We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roka Akor

Roka Akor
Reserve with OpenTable
Roka Akor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North of Indian Bend on Scottsdale Rd
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Upscale and Delicious”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is not the typical sushi restaurant. It is gourmet food prepared in the Japanese grill style. My ribeye was some of the best I have ever had. All the food was fresh, natual and healthy, and while not cheap, was well worth the money. The atmosphere is great, with high ceilings and widely spaced tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 248MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    79
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the Chicago location several times but this was my first visit to the Scottsdale restaurant.

This is unique and recent sushi dining experience. Service is good but not quite up to the standards in Chicago.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The restaurant caught our eye as we drove past and we quickly did a u-turn. We arrived at 9 pm on a Friday night, with no reservations, and were luckily seated. Overall, the food was great as was the service. We enjoyed some sushi and Kobe beef filet was perfectly prepared. We ordered some side dishes too (broccolini) which came out a little late and truthfully were nothing special...could have done without.

It was nice experience overall. Glad we tried it. Not sure I would rush back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This large and busy restaurant reminds me a lot of Roy's restaurants. It specializes in Asian fusion foods...mostly Japanese style.

We went on a Friday and that was a mistake...between the bar business and early diners it was pretty noisy and the service was sporadic. The service was friendly and helpful, but disappeared after the order was taken. The appetizers and a separate vegetable dish arrived quickly and the entrees were served unadorned by itself some 20 minutes later.

The food was on the other hand was mostly very good: Appetizers: Butterfish Tataki and Steamed Mussels w Mushrooms, The side dish: Vegetable Tempura, was served too soon and was not as flaky as expected. The main dishes: Scallops w XO sauce and Ponzu, and Black Cod were delicious. The later was edible with chop sticks and was both moist and memorable.

A mixed experience at best. It might be better on a less busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent excellent food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Third time back to this location over the past couple years. Food is great especially Kobe beef filet. The restaurant has enough variety that even if you are not a big sushi fan, there are plenty of options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PH4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roka Akor also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roka Akor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing