We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older but Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Older but Awesome!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was my 3rd timing staying at this hotel. I love the well maintained, spacious grounds. I dont feel like I am staying right on top of another guest. Generally the resort is quiet! While the hotel is a little dated, it is always clean and comfortable. The pool areas are well maintained. The onsite bar has good food! A little pricey, but good.(popcorn should be a free luxury) The young lady who checked me out had a great personality. I wish I could remember her name to thank her properly. (Very skinny, short, fun haircut) Overall a very nice stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Becky,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our resort. Thank you for your business, and we hope to you again soon! We will make sure to share your compliment with our staff, and let them know that their services are appreciated as well.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    462
    248
    102
    77
See reviews for
220
326
78
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a large resort and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property. Attended a convention and thought this was top notch.

The staff is friendly and helpful. As mentioned, the resort is large with multiple buildings throughout and you may need to get a bell man to bring you to your room in a golf cart. The lobby is nice but not pretentious.

There is nice restaurant and lounge with jazz music called Remington's. Did not eat here but really enjoyed the lounge. JD's lounge is a sports bar with good food. A few other more casual places are on the premises. There is an excellent Sushi restaurant across the street called Roka Akor which was magnificent. A Starbucks is also across the street.

I stayed in a two floor room - bedroom on top, living room on bottom. Patio and a balcony. 2 full bathrooms. Felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Clean and comfortable.

Pool is very nice and fairly quiet but warm in late March. Decent workout facility.

Excellent convention facilities.

Spring training is close - saw the A's and Mariners play in Phoenix.

Highly recommend if you are going to Scottsdale area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Bubbafb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you are booking travel plans to Scottsdale, we hope that you will think of us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a long weekend at the Scottsdale Plaza for a work event... While obviously an older facility, I found the hotel to be clean and a great place to stay! The pools were nice, food was good and I would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Th0mas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave the wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is BIG and definitely beautiful. The rooms are a bit outdated but are still very nice and clean. Very comfy bed. Great service. They provide shuttles for free. Dave, the driver, was very nice and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't call a taxi. Free shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likes2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Room at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Likes2Review,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our resort. Thank you for your business, and we hope to you again soon! We will make sure to let Dave the Driver know that his services are appreciated as well.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

First impressions are very misleading at this resort. You are greeted by a bellman, before walking into a nicely presented marble foyer and reception area. The grounds of the resort and very well manicured. On your way to the room, you pass by a nice restaurant and bar, nice outdoor pool, and very well kept sauna and tennis courts. That's where the well presented areas stop...

The rooms are a disaster; glad my work was paying for this place and not me. If it wasn't for the flat screen TV you would think you just walked through a time-warp into 1988. EVERYTHING, except the TV was out dated. The mattress was uncomfortable, the pillows were cheap and there was a massive mirror in the room so everywhere you look you keep seeing reflections of yourself.

I began thinking that maybe i was unlucky and got a bad room, and then my co-workers who were staying in other parts of the resort had the same experience as me. I chose this place because of location to where my business meetings were. I learned my lesson. Only stay here is somebody else is paying for it, and ALL other hotels are sold out.

Quality of food was high. Service was great. Rooms were beyond a joke.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ascotinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Ascotinmpls,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We apologize that you and your co-workers were unhappy with the rooms. It is never our intention for a guest to be uncomfortable during their stay. We will look into each of the issues you have mentioned. The resort is updated regularly, and we take all of our customer's reviews seriously. We would like to invite you to visit us again and hope that you will give us a second chance.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is such a neat place to stay. Very convenient to everything. The rooms are clean, the hotel has a southwest feel (I would hope so). The employees are gracious. The food situation leaves a lot to be desired. I would definitely eat elsewhere. Across the street is a Mall that has a Roka Akor in it...don't miss it. Easy to get transportation from the hotel to just about anywhere and you can book fun trips if need be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front desk area. This resort is spread out and if you are off the beate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbi1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Good Afternoon Barbi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review of our resort. Also, thank you for leaving a tip for other travelers as well. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I highly - highly recommend this resort. It is value priced, great service, people are really nice and will help you on anything you ask, and most of all - it is immaculate.

Many restaurants close by, and the restaurants at the hotel are great.

Room Tip: The lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScottsdalePlaza, Director of Rooms at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for leaving your delightful review. We appreciate your business and all of the feedback you provided. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Travis Giles
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.8 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.6 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Property: Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Address: 7200 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-3699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Old West Meets the New Guests arriving at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort find an oasis of tranquility that evokes a sense of home while capturing the essence of Arizona. Graceful Spanish Mediterranean architecture and décor create a cozy, private estancia-style feel. Warm desert breezes and views of Camelback Mountain in the distance settle the pulse. Nearby Cave Creek offers a glimpse into the life of the old west while James Beard award winning Chefs are crafting new specialties in Scottsdale and Phoenix. A Room for Every Lifestyle The Scottsdale Plaza's five distinctive room, suite and lodge options are arranged in intimate clusters that allow for quiet and privacy. Options ranging from larger-than-standard, deluxe guest rooms to beautifully appointed, residence-style lodges and suites and an extraordinary Presidential Suite, we have the perfect room for family vacations, romantic getaways and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing