We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place !”
Review of Cien Agaves

Cien Agaves
Reserve with OpenTable
Cien Agaves is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: North Scottsdale Road
Transit: The Scottsdale Trolley has a drop off on the corner of our street!
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun place !”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Go in for happy hour ! Drinks and food are affordable. It is good food...... average
margaritas. A little short on tequilla, but taste okay. Can get noisy sometimes.
Some cute women working there and cute women clientel.

A good find. Get off the beaten path. Get away from Scottsdale Blvd ! Every place on
Scottsdale Blvd. is overpriced ! Rent is too high !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    157
    49
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were touring Old Town on our last day in Arizona. We stumbled upon this restaurant around dinner time and we were very pleased. It happened to still be happy hour when we arrived (approximately 6 p.m. and their HH goes until 7!).

Appetizers were around $5 each and they had their Tinca Tacos for $2 each. It was a nice surprise to get such quality food at a really great price - especially at the end of our trip. Arizona can be a bit pricey!

Bottom line, stop here if you are in the area, it was great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little fun gem”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Recommended by a local and I was not disappointed. A fun casual and lively atmosphere with a good variety of menu options. A group of us took advantage of their 4-7pm happy hour prices to enjoy appetizers, then topped it off with their 10 Taco mix/match deal. Great "street" tacos and I had Seared Ahi and Grilled Ono, both with lots of meat, and limited cabbage. This seems more of a local spot than a touristy one, with recorded pop and indie music instead of mariachis.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So ridiculously good!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was visiting Scottsdale with 6 friends for the weekend and we wanted just good ole, flavorful, and yummy Mexican food. None of us wanted anything too fancy but we did want delicious and we found it at Cien Agaves. It's a little Mexican place right in the heart of old town Scottsdale and was highly recommended to us by friends that live in Phoenix. All of us got the taco plates, which range from $9.95 for 2 tacos with rice and beans, to $35.00 for 10 tacos with rice and beans. You can mix and match from their taco menu which has about 20 to chose from. All of us loved what we got. As for myself, I loved their shrimp diabla taco and their vegetarian potato taco. Even their rice was super flavorful. We all ordered their cucumber margarita and it was so refreshing and tasty. If you're looking for a fancy, high end place this may not be up your alley. If you want really yummy and fresh Mexican food then you've come to the right place. I'll definitely be back when I visit the area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexisK_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, average service ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Delicious tacos and margaritas, all reasonably priced. Something was wrong with their water though- yuck! Tasted awful. Our server was pleasant but certainly didn't go out of her way for us, despite the fact that the place was empty. She vanished after she brought us the check, not even bothering to clear off our empty glasses and plates so we could sit and finish drinks more enjoyably. Overall, good food at fair prices for Old Town.

Helpful?
Thank Vsselkowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cien Agaves also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cien Agaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing