We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis”
Review of The Westward Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Westward Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salome
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I loved this little adobe heaven! The owner and lady friend whom operate this motel are fabulous. I felt completely at home and had everything at my resource in the kitchen to assist with travel and making my own food/tea/meals for me and my field working boyfriend. The authentic ambiance to this Arizonian motel quite original! Amenities are great and even with four rooms to offer I felt secluded throughout the original and well manicured property. Thanks Randee and Janet Lee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
33
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palestine, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I accidently found the Wesward. I was looking for something close to Salome. We needed four rooms for the weekend. We were having a mini family reunion. My family came from New Mexico and Texas.The kitchen was the gathering place. The family had all meals there, plus we played several games of dominos and a little game of penney ante poker. The only problem was the brother that we came to see could not spend as much time as we would have liked. He was on his way to the VA hospital in Prescott. But in spite of the problem. We enjoyed the hour that we had with him before he had to leave. My family loved the motel! It was perfect for what we needed. Loved the decor, good sleeping, great atmosphere, very clean. There was even a good restaurant about 2 blocks away. We wil be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stopped at the Westward on my way to California. Just one block off Hwy 60, this motel is so incredibly cute!!! The place has so much character, I found myself constantly looking at the vintage pieces of furniture and landscape scattered with antique cars.

Probably the nicest part of discovering this little gem is how clean my room was. I can't tell you how nice it is to find a REAL bed when you are traveling, I actually slept on a tempurpedic bed!! Who gets a tempurpedic out in the middle of the desert??? I enjoyed riding my bike in the area and also eating at the Salome Cafe, only a block away - although there is a kitchen and BBQ there if you want to make your own food.

Thanks Rande for an enjoyable stay!! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great ambience, really nice staff, spectacularly clean, absolutely unique.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fambus2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stumbled across the Westward Motel on accident, while bicycling from San Diego to Phoenix. What a special place! Owners Janet and Rande immediately made me feel at home. Unique decor, great rates (ask about the Airstream!), and funky/awesome touches. Stayed up late around the campfire in the back getting to know everybody, but could have easily done my own thing too, if that had suited me. A must-stop place for bicycle tourists, or anyone looking for a one-of-a-kind experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGoldbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Most interesting and fun place we stayed on 7 day trip in the west. Would totally recommend this place to anyone who's adventuresome. Very clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Spent two nights there and wished it could have been longer. You will feel like you're back in
the 50's in a route 66 western motel (with computer access and color tv.) loved it, Kathy& Gerald from Ar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyClarkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boyfriend I need a place to rest during our long drive to visit my parents in New Mexico and we found this cute cozy motel to stay for the night ...The owers were so friendly when we checked in.The rooms were beautiful with the feel of a south westen comfort.. so if you happen to just be passing through this little town ..I suggest this place.

Room Tip: Quiet..peaceful..relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmtzsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westward Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westward Motel

Property: The Westward Motel
Address: 66915-E Ave C & Navajo St., Salome, AZ 85348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Salome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salome
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored and lovingly decorated 1942 motel in the heart of the Arizona Outback. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Westward Hotel Salome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing