We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean rooms. Large pool area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apache Gold Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Carlos
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The rooms were clean and up-to-date. It appeared that some of the furnishings were new. The room was quiet and the beds comfortable. Hotel attaches to the Apache Gold Casino. Large pool area. Golf course adjacent. Staff could smile a little more; maybe even thank the customer for coming.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactusdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Apache Gold Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

I always check first. You should too. Found bugs. Room upgraded and comped. They were good about it. Acted as if they had never encountered before. Am skeptical about that, but appreciated the upgrade and comp. See photo.
Any Hotel can have bugs from last guest, so I'm not going to draw conclusions about their knowledge or negligence. I would advise any traveler to always check THOROUGHLY at any hotel irrespective of how clean it may be. remove pillow cases, sheets, mattress cover, check seams and look for stains, inspect EVERY mattress surface - at any hotel. If you're not aware- bug's look like brown ticks.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
4  Thank irvthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darinlowery, Public Relations Manager at Apache Gold Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. Your unfortunate experience occurred in 2011; please be assured the matter was taken care of immediately. We ended our relationship with the Best Western franchise in June of 2014 and are now self-branded as the Apache Gold Resort Hotel. We hope you'll visit us soon and see a host of improvements!
Darin Lowery 7/7/2015
Apache Gold Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for business and have stayed here a few times. My previous complaints were the room stunk and the food at the restaurant is marginal. On this trip I. woke up to a bed bug crawling on my sheets near my pillow. smashed it and it was FULL of blood! Obviously had a great feast on me all night! Gathered my things, took the smashed bug to the front desk and asked to check out early. (I was scheduled to stay all week.) Was told by the front desk clerk "OK". I said, OK, no apology, no nothing! She offered to call housekeeping who told me she had just come back to work the previous day. Housekeeping offered to move me to another room. I declined. I was disappointed by the lack of concern of the front desk staff and no attempt to compensate me for this inconvenience. I will NOT stay here again. I have had others tell me they ordered room service, the hotel staff brought the order then excused himself and proceeded to use the bathroom IN HER ROOM! He 'dropped the kids at the pool' and the remaining stench he left made my associate physically ill. She had to leave her room! What kind of employee does that!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZtraveler625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darinlowery, Public Relations Manager at Apache Gold Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. At the time of your stay, the hotel has managed by Best Western; as of June 2014, the Apache Gold Resort Hotel is now a self-branded entity and has taken pains to improve the total customer experience. We believe we are succeeding in our efforts. We hope you'll visit us soon and share your experience with us and others.
Darin Lowery 7/7/2015
Apache Gold Resort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway and thoroughly enjoyed the Apache Gold Hotel and Casino. Rooms were very pleasant with recent remodeling very obvious. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The casino is lots of fun, food in the buffet and BBQ was better than usually encountered at a casino. We already want to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weevie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I had read the previous reviews and was surprised to find that the hotel is actually quite nice. I asked for a quiet room and the room, toward the back, was quiet and very clean. Also, spacious. We had a nice king size bed, desk, and love seat. The furnishings linens, etc. all appeared to be brand new.
The pool is being worked on, it looks like it will be open soon. And the Golf Course seemed pretty nice to me.
All of the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Just recently stayed, and I have to write a review as I didn't have any of the issues that I read in other reviews. The staff was courteous and asked if I would like a quiet room. I said yes, and was placed opposite end of the casino. The Stay and Play was a good deal, but the bartender at the casino was not friendly when I handed him my free drink coupon. I am also a golfer and would definitely recommend the golf course! It looks pretty shabby from afar (sand traps are terrible), but I have to admit the layout was great, creative shot making, and fun. I hope business takes me this way in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdogg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We asked for handicap room, the room we were assigned had no assist bars in the bathtub, we tried to call the desk, no answer. We will probably not return, this was the second trip and our last!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Service
Thank Ali-babbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
17.6 mi away
Best Western Copper Hills Inn
20.3 mi away
Travelodge Globe AZ
Travelodge Globe AZ
#3 of 8 in Globe
139 reviews
17.6 mi away
Days Inn Globe
Days Inn Globe
#4 of 8 in Globe
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Dream Manor Inn
Dream Manor Inn
#1 of 6 in Globe
310 reviews
17.4 mi away
Motel 6 Globe
Motel 6 Globe
#6 of 8 in Globe
81 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Globe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Gold Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Gold Resort Hotel

Address: 5 Miles East of Globe, PO Box 1210, San Carlos, AZ 85550 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $117 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apache Gold Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apache Gold Resort Hotel is a 3-Diamond, AAA rated hotel just 5 miles east of Globe AZ, which is approximately an hour and a half from Phoenix, on the 1.8 Million acre San Carlos Apache reservation. The hotel is connected to the Apache Gold Casino & Resort, which offers gaming, dining, a sports bar, coffee shop, a swimming pool, RV park, filling station, and the 18-hole Apache Stronghold Golf Club. Guests will also enjoy the Apache Prime Steakhouse and Cutter Coffee Company. Stay & Play and Golf Club packages are available. This High Desert resort offers panoramic views, cooler temperatures, and close proximity to the charming town of Globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apache Gold Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Carlos
San Carlos Best Western
Apache Gold Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing