We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Security Issues ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apache Gold Casino & Resort

Apache Gold Casino & Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Slots, bingo, and more! Casino, five restaurants, hotel, golf course, meeting rooms, entertainment venues, and RV Park, 90 minutes from Phoenix, just outside of Globe, Arizona.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Security Issues ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Apache Gold last year, and are planning to return again this year. I'm very thankful they have friendlier staff and it sounds like they've done some renovations. Last year we found the elevators dirty and stinky, and the front desk staff not very friendly. Hoping that has improved. One other concern we had was that the parking lot was not well let and we were a bit concerned about security. Does anyone know if they've stepped up security at this location, or what type of security they have? How have the rooms been upgrades? After reading some of the other reviews, not sure if we should be staying here. Any information from recent visitors would be helpful. Thank you kindly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkhappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    16
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quick stop for lunch on Hy. 70”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We (wife and myself) while on our way from Glendale, AZ to Safford, AZ on Hy. 70 stopped for lunch at the Apache Gold Casino, San Carlos, AZ, for a quick lunch. The help was more than helpful and friendly. The food (coffee shop in nature) was really good and the prices very reasonable. We don't do the slots so we were in and out in a very short period of time with a full stomach. Must say the food was very tasty. The casino sits right by the Highway so you are back on the road in no time. Ron.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avie8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Hotels - Apache Gold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Last Memorial Day my wife and I visited the Apache Gold Resort and Casino. The hotel was in splendid shape, carpets gleaming; rooms fresh, windows clean, lobby and general facilities in first rate order. Last week (only 2 months later) things had changed dramatically for the worse. The personnel were on their game at check-in and seeking to book a 20-25 rooms for a group in late October. But the hotel facility has declined terribly. Carpets were very soiled; patio door handles falling off; bathroom trash can full of "stuff" even though the room was "cleaned and made ready"; and curiously, light bulbs missing from nearly all the lights in the rooms. I say rooms because the other couple we were with had NO light bulbs in their lamps....period! Needless to say we called maintenance and they brought light bulbs up and installed them, yea! Besides large stains on all the nearly new carpet, there appears to have been little or no effort to clean them. Worse yet, as we would walk down the halls, every room doorway had a "halo" of filth around it. Apparently the housekeeping people pull their carts in front of a given room and dump the trash, beverage bottles, etc. etc. but miss the target,a mere trash can on the cart. And this is exactly what is happening, it very clear. We complained to the front desk and reported our concerns. We were told "carpet cleaners are on their way from the Valley" to attend to these carpet issues. All I can say is good luck, it may be too late. Anyway, we are considering another venue for our group in October due to the deteriorating circumstances. The senior staff member said Best Western is due for an inspection in a couple of weeks. Ouch, they have lots of work to do in order to be shinning for that inspection.

So we're going by the place next week in route to Pinetop and we plan to take another look. If the conditions remain, we're cancelling our gig at the resort and going elsewhere.

Too bad, the casino is fine, the food is OK, the resort grounds look fine and the golf course would be perfect for our group. The lady running the snack shop at the Golf Shop was great and enthusiastic about our coming to the Resort. The Golf Pro was really helpful and looking forward to our group too. But it's up in the air right now. We'll see what comes next week-end. We're not holding our breath! olaztravelers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oldaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will never go again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I went there to see a favorite band perform. We met friends there that went the day before us. When we checked into our room, they had lost our reservation. Luckily I had the conf # with us. They gave us a smelly smoking room and basically they didn't care. Our friend is handicapped. He has problems from a head injury. During the bands performance the officials kicked him out and escorted him back to his room for being what appeared to be drunk. He was no where near drunk. They were rude and it was embarrassing. Stay away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Smaller Casino but still very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've been there a couple of times and although the casino is smallish compared to other casinos in AZ., it is clean, very well kept and the food was very good. Prices seemed a bit higher than they should be for a small mining town like Globe, but there are other attractions that pull people in and drive prices up. You can ride the train out of Globe and afterwards, play at the Casino and enjoy a late dinner. As is the case with any casino, if you can't stand the smoke smell, this is not a good choice for you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apache Gold Casino & Resort also viewed

 

Been to Apache Gold Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing