an ordinary American hotel room, but nicely done and with extra room between the beds and the TV. Unfortunately there was no comfortable reading chair and light, although there appeared to be room. There was a nice desk and chair, however. There was a deck with 2 padded Adirondak chairs. Unfortunately, our deck looked out over the parking lot, but it was still pleasant.

There are fancy 5 star resorts not too far away in Scottsdale. I have heard they are very nice. They are also expensive. There are cheaper 2 and 3 star chain hotels nearby also. Firesky, however, very much fit our needs for this weekend while giving us a luxury resort hotel. We obtained a good summer rate. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Half or so of the rooms overlook the parking lot. Rooms overlooking the pool may have some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CletusMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

The FireSky is a wonderful place to stay. The hotel has been updated and nicely done. Seems to be a favorite for both familys and couples.

Rooms are large and very nicely appointed.

One thing I would change is the bottom sheet on the bed. It is a flat sheet and doesn't stay tucked in. The mattress pad is very thin. Overall the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, just would have been nicer had the sheet been fitted.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I'm on my second stay at Firesky and can't articulate how great the service is. Literally everyone seems to go out of their way to introduce themselves or offer help. On top of that, there's a free shuttle that will drop you virtually anywhere within a couple of miles so it's easy to get to nearby restaurants and shops without a car. The rooms are good--clean, well-decorated and the sheets and pillows are super soft. The pool area is great with lots of seating and a few nice cabana type lounging areas. The bar and patio food/drink service is responsive and friendly (and tasty) and there are a couple of great firepits for evening lounging. Inside the lobby there are always refreshments of some sort: coffee/tea, sweets and free wine in the evening. Best of all, if you sign up for the Kimpton loyalty program, you get free internet--a MUST for me.
The only downside, if there is one, is that both times I've been here now there has been either light repair work or (currently) gardening with semi-loud equipment going on. Since it's 10am and I'm trying to enjoy the pool, the smell of the fumes and the noise are less than desirable. However, I suppose it has to be done sometime to keep the place looking as nice as it does.

Room Tip: Inside the courtyard so you have a better view than the parking lot, and upper floor would be desira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed the night at the Firesky resort and were more than pleased! The property was not only pretty, but clean! The pools are nice and I like the chair set up with the towels. It's not geared for kids since there aren't slides, etc, which makes it nice for a relaxing getaway!

There was a free wine reception and their appetizers were 1/2 off from 4-7 and very good!

The rooms are pretty and the balcony is a definite must if you stay!

We live in Scottsdale, but we are going to make this our summer getaway resort! We are going back next weekend!

Room Tip: Stay in a room that faces the inside of the hotel since the hotel is on a corner...it will be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish85260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful testimony!! As a local, I know how many choices you have in Scottsdale, so I appreciate the review and glad to see you coming back! Enjoy the summer and find me next time you are here. Would love to meet...
Cheryl Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

WE spent 2 nights here on our way to The Grand Canyon, one of the nights happened to be my birthday. We had made a reservation for a meal on the evening of my birthday, when we arrived we were told the restaurant was closed due to a wedding. However the manageress was so apologetic about the mix up and arranged for us to have a special table laid up outside with a full menu. Despite organising the wedding the staff could not have been more attentive and checked several times if we were OK and even sent a small cake with a candle to our room as an apology.
Our room was very spacious clean and comfortable the grounds of the resort are lovely, and it is a nice walk along the canal to the town, also a free bus service from the shopping mall a block away. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This resorthotel has a nice pool area. The rooms were average but the beds were perfect.
Little downside was that there were no coffeemaking facilities in the room. Overall it was a good stay and I wouldn't hesitate to reserve again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I absolutely love this place! I have stayed here twice, once with my husband and once on a girls trip.... We all Love It! Both times I have stayed the customer service was excellent and our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable! Love the pool, and the pool lunch menu (food is delish at both the pool and restaurant)! This hotel has a great ambiance you will not be disappointed. Additional Perks: 1) The hotel has an SUV that they use to transport you free of charge to surrounding areas within a 3 mile radius, they will drop you off and pick you up at your request. 2) The location is perfect 2-3 minutes in a car from Fashion Square Mall. 3) The surrounding area has absolutely delicious restaurants, can’t go wrong. 4) Sprinkles cupcakes…Yummm get some and bring them back to the hotel to eat by the pool late night so good!

Room Tip: Second story rooms with balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMeSomeOceanBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,693 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $177 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its La Vidorra Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Cuban-inspired dining at The Canal Club, Bar and Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing