We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Motel 6 with Granite Countertops- Stay some where else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Motel 6 with Granite Countertops- Stay some where else”
Reviewed February 19, 2008

I booked it through Priceline for $150/night. For what I paid I was greatly disappointed. Grounds are 4 star quality but rooms are definitely not, more like 3 Star at best. Rooms are like a Motel 6/ La Quinta with granite counter tops.

Staff made me feel uncomfortable (or like a pariah) for not using their car/taxi service. Their cars are very nice (unmarked) but extremely overpriced (3 times the cost of a taxi). I used the local taxis instead of their overpriced car service.

Example:
Their car service wanted to charge me $80 for a one way trip to the Airport for my wife and I. I instead called the local cab service and they cahrged me $25.

  • Liked — grounds
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civilfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    462
    248
    102
    77
See reviews for
220
326
78
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I have stayed at Ritz Carltons, Westins, and other very high end hotels and resorts in a lot of places. For this trip, I wasn't looking to spend a tremendous amount of money, and found a deal on the Scottsdale Plaza on one of the discount sites. I quickly booked it, then read the reviews. Oops, I thought, and braced myself for the worst. However, I was very pleasantly surprised (and relieved!). The resort was not at all "one step above a Best Western," as one reviewer stated, but very lovely, well maintained, and really, quite close to the level of some of the very high end chains. The restaurant and lounge, Remington's, has a great atmosphere (live jazz in the lounge most evenings), and the food was quite decent. All of the services I used (internet, room service, transport around the grounds, etc.) were wonderful. The room wasn't done in fabrics and colors I would have chosen, but was really spacious, with nice materials used, good lighting and amenities, full wet bar, etc. I don't know what the problem was when the other reviewers stayed, but I thought the place easily rated four stars.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2008

I booked through Priceline to save over $100 a night compared to Expedia and Travelocity. If I had known I would get this hotel I would have never done it. The room smelled musty and like stale smoke, probably from the old drapes, carpet, and comforters from years ago I assume. There are popcorn ceilings, a tiny bathroom, and everything just felt so dated, dirty, and worn out. This hotel room in my opinion is barely a 3 star rating. They need to do a major remodeling on the hotel. Also, I had a business need to print something quickly. The business center charged $14 to print 2 pages. They charged $10 to use the computer, which I never even touched because the employee took the memory stick from me, put it in the computer, and printed the document. It was a $2 charge per page printed, to bring the total to $14. Total rip-off. I have never stayed in a hotel with such outrageous business center fees. Overall, I was very displeased and uncomfortable in the room and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — rooms are old and gross and the business center is a rip-off
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dcg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We made a last minute trip to Scottsdale the weekend before the Superbowl. Rates were high and rooms were few. We finally managed to score a room via Priceline for $100 a night, resort fee included. Having read the reviews here, we were quite disappointed when we discovered we were booked at the Scottsdale Plaza, bargain price or no bargain price.

We were pleasantly surprised-the grounds are well maintained and lucious. The lobby and meeting space is luxurious. Rooms were certainly not four star plus quality, but a long way from motel 6. Our room had been recently renovated...new carpet and furnishings, with the possible exception of the bed which sagged.

Friendly staff. Great location. Great grounds. Rooms beneath the overall quality of the resort, but better than I expected after reading the reviews.

Would I return? Probably not, unless I could stay here again for a Priceline rate....

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank dr__dawggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

t
This property is in need of some major love. The room and its decor are dated. The front door would not open easily, two of the three chairs in the room needed to replaced (one broken, the other so soiled I would not sit on it), the bathroom shower knob had mold in it, could hear the shower/bathroom use of another room... But staff seemed very nice and were willing to try to correct the problems.

  • Liked — towels
  • Disliked — the room need some serious care
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank hhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I stayed at a meeting in January and would grade the stay and experience "B-". The staff was pleasant and the grounds are ok. I asked for a king size bed room and was given that the second day of my stay. The front desk confused the agreement regarding internet access that had been negotiated with the conference and told me that I'd have to pay $9.95 in addition to the daily 15 dollar resort fee only to correct it the next day to "included with the resort fee." One day I had to go to Kinko's to use their computer because the internet access was not working until almost 7 pm.

The accomodations were adequate for the meeting and the location was actually quite good. The rooms were very average with plastic bathtubs!!

The people at the front desk really were trying to help but when they gave me special directions to drive to the airport on my departure, they gave me the wrong not updated direction form which I inquired about.

Get the picture....if you are being taken there by a company and not paying it's better than average...if the bill is coming out of your pocket, it felt expensive. Oh....and the "work out are" is two converted racquetball courts and was marginal....I went a mile away to use my LA Fitness membership instead.........

Grade
1. rooms C
2. attitude A-
3. Cost B- for what one gets

  • Liked — Location and people were nice
  • Disliked — Average rooms, cost, confusion about having to pay extra for internet access, gym
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RichieRichPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

After reading the reviews here, I almost changed to another location....My expectations were not positive going in....But once we got here I was surprised with how nice everything was.....we are staying in one of the two bedroom suites and not in the main building........so maybe there is a difference, But....I will be coming back in the future as the accomodations are average or above.....No Problems at all.........

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.8 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.6 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Property: Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Address: 7200 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-3699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Old West Meets the New Guests arriving at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort find an oasis of tranquility that evokes a sense of home while capturing the essence of Arizona. Graceful Spanish Mediterranean architecture and décor create a cozy, private estancia-style feel. Warm desert breezes and views of Camelback Mountain in the distance settle the pulse. Nearby Cave Creek offers a glimpse into the life of the old west while James Beard award winning Chefs are crafting new specialties in Scottsdale and Phoenix. A Room for Every Lifestyle The Scottsdale Plaza's five distinctive room, suite and lodge options are arranged in intimate clusters that allow for quiet and privacy. Options ranging from larger-than-standard, deluxe guest rooms to beautifully appointed, residence-style lodges and suites and an extraordinary Presidential Suite, we have the perfect room for family vacations, romantic getaways and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing