We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average rooms, nice grounds, "resort fee" is outrageous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average rooms, nice grounds, "resort fee" is outrageous”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel has very nice grounds, pools, etc, however the rooms are dated. The room is spacious, but the bathrooms feels very dated as does some of the furniture. Its definitely not 4*. What really really irritates me however is the "resort fee". What is the "resort fee" for??? It is not optional and yet from what I could tell, nothing in addition to what any other hotel offers was given for the "resort fee". Does it include breakfast? No. Does it include wifi? No. Spa credit? Definitely not. So what does it include? To expect someone to pay $13/day for wifi IN ADDITION to the resort fee is just rude. If the resort fee is not optional then you must include it in the room rate, otherwise it is completely misleading. The advertised room rate is essentially false advertising. Could someone from the hotel please respond and notify the world what the resort fee is...that any hotel in London, Bangkok, San Francisco or Vancouver doesn't charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    430
    240
    99
    74
See reviews for
204
299
71
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in transit between Phoenix and Northern Arizona. Overall, this was a great resort. The rooms met expectations (although the other reviews about the noisy air conditioners and locked mini-bars are accurate) and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained.

There were several nice pools, a hot tub truly as large as they advertise, what appeared to be a nice day spa, tennis courts and multiple restaurants. There are also multiple shopping centers and restaurants within a few minutes.

Cons: Loud air conditioner in rooms, expensive in-room internet, exorbitant resort fees (if you don't book through name-your-own Priceline or similar) and Sunday night concerts a couple of blocks away which can be loud until 10:00pm or so.

Overall, this is a property recommended for those not accustomed to staying at ritzy resorts (such as a young couple like us). Those that are used to expensive resorts routinely would probably be disappointed with small details.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort during your trip! We're glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities and we appreciate your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi. You may also be pleased to hear we are updating our rooms, which should be finished sometime in mid-June. Again, thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Booked this hotel for a girl's weekend for 6 of us flying in from all over (and a couple locals). The service at the hotel was fantastic!! It's close to old Scottsdale, so the hotel provided a free shuttle service downtown (we gave the driver a good tip!) we had to grab a cab back to the hotel after a night on the town, but its only a $10 ride.Shout out to Mark on the night staff who golf carted the 6 of us back to our suite ( at 3 am), noticed the pull out bed wasn't made up, so set it up for us, got us sheets & pillows, generally just went above and beyond to ensure we were well taken care of. This was the most notable example of the great customer service that we experienced while there, but certainly not the only example. I would highly recommend this hotel to any groups looking for a resort in Phonenix that a good location to Scottsdale without the arrogant attitude and unreasonable rates you find in the heart of Scottsdale!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our resort. We're so happy to hear you and your friends had a great time during your trip to Scottsdale. We're glad to hear your experience with our staff was pleasant. Many are well-seasoned in the hospitality industry and have been with The Scottsdale Plaza Resort for many years and we're glad you were able to experience this first-hand. We hope to see you again soon for your next girl's weekend in Scottsdale, or any other occasion that may bring you back into town! Thank you again for the kind words and be sure to "like" us on Facebook to keep up to date with our latest offers, events, and news!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We named our own price on Priceline for a 4-star hotel and got this resort. We were at first really excited because the pictures online are beautiful, but when we arrived at our room, it was definitely not 4-star worthy. Fortunately because we had named our own price, we didn't overpay for our stay (otherwise we would have felt very ripped off). Also, we did not have to pay the extra $17/night resort fee since it was already included in our Priceline quote (thank goodness).

Grounds and common areas (lobby, etc.) are very beautiful and well-kept, but the rooms are mediocre. There is no free Wi-Fi (they will charge your room), and at the business center you have to pay several fees to use the computer ($ just to log on, $ for each minute, $ for each printed page). They do have complimentary boarding pass printing though. They have snacks and bottled water in the room (with a list of how much each costs). They also have a small package with sunblock and chapstick near the sink (with a brochure listing its price). Soon we were too scared to touch anything in the room without incurring some extra fee!! Haha!

Our room for the most part was pretty clean, aside from the 2 Dayquil gel capsules that were on the closet floor. The pillows also smelled like wet dog... which was kind of gross. The A/C unit is loud, but works like a champ. We got a good night's rest because the place was very quiet.

Loved the bunnies frolicking on the grass around the resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliSunshyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We appreciate the feedback regarding the Wi-Fi and rooms. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms for a more comfortable stay for our guests, which should be completed sometime in mid-June. We appreciate the feedback to help us get better and we will be sure to share it with the rest of our team. We're glad you had a good night's sleep and got to visit with the bunnies, as well! We hope to see again for your next trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Scottsdale Plaza Resort is a "must stay" for traverlers. The entire experience was magical. My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and were truly blown away by the great staff, beautiful grounds & numerous ammenities. They have several pools to choose from (which never close), several great bars onsite, "Remmingtons" a 5 star restaurant, breakfast buffet, tennis courts, and a salon. I bought my wife a Sweedish Massage and Facial while I had cocktails by the pool. She loved it !!!! The staff go up and over to make every minute of your stay first class. We stayed in a Patio Room, w/king size bed !! This room has a seperate living area, couches, wet bar, built in fireplace and a flowered garden patio for privacy and romance. We loved it.. I had business the 1st day of our stay and my wife simply relished in the many offerings of the Plaza Resort. We bar hopped on the grounds, then ended up at Remmingtons for a fantastic dinner..!!!! I have stayed at 5 stars from the Drake in Chicago, to the Hyatt Resort of Tampa and the Scottsdale Plaza simply sets a new benchmark for quality...If your staying in Phoenix- Do yourself a favor, Stay at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort. The front desk even suggested we eat at the "Orange Sky" restaraunt at Talking Stick Casino, 8 miles into the desert !! Great Call !! Thanks We will be back....

Room Tip: Try the Patio Room, very classy !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review regarding your stay at our resort. We're so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience overall. Many of our seasoned staff members have been with us for many years and we are happy that they provided you with exceptional service. We hope to see you and your wife soon for your next stay in Scottsdale! You can always "like" us on Facebook to keep up to date with all of our events and special offers! Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We are currently staying at this resort and the staff have been over the top great! The reason I didn't give 5 stars is because they are still a little dated, they do however appear to be putting in new carpet , which would make all the difference. and they now have flat screen tv's . The a/c works great and they are spotlessly clean. We have eaten at the pub which was delicious (Potato skins and a pile of nachos a mile high and the dirty martini was huge and perfect). We asked for a special order for room service and were treated like royalty and all our requests were met and then some. There are carts available to shuttle you anywhere on the property which is an added bonus.. YOU HAVE TO EAT AT REMINGTON'S It is the steak house where you can currently eat two for one entree's the manager Michael and his team where enthusiastic to help meet all your desires and he food was amazing, portions where huge, drinks were certainly not watered down even during happy hour..Would definately travel here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, Elisa! We're glad to hear you are enjoying your stay at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort and have had a pleasant experience with our staff! We appreciate your suggestions regarding more updated rooms. You are correct that we are currently in the process of updating our rooms for our guests' comfort and we hope to see you again next time you're in town! Enjoy the rest of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This year, the reunion was held at Scottsdale Plaza resort. After last year's not-so-good stay at the Arizona Grand (see review), I was unsure how our stay would be. The family who got the rooms, however, had stayed here before and really liked it, so I was very hopeful of good things.
And lemme tell you... this was a 180 from last year!
The resort grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. Usually, this doesn't mean much, but at this resort, the rooms are like little condos with sidewalks leading you around the grassy property. So, having beautiful grounds was a must in it's very design. It was so lush and quiet, bunnies come out and graze with their babies in tow. It was very nice to see :) I saw a lot of the staff using bicycle style carts on the paths instead of noisy motors, so that could be another reason why the rabbits like it so much.
The insides were beautiful. The rooms family got for us had a separate bedroom and living room areas, and a big enough dining area for 4 adults to fit with ample room. The bathroom is accessed through the bedroom. Our room had a nice little fire place too, although not used (it's becoming summer and fast! It was already 100 that weekend). Our room had a nice patio area that was shaded by trees. The gates had high latches, and the walls were tall enough that you had a little privacy (but you can see over them), and provided a little safety when it came to our child. The pool gates also have very high latches, which I appreciate.
Family all had rooms backing a pool, and we had a blast in the pool for 2 days. It was clean and towels were always available. The tables around the pool have big sun shade umbrellas that staff opens in the morning and closes in the evening.
What really appeals to me when you say "resort" however, is service. And for the size of this property, service was NOT lacking! My daughter, unfortunately, got sick while wrapped up in a blanket. We cleaned her up using towels, and tossed it all out on the porch. We called the maid service and explained what happened, and within minutes, someone had come with fresh linens and towels (including extra sheets, which weren't needed), and took away the yuck (with an apology and a well deserved tip). No issues, no rudeness, and very prompt. It was great.
We ordered room service one night, and comparitively, the room service is not super expensive. I mean.. room service on it's own is, by definition, pricey, but we got two meals for 37.00, and that included the tip! The arrangement was nice, and they included goblets of icewater, although that was not described in the menu (bonus). All the extras you'd need were there in tiny little serving sized bottles, of which they provided many. The food was hot, and pretty good tasting, and it all arrived in about 15 minutes or so. Removal of the tray was very prompt as well.
Service was very polite and attending to your needs, and that was everywhere on the grounds. Maids were respectful of "Do not disturb" signs, and our rooms were attended while we were away every day. The few we interacted with were very friendly.
So, overall, a 4/5. The only complaints might be that a little updating could be good, and having queen beds instead of doubles would make a HUGE difference in comfort. Also, a quieter AC system would be a good update. It's not bad, but you do hear it in its various cycles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We're happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff, as well. We hope you had an excellent family reunion, too. We also appreciate your suggestions regarding updating rooms. You may be pleased to hear we are in the process of updated our rooms. We hope to see you again next time you are in town and thank you once again for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.8 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,392 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,774 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Property: Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Address: 7200 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-3699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Old West Meets the New Guests arriving at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort find an oasis of tranquility that evokes a sense of home while capturing the essence of Arizona. Graceful Spanish Mediterranean architecture and décor create a cozy, private estancia-style feel. Warm desert breezes and views of Camelback Mountain in the distance settle the pulse. Nearby Cave Creek offers a glimpse into the life of the old west while James Beard award winning Chefs are crafting new specialties in Scottsdale and Phoenix. A Room for Every Lifestyle The Scottsdale Plaza's five distinctive room, suite and lodge options are arranged in intimate clusters that allow for quiet and privacy. Options ranging from larger-than-standard, deluxe guest rooms to beautifully appointed, residence-style lodges and suites and an extraordinary Presidential Suite, we have the perfect room for family vacations, romantic getaways and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing