We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apache Gold Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Carlos
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms were VERY nice. They seem to have been recently updated/remodeled. The room was fresh and clean every day. The beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff was welcoming and friendly. The room was a great value for the price!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opichikwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well, this wasn't the fanciest, most luxurious Best Western I've stayed at but it was as clean as can be and the girls at the front desk were very nice and helpful. I had a big room overlooking the desertscape golf course, which was nice. I had to stay here for 2 weeks for work and it was quite pleasant.

There are only about 5 TV channels, so that's a bummer but at least the rooms had flat screens and movies to order. I like the fluffy pillows but the bed was a bit lumpy. But, for what it cost it's a good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having spent 20 years in the service my family has traveled 7 times cross our great country. Have stayed in many different motels during that time. After 1968 we started staying at the BW while going from Mich to Ariz every year. This was one of the best we have been able to stay at. Rooms were huge and very comfortable to sit around in. Will be going back 4 or 5 times this coming year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helped me with a change in my room location. Everything was handled great. The facility was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent at the Apache Grill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed here on two occasions. Our most recent trip was this past late October 2012.
We had a nice room with 2 queen beds and non smoking. There was no smell of cigarettes at all which surpised me because some people will still smoke in the non smoking rooms.The A/C worked perfectly and kept our room nice and cool. The room looked recently remodelled and had a nice flat screen TV. There are sitting areas near the front desk and a couple of computers for the patrons that are free to use. They have a good sized swimming pool and a jacuzzi. I wish the jacuzzi was closer to the entry gate, but that's just my preference. Everything from our room, to the pool area and the sitting areas are nice and clean. The decor is nice too. The staff at the front desk is no overly friendly, but they get the job done. There aren't mean or anything, they just do their business without much emotion (like smiling). We were fine with it, though. The prices are fair and we got a discount special that was cheaper than using our AAA card and they gave us coupons. One for a free breakfast and one for free $10.00 of slot play in their casino. And since we stayed 2 nights there, they gave us a 2nd set of the coupons to use the next day. And if you have never been to the casino, if you sign up for their free play card, they add $10.00 to it to start you off. And the card comes with a cool card holder thing that you can clip onto your shirt or bottoms. It retracts when you remove your card from the slot machine. Check in and check out was easy peasy. Nice all you can eat buffet in the casino. A snack bar food place in the casino with alot of food/snack choices) I reccomend the battered and fried zuccini. Yum. We were close to the service desk so we didn't have to use the elevator.This is the only place we will stay when visiting my husband's family. 4 years ago we stayed one night here (were had read bad reviews so we only booked one night) and the 2nd night at a Motel 6 or Motel 8. I forget) and NEVER AGAIN!. It was nasty and had blood splattered on the walls and it was scary to be there. Horrible experience and the manager didn't even come to look at the blood when I went to him right away. Unfortunately we had to say there because there were no openings anywear else. Anyways, all in all, I reccomend the Holiday Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: Clean room with modern decor. Reasonably priced Nice restaurant in casino (All you can eat Buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItchyAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was very clean. Especially noteworthy were the plush bath towels in the clean bathrooms. They extended Senior discounts without even asking. A very pleasant stay, The attached casino was also convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I would be passing through the area and we called the day before to reserve a room at the Best Western Apache Gold Hotel. Since this facility is apparently part of the "Best Western" chain, we assumed that the accomodations, staff and customer service would be acceptable, if not above average. We were wrong.

I called the hotel directly to make the reservation. I requested a 1st floor room and, if possible, early check-in, understanding that these requests were subject to availability.

We arrived at 1 PM and were told that our room was not ready and to check back at 3 PM. We came back at 3 PM and again were told our room "was not ready." The desk clerk indicated she could give us a 2nd floor room to which we agreed. We went up to the room with our luggage in tow. Once inside the room, we discovered that the air conditioning unit was dead as a doornail. It wouldn't turn on- no power - nada. It was over 90 F degrees outside. I went back down to the desk to report the problem.

The desk clerk's response was that she would report the problem maintenance. I requested, instead, a different room. She assigned us another room on the same floor. My wife and I, luggage in tow, proceeded to the new room. We opened the door, and to our surprise, the room was already occupied. There were clothes on hangers, an open suitcase and valuables (watch, cash etc) in plain sight, although no one was in the room.

I went back down to the desk and described what we had just experienced. The two young ladies manning the desk had no response except to stare at their computer screen. No apology, no evidence of concern, no nothing. After staring at the screen for several minutes, they assigned us to a 3rd room. When we entered the room, the first thing we noticed were multiple stains on the carpet, dirt stains on the tub, and a window shade that was shredding. However, the AC worked, the TV worked and we decided to make the best of it. Entire check-in process was 30 minutes without a hint of concern or apology on the part of the staff.

A few days after our stay, I received an email from Best Western CEO David Kong, requesting that I take the time to complete a survey regarding our stay. I completed the survey, describing our experience in the same manner I have described it in this review.

Later in the day I received an email from Cecelia Miles who identified herself as the "front office manager" of the Best Western Apache Gold Hotel. She apologized for her hotel not "exceeding our expectations." Heck, the hotel never came close to meeting our expectations.

In her email, she requested my phone number because, in her words, "I would like to personally speak to you, so that we may figure out how we can rectify this situation. May I have your phone number? I would like to hear the details of the situation." That's a direct quote from her email.

Minutes after receiving her email I attempted to call her. I was told that she was not available. I left a message. I then emailed her, giving her my phone number. It's been eight days. I haven't had a response. So much for any semblance of Best Western customer service.

I understand things can go wrong in the hotel business. Rooms may not be ready. AC units may break down. But, hey, I'm a customer paying good money to stay in your hotel. Show a little concern and compassion, try to make it right without seeming that I'm a bother to you. And most of all, if a manager says he/she will address the situation, they should be held accountable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
20.7 mi away
Travelodge Globe AZ
Travelodge Globe AZ
#3 of 8 in Globe
144 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Copper Hills Inn
17.6 mi away
Days Inn Globe
Days Inn Globe
#4 of 8 in Globe
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Motel 6 Globe
Motel 6 Globe
#6 of 8 in Globe
81 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dream Manor Inn
Dream Manor Inn
#1 of 6 in Globe
315 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Globe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Gold Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Gold Resort Hotel

Address: 5 Miles East of Globe, PO Box 1210, San Carlos, AZ 85550 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $109 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apache Gold Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apache Gold Resort Hotel is a 3-Diamond, AAA rated hotel just 5 miles east of Globe AZ, which is approximately an hour and a half from Phoenix, on the 1.8 Million acre San Carlos Apache reservation. The hotel is connected to the Apache Gold Casino & Resort, which offers gaming, dining, a sports bar, coffee shop, a swimming pool, RV park, filling station, and the 18-hole Apache Stronghold Golf Club. Guests will also enjoy the Apache Prime Steakhouse and Cutter Coffee Company. Stay & Play and Golf Club packages are available. This High Desert resort offers panoramic views, cooler temperatures, and close proximity to the charming town of Globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apache Gold Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Carlos
San Carlos Best Western
Apache Gold Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing